Lyft Industrial Deals Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite Game of Thrones: The Complete Seasons 1-7 now available on Blu-ray and DVD Shop now TG18PP_gno



on April 27, 2013
Very good book on being a modern man with tips about numerous life situations. Good addition to a man's library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 23, 2013
I bought this book about three or four years ago and I used it all the time as a sort of quick reference guide on how to dress. But there's tons of more information in the book! I lost my original copy and had to buy a new one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 19, 2016
Not really informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 19, 2013
Bought this for a friend's 30th birthday, he loved it. Very happy with the purchase, I would recommend it to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 8, 2013
My husband and I enjoyed this book! I told him I did not cause him to bald!!! However, it is a little out of date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 17, 2013
This is an excellent book and great talking piece. I would absolutely recommend this to a friend, even the women are fascinated by the information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 1, 2015
GREAT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 8, 2009
Thomas Fink's The Man's Book is indeed an essential guide for any modern man. Split into broad subject topics, Fink informs men on everything they should know about health, sports/games, women, dress, outdoors, drinking, smoking, cooking, idling, and arts and sciences. Among the numerous topics, a man will learn the benefits of a wet shave versus a dry shave, how to cook a steak, the right wine to serve for any occasion, what suit to wear and when to wear it, what to stock in a kitchen, the equation for the perfect age of a potential bride, how to make a potato gun, and everything one needs to know about the man-of-men James Bond. If you would like to know Morse Code, it is in there. Curious about a few of the best cocktails? You will find them in The Man's Book. Need to make an origami wallet? Fink shows you how. And if you are having a hard time becoming a modern media man, you can follow the guidelines of the essential books and movies for any male.

There is a lot of humor found in The Man's Book. Fink doesn't approach the topic of manliness and masculinity without a few jokes. I got a good laugh out of the urinal position chart. And the picture guide of beard styles? I laughed out loud, I'll admit. You need to be able to see the humor in being a man or dealing with men to thoroughly enjoy The Man's Book. You will learn everything you want and need to know about quite a few things, so you will miss out if you take life too seriously and put down the book.

It is true that I am not a male and therefore don't need a guide to become the perfect modern male. But let's be honest here... most men are never going to learn all of these things for themselves and will thus never know what a man should know. Right? It is just as essential for a woman to know this information as it is for any man because she can-- and most likely will-- help guide him in the right direction. She can make sure he has the right suits, the right tools of hygiene, and the right liquors in the cabinets.

Some of the information is even gender neutral. For example, women love beer and sports and chili, too! Even women need to know about wines and men's clothing and essential spices. It's not like this sort of stuff is born into women. We need a guide for these things as much as a man. As I read The Man's Book, I learned a lot that I can and will use in the future. I knew nothing about wine until now, for example. And I learned all of this with a laugh. The Man's Book is clear and to the point, but not a dry read. I think that The Man's Book is a great reference for anyone to have on their shelf. I am keeping my copy on an easy to reach shelf just in case my boyfriend needs to know what to wear or I need to know which wine to serve with my meal.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 2, 2009
The Man's Book: The Essential Guide for the Modern Man
The Man's Book is a compendium of information that is obscure but highly useful, intermixed with information that is so arcane as to be useless but is nevertheless amusing. Often, they are even the same pieces of information. Eleven sections cover everything from outdoor survival to text message theory to choosing a best man. The chapter on Sports and Games includes both a table showing the optimal loading of weight plates for a barbell, and the rules for playing Beer Pong. The chapter on Dress includes the expected instructions for different methods of tying a necktie, bow tie, or cravat, as well as the proper relationship between the number of dress shirts and trousers that you should own (number of shirts squared equals number of trousers cubed) and how many to pack for a trip. It also instructs you in how to wear your dress shirts when not also wearing a tie; "One open button is safe; two suggests insouciance; three smacks of an Italian playboy." As for how to wear a top hat (included under Clothes for Weddings), The Man's Book cautions us that, "Squat crowns [make] you look, if you are not careful, like a doorman at a provincial hotel in Holland." Perish the thought.

The Man's Book includes an entire section on Women, beginning with Chivalry, proceeding through Marriage, and ending with Saying Goodbye (not breaking it off, but rather a dictionary or proper closings for correspondence). Yet there is no mention of children or fatherhood. This book does contain many facts that can help a man out in a pinch ("One of the easiest ways of starting a fire is by a magnifying glass. A well-suited specimen is conveniently included with the compact edition of the Oxford English Dictionary....If the OED is not at hand, a simple and effective lens can be constructed from water and Saran wrap."). But for equally useful fatherhood advice, e.g., how to construct an emergency diaper, dads will have to look elsewhere instead.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 18, 2014
They might like it because it actively encourages non-smokers to take up smoking through sections such as 'How to Start Smoking', 'The Advantages of Smoking' and 'Smoking with Confidence'. According to the writer, Thomas Fink, smoking is sexy, manly, popular with women, a social attraction, and children like smokers. After trivialising the known health risks of smoking, Fink goes on to say that smoking is, on balance, advantageous to the smoker. Perhaps needless to say, there is no mention of the stinky breath, hands, hair and clothes that are an inevitable characteristic of smokers.
This book is advertised as an indispensable guide for the modern man and Fink appears to believe that smoking is an indispensable habit of the modern man. In 2014...really?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse