Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 32 reviews
on August 7, 2010
I'm an adult fan of Avatar and was delighted with this book. It is a combination of four books on each one of the four nations. Each book includes stories from the 1st season of the series with color pictures from the show and extra illustrations, descriptions of the martial arts styles underlying all four types of fighting/bending and their strenths & weaknesses, as well as trivia about each nation, all tied together and presented as a "secret" scroll on faux-aged paper.

The first book, Water, has three stories from the series: "The Boy in the Iceberg" told from Katara's point of view; "Bato of the Water Tribe" told from Sokka's pov; and "The Waterbending Master" through "The Siege of the North" from Aang's pov. Water tribe trivia includes a drawing of the inside of a typical So. Water Tribe hut, differences between No. and So. Water Tribes, insignia, animals, favorite foods, etc.

Book Two, Earth, includes story versions of three episodes: "Imprisoned" from Katara's pov; "The King of Omashu" from Aang's pov; and "The Great Divide" from Sokka's pov. Trivia includes extra information about Omashu and the Kyoshi warriors.

Book Three, Fire, includes story versions of the following episodes: "The Deserter" from Katara's pov; "Winter Solstice" parts 1&2 from Aang's pov; and "The Blue Spirit" & "Siege of the North" from Zuko's pov. Trivia includes information about Fire Lords Sozin & Ozai, Fire Nation military and animals, information about the fire sages & spirit world, and character sketches of Zuko and Iroh.

Book Four, Air, includes story versions of three episodes: "The Southern Air Temple" from Katara's pov; "The Storm" from Aang's pov; and "The Northern Air Temple" from Sokka's pov. Trivia includes the Mechanist's inventions, air nomad culture, the Avatar cycle, and a comparison of Aang and Zuko.

If you have an Avatar fan in your house, this book will be very popular! It summarizes most of the first season with great pictures and lots of trivia. It's a great bargain for the price!
0Comment| 76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2011
im 14 and i love the avatar, this book is definitely worth it. It includes all little information about each nation, with little tidbits that make you feel like the nations are real. Some of the stuff given isn't even in the series, or is just briefly touched upon. You learn about customs of different nations, animals, games played there, and such. Each book has stories from the series told in all different point of views making it interesting. The book is thick, but not too much reading cause of the pictures&spacing which is still a good thing cause its novel sized! If you have any die-hard Avatar fans out there, they will love this!!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2013
When I first became a fan of Avatar, I was too young to care about things like extra insight into the details of the series. People were throwing fire and air out of their hands and I was mesmerized. As an adult, I absorbed the politics and intricate details of the series better, and was definitely interested in learning as much as I possibly could.

This book is a collection of the four Lost Scrolls books released back during the show's run (one for each element) that is composed of both tidbits about each nation of benders and full text episodes from different character's points of view. I completely skipped over the text episodes (to a young child these would be entertaining; not to a twenty one year old) but the information and pictures are great! A lot I knew just by being an internet addict and constantly reading articles on the very thorough Avatar Wiki, but there were definitely some interesting bits I didn't know, and even having read some of the information prior it is great to have a hard copy of it for re-reading and reference.

If you aren't much for going through things like fan Wikis, a lot of this information will be new to you, so it's great to have! Even if you know a lot of these things, it's a nice book to have on the shelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2012
So this book is great for any true fan wanting some more knowledge about the cultures of the four nations,personally i LOVE learning about that side of story. It also retells some stories from the show but written from thecharacters point of view, it's actually even cooler than i thought it would be, mainly because it makes the stories you've seen refreshing because of the new angle you get to read it from. I feel like some people will even find new stuff they didn't catch before! Over all this book is a great purchase if you're a big fan of the series, i'm hoping all my future purchases of the avatar books are equal in quality of insight into lore of the show. I'm pretty sure all the avatar books are really good. ACCEPT "The Last Airbender Movie Novelization" of course. This makes sense...as we all know how TERRIBLE that movie with actors was and how it wasn't even the avatar we all know and love, any TRUE fan knows to STAY AWAY from anything related with that GROTESQUE ENDEAVOR of a movie. But ya i recently bought "The Lost Scrolls Collection", and "The Lost Adventures" and i couldn't put them down. So hope this helps you make your decision on the purchase! Shoot any questions you got, i may have even gotten more of the books by the time you read this!

Also great shipping on product, on time and in perfect condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2016
My 2nd grader loved the cartoons. I got some of the Avatar books for her from the library (what they had anyway) and she read through them all in a few days. She loved reliving the adventure. I was delighted to find some all new adventures for her in The Lost Scrolls Collection. And she was more than thrilled to find it waiting for her Christmas day!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2017
Grandson loves Avatar
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2014
It is not great, just ok. If you are on a budget try "the promise" and even more try "the search", even "the lost adventures" are much better than this book, It doesn't give you any additional background information or the discovery of interesting facts. Also it seems to be aimed more to little kids (7-10 y/o).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2013
it seems written to be read as the series progresses, though I expected more and more about it, it ends up falling short for me, as it only covers background for the 1st season of the series, it serves as a environmental setup for season 1, though I am sure there are more books like this one for the following seasons, it would have been great to have all of that compiled into a single book so the reading experience would have been longer and more enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2011
A nice easy read. Basically it retells a lot of what happened in the series - if you're not interested in that then this is not the book for you. As a huge fan and collector of Avatar I thought it was great and would recommend it. The illustrations are gorgeous (each page looks like old parchment) and the stories were well written.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2014
I bought this for my daughter, a true fan. She said it has Interesting insight about bending styles but to keep in mind that this is a book for fans not because you're looking for any in depth, ongoing stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse