Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Lovers
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 7, 2012
I love the way Eden Bradley writes. I have read most of the books she was written. So when I purchased this book. I thought I was in for a good read. I was so disappointed. I only read the first 5 chapters, ( before giving up ) in hopes it would get better, It never did. I will however, purchase any new books she writes. She is a wonderful writer. This book was just a one off.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 21, 2011
Bettina Boothe is the newcomer at a writers' retreat comprised of several other likeminded authors she's only met online. It's a small group which should help her feel more comfortable with interacting with people rather than remaining isolated as she's liable to do. While she's understandably nervous at the prospect of finally meeting face to face people she's chatted with but never met, the other authors are quick to put her at ease - and a few even introduce her to experiences she never would have imagined partaking in.

While Bettina is comfortable with most of the other writers' there's one in particular who has caught her attention and interest. Audrey LeClaire's sensual nature and outgoing flirtatious personality draws people to her like magnets. Bettina's stunned by her own attraction to the other woman but certainly isn't opposed to exploring those feelings. For a while it seems as if Audrey can't get enough of Bettina but then Jack Curran, another author, arrives and Bettina finds herself confused by Audrey's sudden lack of interest in her.

Unlike Bettina, Jack is well used to Audrey's sensual free-love attitude. She takes pleasure wherever and with whomever she's interested in at any given time and for a time each year Audrey focuses all that attention on Jack. Jack and Audrey welcome Bettina into their love play and she revels in the experience of being loved and cherished by two people she's extremely attracted to but she's having trouble coping with her conflicting emotions.

Bettina struggles with her feelings of insecurity, jealousy and blatant desire where Jack and Audrey are concerned. Bettina might have come to the retreat to finally escape the safety net of self isolation but somehow being immersed in drama, lust and human emotions all help bring about a change so profound in a woman once so unsure of herself that you just know she'll be alright - no matter what happens.

As a romance reader I confess I love reading ménage a trois stories but the vast majority of the ones I've read are happily-ever-after and the conflict comes at some point early on in the story. Eden Bradley's THE LOVERS delivers with startling clarity a more realistic view on threesome relationships. Bettina, Jack and Audrey are all very different personalities and their attraction is smoldering hot but for Audrey it seems to be just about sex and not much about getting to know her sexual partners. Bettina is the innocent one in the relationship and genuinely has feelings for Jack and Audrey but it's obvious she feels more for Jack than Audrey - while Jack just seems to go with the flow with no intention of forming a lasting relationship. Eden Bradley genuinely impressed me with her attention to detail, realistic characters and emotionally riddled situations.

Chrissy Dionne (courtesy of Romance Junkies)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2010
Once again Ms. Bradley does not disappoint. This book makes you think, makes you want to physically be there on that beach not necessarily to be a part of the characters (even though there are many times that made you wish you were) but to be of witness to the chemistry and the love three people can have with each other and the different types of love in this story. As I was reading this story I found myself at times nodding my head in agreement, laughing and even getting teary eyed. It opens your eyes to see that not matter what you tell yourself, you can never fool your heart! Definitely a must read for those that love a true romance story with some really hot steamy coupling :)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2013
First I want to say, that anything by Eden Bradley is great!! She has got to be one of the best Erotic romance writers out there. This book was awesome. Loved the story and the characters, plus the hot sex...yes!! Read it you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2015
This was a really hot book I love reading menage and this one was hot. Bettina Boothe has decided to live her apartment in Seattle to go on a writers retreat with some of the writers that she met online she needs to get out and meet people to shake up her controlled world. Audrey LeClaire is a dark haired petite beauty who introduces her to some girl on girl and it was hot she became obsessed Bettina couldn't get enough of her. Audrey is a girl with a dark past she doesn't do relationship. Enter Jack Curran he comes to the retreat and Audrey forgets all about Bettina and she feels rejected. The three of them decide to get together and it is hot as h*ll Jack is hot and sexy and also dark. This was a really good book that I would have gave 5 stars if Bettina wasn't in her head so much. Bettina has never been with someone just for sex without a relationship. Jack and Bettina get closer as Audrey moves on and each one of them begins to falls for each other although Jack has told her that he doesn't do relationships either. This book was hot it was well written with no errors in grammar or spelling. This was my first time reading this author and I am looking forward to reading more books by her if they are this hot. If you like reading hot menage than I recommend that you read this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2011
This book focuses on Bettina, a writer who is a recluse and suffers from severe OCD. Her therapist tells her that she needs to get out and live life. Her on line friend, Valerie, agrees and invites her to join the rest of their fellow writer's on a summer retreat. Although Bettina is scared to come out of her shell, all that is about to change once Bettina joins the group on the retreat. Bettina lives in her mind. The book is narrated by her and the reader can see how she analyzes everything, often draining at times, in order to find her way on this new growth experience that she has embarked upon.

Bettina meets Valerie for the first time and she discovers that Valerie has gone through allot in her life, with the loss of her husband Malcolm. Valerie buys this home in order to discover her own serenity, where the ocean promotes creativity for writer's thoughts and a sense of self discovery.

Next, Bettina meets the rest of the group, but when Audrey enters the room, Bettina is struck by how beautiful she is. Bettina feels an intense attraction to her, which later she discovers is mutual. As she explores this sexual bond with Audrey, she thinks she has found a kindred spirit, only Audrey's attention shifts once Jack arrives on the scene. Bettina is left to wonder how she now plays into Audrey's world and if Jack and Audrey are an item and she is no longer important to Audrey.

Jack finds Bettina intriguing and along with Audrey invites Bettina to join in their sex play. Bettina realizes that Jack and Audrey have an open relationship and both like to explore sex with other people. Bettina isn't sure what this means for her and she soon discovers that her feelings for Jack are becoming more then casual and she isn't sure how to deal with it. Audrey and Jack seem to be able to compartmentalize the sex but Bettina is searching for meaning and she soon discovers that Audrey isn't as important to her as Jack.

While Jack and Betiina still are smitten with Audrey, they embark on a path of self exploration that eventually leads to an honest look at what relationships really mean and can they both survive the emotional involvement that is necessary in order for a relationship to grow. Jack has a sordid past and Bettina is insecure in herself as a woman.

The reader will soon see Bettina become a more self assured individual, who Valerie always knew existed inside of her. We also see through Bettina's eyes, the self imposed insecurites that we all lay upon ourselves, when we try to develop trust and faith in another person. Until we know what we want, we can't get what we want. Bettina is stronger then Audrey and Jack combined and the other two realize that change for them will only happen by believing that change is worth the risks to the heart in order to end the emptiness inside.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2013
Here is a story about free spirits who flit through life, doing whatever they like, and continually hurting others and themselves. Then on a writing seminar holiday she finds lesbian sex, and a threesome, then her true love. Weak people who are self centered finally realizing what they are doing is shallow. Two of the three have success as they find love with each other. Why must we all find out so late in life what we are or should be ?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2011
Beautifully written and very naughty. It's one of those guilty pleasures that we need to indulge in reading every once in a while. I got sucked in with the heat between Jack and Bettina, and hoped it would develop into something more, which it did in the end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2011
This is a VERY erotic and intriguing story! It is told in the first person, which brings the protagonist's emotional insecurities constantly into play. Even so, Bettina is a very likeable heroine, and we find ourselves pulling for her as she tries to control her own neurotic tendencies to diminish herself.

The character development is strong for Bettina and her two lovers, Audrey and Jack. I found myself liking all three--despite their emotional imperfections--as interesting, sexy individuals. As in all erotic romances you know there will be a happy ending--the only question is how they will arrive at the HEA. At the end of the book, it is apparent that more travail awaits the guardedly happy lovers as they continue to find their way to stronger emotional health.

The sex scenes are frequent and very steamy. So intense at times that I would set the book aside for 30 minutes or so, and then eagerly return to finish reading the scene.

I will definitely read more novels by Eden Bradley (one already on order!).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2012
This author wrote an excellent story along with all the hot, steamy sex! Yes, there was lots of that - almost too much, which is the reason for 4 stars instead of 5. The main characters were emotionally flawed, which seems to be "necessary" for what went on. But I'll look for more of Eden Bradey's books, that's for sure!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here