Industrial Deals HPC Children of Blood and Bone Casual Friday Style nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums GNO for Samsung S9 Only: $44.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon marchmadness marchmadness marchmadness  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment. Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18SW_gno

on November 24, 2011
This is NOT the review of the movies. I am solely reviewing the facts that what EXTRA you get in this set than the previous editions. I will start with very basic facts for those who are baffled by so many editions being out there.
The basic facts-
LOTR series has basically two types of movies- a) Theatrical and b) Extended, each edition are available in both-DVD and Blu ray format.
Extended versions of the movies have humongous amount of extra film footage added to the theatrical editions (approx. 30, 40 and 50 additional minutes for movie 1, 2 and 3 respectively). So, go for the extended editions only if you are a die hard fan of the movies. If you are not, the review ends here. Buy whichever movie you like in your preferred format and enjoy. Thanks.

Let's get straight to-the-point. Now, many of you may as well own the DVD versions of LOTR (Either Theatrical or Extended ot both), and if you are trying to make a decision whether to spend more money on this blu ray extended, here is the comparison-

Extended DVD set-
For each movie they have 4 discs (2 movie discs and 2 extra features); So total 12 discs. Sound is DTS ES 6.1, which is significantly better than regular dolby digital. This set is probably the most gorgeous I have ever seen for any DVD. Colorful and feature packed, it stands out in your entire collection.

Extended Blu ray set-
For each movie they have 5 discs (2 movie blu ray discs, 2 extra feature DVDs and 1 behind the scene DVD). So, total 15 discs. Audio is spine chilling DTS HD 6.1 and it has the all the betterments of blu ray (HD pic, HD sound, BD live). Also, blu ray set includes the Digital copy of the Extended Versions of all three movies (Standard definition, not HD). The set itself is a delight, with a sturdy golden cardboard package that is durable and beautiful. The remastering of these movies have been handled excellently and with respect to both picture and sound, this one is SIGNIFICANTLY BETTER THAN THE DVD.

The GOOD (Blu ray set over DVD set):
1. Video and Audio significantly improved. Excellent blu ray transfer. I have not noticed any 'darker' colors as mentioned by some other viewers.
2. Blu ray set has THREE EXTRA DVDs (Behind the Scene for each movie) apart from the 2 extra feature DVDs.
3. Blu ray set has Digital copies of Extended versions of all three movies.
4. They did not waste a DVD for digital copy. You download them straight from the server.
5. Digital copies are great downloads and super easy. Together, it's almost 10 GB download, which was overwhelming for me.

1. Extra feature DVDs (2 for each movie) are the SAME as those of DVD editions. In fact, the DVDs are identical when I do head-to-head comparison. These DVDs are pulled straight from the older DVD editions, nothing new added there.
2. The overall appearence of the set is not as beautiful as the DVD sets. This one is excellently packed though, lacks the colours of the DVD set.
3. Extra feature discs are DVDs and not Blu rays.

If you own the extended DVD set, then buy this only if you want to have a great improvement in pictutre and sound quality. The only extra features you get is 'behind the scenes' DVDs. All other extra feature DVDs (total 6 of them) will be a duplication of what you already own in Extended DVD set. Actually, I noticed that all the extra feature DVDs here are from the various older DVD editions. The two DVDs are from the Extended DVD set, and the one 'behind the scene' is probably pulled from the limited editions of LOTR (the double sided DVDs that New Line Cinema released sometimes back).
However, if you do not own the DVD versions, then this is a must buy as this includes almost everything that you can think of (HD movies, extra features, behind the scenes, plus digital copies).

UPDATE 1: Also check the images I uploaded which may help make the comparison.
UPDATE 2: Thanks for all those who marked this review as helpful. As you are interested in LOTR, I guess at some point you'll consider purchasing "Hobbit" as well. I have recently written reviews for those, hope you find them useful too. Comments are welcome!
Thanks again!
UPDATE 3: DIGITAL COPIES: When I purchased the set back in 2011, the set came with complimentary digital copies. Nevertheless, the later editions do not seem to have digital copies with them (hence the lower price I guess). Please verify the product information closely before making a purchase. Thanks!
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
5150+ comments| 6,360 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 7, 2014
There is a great deal of confusion about the Lord of the Rings Trilogy sets caused by the reviews, so allow me to clarify. For whatever reason, these reviews are for two entirely different products. The single-star reviews consist of disgruntled fanboys complaining that the Theatrical Version of the trilogy (ASIN: B0086B89JO) was not the Extended Edition, as the Extended Edition was not yet released. The five-star reviews are by people who purchased the Extended Edition box set (ASIN: B007ZQAKHU) and were extremely satisfied. So if the description of the product you are viewing either says "Theatrical Trilogy" or "Extended Edition", then it is as the description states. Hopefully, Amazon will rectify the situation in due time. In the meantime, mark this review as helpful so that others will see it and be enlightened.
44 comments| 836 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 8, 2017
Quick warning: the set I got doesn't include the theatrical versions (I already own the two disc special editions with recycled material colored cases) or the digital downloads. If you wanted those you'll have to check out other versions that are available, or you'll have to buy them separately.

I noticed a lot of scathing reviews of a supposed "bootleg" or "knockoff" version they have bought of this Blu-ray extended edition with French script written on it. I can assure you it ISN'T a bootleg, but a legitimate copy . . . from Canada! It was released by a now-defunct DVD/Blu-ray distribution company named "Alliance Films" that later was assimilated by a larger distribution company, though I can't recall the name. The reason I know it's legitimate is because I've spoken with someone who is very technology savvy and he informed me that, although DVDs are easy to copy and paste to a disc, Blu-rays are harder to copy due to the fact that there will be significant quality loss (dodgy/spotty audio, heavy pixelation/dead pixels, bad motion blur, etc.) if done so. I watched the films completely over a weekend and spotted no quality loss.

Anyway, onto the review of the item.

This set includes Region A (Blu-ray) and Region 1 (DVD) discs. The set itself will work in American devices since Canada and the US both share Region A and Region 1 devices. However, if you live in Mexico, the Blu-rays in this set will work for you, but the DVDs will not.

The main contrast with this set and the American set is this: unlike the US set, this one doesn't have the reinforced carboard shell with magnetized foldout map but rather a flimsy cardboard sleeve and it doesn't have the removable back cover sleeve, but rather has a heavily modified back cover with French translations since the majority of Canada speaks English as their second language, with French being their main language. It's also rated 14A from the Canadian Home Video Ratings Board, which is the equivilent to MPAA's rating of PG-13.

Also a neat little thing I discovered upon opening the cases: a flipside of the French translated covers.

The movies are split onto two Blu-ray discs in each set. Now, I know the Hobbit Blu-ray extended editions have the films on a single disc, but all I can figure is that the encoders thought this was best due to how long the films are. Fellowship being 3 hours 48 minutes, Towers being 3 hours 56 minutes and King being 4 hours and 23 minutes. Personally, I like the idea of them being split onto two discs each. It gives you a break; an intermission, if you will. You can relax, take your bathroom break, refill your drinks and snacks all before you start up the second part of the film.

The discs themselves seem to be three different sets per case. The two Blu-ray discs seem to be from a standalone extended edition Blu-ray set, the two appendices DVD discs seem to be from the extended edition DVD boxset and the fifth disc seems to be from a limited edition release set that corresponds with it's set color. I'll refer to the colors as: Fellowship forest green, Towers crimson red and King royal blue.

Each movie features 4 different commentary tracks from the director and writers, the cast, the production team, and the design team. I haven't tested these to see if they do cancel out the film audio, however, since it'd mean I'd have to sit through all three films 4 more times each.

The set also includes the booklets for each film, but with French translations beside the English. However, when I opened the Fellowship booklet, the pages were printed incorrectly. All the pages were in it, just not in the correct order. At least the appendix menu tree pages and Extended Edition summary pages were correct. The other two booklets' pages, however, were in correct order (I have no idea if this is a common occurrence with this set or not). Just a small blemish on an otherwise dandy set.

The first film has the blue/green color cast, but it has been slightly corrected compared to the extended DVD version. I checked a side-by-side video for comparison and the Fellowship has been slightly color corrected, but not fully. Still a bit blue/green, but not as jarring.

I, honestly, would have wanted the foldout map version of the set, but I still love this set nonetheless. This set may not have the special box and/or removable back cover, but it's still a fantastic and inexpensive alternative. A solid collection. If you want just the extended films and bonus discs, then this set is for you. All the meat with none of the fluff.

Also be sure to click on "helpful", so others can see that this set is indeed a true set and not a knockoff. Thanks in advance and enjoy the films.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
11 comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 27, 2016
I originally ordered this set during a limited time deal here on Amazon on December 2, 2016. I was very excited about getting it in high definition blu ray. I was disappointed however when I played the second blu ray disc of The Fellowship of the Ring. The picture frequently broke up and the sound dropped out during the first hour. All of the other discs for The Two Towers and The Return of the King played beautifully and the picture and sound were pristine. I contacted Amazon customer service and they quickly sent me a new set. However, the new set likewise had the same problem at the same location on blu ray disc 2 of The Fellowship of the Ring. As nearly as I can understand the first layer of the second disc is defective. After the first hour and 2 minutes it plays perfectly. The first layer is defective. There are no scratches on the disc! You must watch it to find out if you've got a defective disc or not. Now I am hoping to get a replacement once again.
UPDATE: Finally! The third time was the charm. I got a set that was without defects thanks to Amazon Customer Service.
review imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 11, 2018
Note: I have not yet viewed the special features.

The Extended Versions of this three part cinematic adaptation of J.R.R. Tolkien's classic literary masterpiece are even more dramatic and epic in scope than the truncated theatrical versions. I shan't say much more, lest I reveal the surprises in store. I will say that a continuity error in the first installment has been fixed with a few added lines of dialogue, causing two lines in the second movie to make sense, and the fate of a villain, left ambiguous in the theatrical version of the third film, is resolved in the Extended Version. There is more action and character development in the Extended Versions that should satisfy even the casual viewer of the films. Don't let the lengths of the Extended Versions scare you off. Like the classic cinematic photoplays, you will not even notice the passage of time if you schedule your viewings of the films accordingly.

THE LORD OF THE RINGS Extended Editions are rated PG-13 for intense epic battle sequences and frightening images.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Top Contributor: Photographyon December 19, 2017
Great movies. They've aged very well overall - I was kind of shocked, in fact, after [re]watching them to be reminded that they came out in 2001, 2002, & 2003 - the special effects are still better than most films since. Some of the cinematography hasn't aged quite as well - there's a few bits in particular with slow motion effects and/or overlay compositions that feel a bit cheesy & dated - but by and large it's still excellent.

One thing I did notice, though, compared to more modern titles, is that they're exceptionally noisy. Visual noise - ISO noise, or film grain, or something… there's a lot of shadow noise in particular in almost every scene. I expect most folks wouldn't notice this, or wouldn't find it offensive if they did, but for someone with a photographers eye, it was a bit distracting, and mystifying given these were top-budget films. On the upside, the incidence rate of focus errors is significantly lower than most AAA movies, even today's, so there's that at least.

This particular set, with high quality 'fat' Blu-ray cases and a nice cardboard over-case, is quite nicely done - quite pleasant looking on a bookshelf or similar.

The audio is done pretty nicely - there's good use of surround channels in many critical scenes, particularly battles. There's no height effects alas, which would be quite useful in several cases with Nazgul & whatnot flying overhead. I have my fingers crossed for a Dolby Atmos 4K Blu-ray release sometime in the future. I found it a little suboptimal that much (all?) of the music was only mixed into the front left & right channels - there's numerous scenes where by rights & for best effect the music should be immersive and all-encompassing. Ah well. Something else to hope for in a remastered 4K edition.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 9, 2016
MOVIE (5.0/5.0)
The three extended editions are better, story-wise, than the theatrical versions of the film. Events are better explained and the new scenes are improvements, and the extended scenes add bits and parts that must be seen.

VIDEO (4.5/5.0)
The video quality of the extended editions for Two Towers and Return of the King is perfect. The 1080p picture provides clear images and texture, with objects perfectly defined. The extended edition of Fellowship is where the problem comes in. As you might have heard or read, the extended edition has a slightly green tint layed over the entire film, although in some places it is barely noticable and you must be looking for it to see it, in some places, however, the green tint is very noticably and under certain circumstances, distracting. This is the only problem, because the 1080p image still retains a lot of detail, clarity, and texture.

AUDIO (5.0/5.0)
The audio quality of the entire trilogy is perfect. The dialogue is clear and understandable, except for a few lines thorughout. The effects and music are perfectly placed and are used to put you in the movie. The audio on this film, I would call it reference quality, with very few titles having better quality.

EXTRAS (5.0/5.0)
If you love special features, then this set is certainly for you. With over 24 hours, or some crazy number like that, of special features on the strictly special features discs alone, the set is perfect for anyone that wants to know anything about the making of these films. The extras cover everything from writing the script, designing Middle Earth, filming the movie, editing, sound design and music, and the release. All these things are located on discs 3 & 4 of each film, with disc 5 containing rarely-seen Costa Bates' documentary, that, at least to me, seemed more about things the actors did in there spare time (including playing jokes on each other and other things). The only setback for these discs were they were only DVD's. This means the quality on bigger screens is not the best, but only smaller screens remains OK quality. The other thing I'd like to talk about is the special features on the extended edition discs (Disc 1 & 2 in the sets). These discs include four commentaries (which are all perfect), and on some of the discs (not all of them) is an "easter egg" (read on to learn more). The commentaries are perfect, but only if you like them. The commentaries reveal many stories about the making of the films, and are perfect to learn basic information about scenes in the film. The "easter eggs" are special goodies can be accessed on the main menu of Discs 1 & 2 of each of the sets by clicking on Special Features and then clicking on the left button of your remote until you come upon a glowing "The One Ring". Click on this and enjoy. These are not on all the discs, and most of them are comedy centric. PLEASE NOTE: Some of the easter eggs are not appropriate for young children as they contain language and crude material (for instance, note: skip to after parenthesis if not wanting to know because spoiler is ahead, the one ring peircing on Jack Black's penis). This set of extras is some of the best I've ever seen. Anyone who likes these movies and enjoys extras would enjoy this set.

OVERALL (4.5/5.0)
This set is one of the best sets theres been on Blu-Ray. EVER. PERIOD. Loaded onto 15 discs (yes 15), the set includes the three extended editions (split onto two Blu-Ray discs each), 4 commentaries per film, 4 or 5 "easter eggs" (read above to learn more), over twenty-four hours of special features (split onto six DVDs, two per film), and three rare Costa Bates documentaries (each on it's own DVD, with one per film). That's a total of three five disc sets. This set is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.


Movie: 5.0 (better than theatrical version, but not as good as the next two)
Video: 4.5 (good clairty, detail, and textures, but green tint is noticably and can be distracting under certain conditions)
Audio: 4.75 (some lines are hard to understand, but it could be just me, the other films have better audio quality)
Extras: 5.0 (an intense collection of extras, worth watching if you want to know about how the film was made)
Overall: 4.81 (average of the above scores)

Movie: 5.0 (very good story, although slow in spots, last one is the best)
Video: 5.0 (good video quality, slight problems throughout, but most are unnoticable, no green tint)
Audio: 5.0 (great audio, might be the best out of the entire trilogy)
Extras: 5.0 (an intense collection of extras, worth watching if you want to know about how the film was made)
Overall: 5.0 (average of the above scores)

Movie: 5.0 (the best in the trilogy in terms of story, the ending is the only problem (it is quite extensive))
Video: 5.5 (reference quality, some of the best video quality I've ever seen, slight, unnoticiable problems)
Audio: 5.0 (really good, but personally, not as good as the previous film in the series)
Extras: 5.0 (an intense collection of extras, worth watching if you want to know about how the film was made)
Overall: 5.13 (average of the above scores, the best in the set)

OVERALL OF THE ENTIRE SET: 4.98 (average of all the above overall's)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 3, 2017
Forget the negative reviews--this set is definitely worth it! The packaging is great: the box resembles a book, and unhinges to reveal the three DVD cases inside. Yes, each movie is divided into two parts, but that's hardly a serious criticism. The quality of the DVDs is outstanding--no problems experienced during the viewing whatsoever. There are scenes in this extended edition that were not in the theatrical version, and that's the reason--of course--that you want the extended versions. The additional scenes help to fill in story gaps in the theatrical version, and makes for a smoother-flowing story. The "backstory" of how the movies were made is also included on additional discs. If you are a Tolkien fan, you will truly appreciate this extended edition. My only other recommendation is to get the extended edition of "The Hobbit," which has even higher resolution video.
33 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Top Contributor: Runningon September 15, 2017
Top Line: The most beautiful collection of the iconic LotR films, at an amazing price

Good: These are the full, EXTENDED cuts of the instant classic Lord of the Rings films. The viewing experience is incredible--if you are the type of fan that watches this trilogy in its entirety once or twice a year (or more), you'll want to experience it to it's fullest, and this package offers that. More on packaging below, but this set does have the advantage of being significantly more compact than the extended cut DVD box sets (this whole package is smaller than just one of those sets).

Bad: If you dug the old DVD box set style, you'll be disappointed with this set. It compares more to a standard Blu Ray case, though noticeably thicker, and lacking any type of special adornment. Another small negative is the special features: I'm fine with nothing new being added to the original DVD featurettes, but unfortunately they are DVDs and not Blu Rays. Don't expect the same level of quality when you venture away from the films.

Other: So I bought this on a flash deal for less than $30, making the value amazing. Even at it's normal retail price, it's less than I paid for the DVD box sets, but if you are replacing older media like me, a rock bottom price definitely makes it more of a no-brainer. If I'd have paid full MSRP, this drops to a 4-star review.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
We recently purchased the “Lord of the Rings Extended Edition Trilogy" on Blu-ray as a birthday gift for our son, who has always been a great fan of these movies. He absolutely loves the set we gave him. It contains all three “Lord of the Rings” films (extended versions, of course) with glorious high definition video and DTS-HD Master multi-channel audio, plus a plethora of bonus features as well.

There’s nothing I can add to the overwhelming number of 5-star reviews of the films themselves (again, the extended versions), so I won’t even try. I have seen them all – more than once - and I completely agree with those 5-star opinions. I recently had a chance to watch “The Fellowship of the Ring” with my son on his home theater system, and it seemed like I was watching it in a theater once again.

Fortunately for all concerned, when we ordered this Blu-ray set, we avoided all the confusion about which one is best, and we ended up getting the correct set. If you are interested in acquiring “The Lord of the Rings Trilogy, Extended Edition,” this 15-BD set (ASIN B007ZQAKHU) is the one you want. As I can attest, it makes a perfect gift for anyone who loves movies. I like it so much I plan to purchase one for myself… perhaps for my birthday in the autumn. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse