Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Digital Albums PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 44 reviews
on April 1, 2017
A cool inside-look at the intense mailroom culture in Hollywood. Great read, especially for anyone looking to get into the industry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2003
I haven't even finished reading this book and already I love it. I know Hollywood isn't like any place else in America, and this just makes what it's like to start at the bottom in Tinseltown all the more fascinating. At the same time, these kids who went through the mailroom share much with all of us. Everyone has to start somewhere, and in the end the experience isn't all that different.
You won't believe some of the crazy stuff these kids had to endure and survive while learning how to play the game. I love the story about delivering the, uh, stool sample. And the one about how David Geffen kept from getting fired by faking a letter from UCLA saying he graduated. And the ones about hoping to deliver stuff to pretty young actresses, or crashing the company cars out of total frustration. It's endless. And mind-boggling. And really frank. A history of Hollywood also comes through. In the beginning, behind-the-scenes people got into show biz for the glamour, to rub elbows with the stars and be dazzled; then it became about the power and money and business. Or maybe it was always like that, only the perks became accessible to more than just the top layer, which is why Harvard law grads and Wharton MBAs began to forgo huge corporate salaries to push a mail cart for $400 a week -- or less. The Mailroom paints a stunning picture of ambition -- with lots of humor and humanity -- and best of all, the author just lets the people speak for themselves in this oral history. It's truly a book that shows instead of tells.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2015
Having started in the mail-room myself, I particularly related to it.....Knowing most the participants and people mentioned in this book made it all that much more fun....A fun read.....And Inspiring read.....A book that gives you a 411 on many of today's "power brokers" in the film and TV industry....I would highly recommend reading this book...It is a "no punches pulled" look at the "agency business" from behind the curtains !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2014
A good story on the history of Hollywood careers. There is no real bibliography of one person but a combination of many other stories rolled into one book. This book gives you an inside look on how to be successful in the entertainment industry. Half-way through the book it seems as if the stories get repetitive and water'd down. I was very bored with this book second day into reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2013
I reread this book usually once a year and it never loses the ability to make me laugh and remind me that chutzpah, ambition and the ability to be creative are not exclusive to Hollywood. The stories, going back to the early days of The William Morris agency's mailroom up to the early days of Endeavor, told by the people who were there are the perfect backstory to the last 75 years of Hollywood.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2015
Very informative rendition of the entertainment industry. I was,somewhat bothered by the sequence of the individual perspectives and personal stories and how they were presented. After reading the Mailroom, I do have a better idea of how the system works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2016
It becomes very repetitive. What a horrible world to live in. Interesting, nonetheless. I bought it used and got a nice copy of a hardback which I gave away after reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2014
From the real men and women who started at the bottom and made it to the top and beyond. There is some backstabbing as they all aspire for the same jobs but also the camaraderie of everyone being in the bottom of the barrel trying to get out as fast as possible. Some make it and some don't. A must-read for anyone contemplating becoming a Hollywood agent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2016
Must read if you're getting into the entertainment biz. Really helps you understand how all the big wigs got to where they are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2016
Very interesting read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse