Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 2,179 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 2,631 reviews
on July 30, 2016
This is my 5th time of reading through the Bible. NIV twice, King James, NASB, and now The Message. Each time I learn more. This version clarified some areas in a way that I really understood what God was trying to say. There were many times I referred back to the NASB for accurate wording and to confirm The Message's interpretation. There were a couple of times I didn't agree with the interpretation. In general, I appreciated the work that went into making this Bible extremely reader friendly while still holding to the truth of His word.
11 comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2015
Well sized book makes it easy to read. The message is a very contemporary rendering of the bible for ne and old readers.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2012
The Message is a helpful translation, presenting the truth of the Bible in new and dramatic ways, without violating the meaning intended. However, the Kindle edition is difficult to navigate, for one reason -- the Table of Contents doesn't provide links below the level of the 66 books of the Bible. Thus, for example, if you want to look up Psalm 72, you have to go to the Psalms, which puts you at an introduction to the book, then page through any number of pages until you reach the 72nd, or else go to Proverbs, and page backwards from Psalm 150 down.

The best way to do this is to set the font size at its smallest, which cuts down on the intervening number of pages, but then you will probably have to set it somewhat larger, when you get where you are going, so you can read it.

One other possibility is to search for 72, but searching isn't very fast, and a search for 72 will turn up any other occurrence of that number, such as any chapter in the Bible with 72 or more verses.

It's too bad that navigation is so inefficient in this Bible. It's much better in some other versions, such as the NIV, the NLT, and the ESV.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2017
This soft cover version of The Message was given to students graduating high school. This year, I was not able to find the imitation leather versions I had been able to purchase in the past. While it wasn't an nice, it was a little less expensive to order. The cover is pretty thin, but acceptable for a paperback. The print is decent and the spine appears that it will hold up. This Bible may not end up an everyday reader for decades, but it is perfect for a college kid to keep on their nightstand or in their backpack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2016
Sometimes I think the book is a little too liberal in it's translations but more often than not, the use of modern vernacular works. I wouldn't recommend it as a study bible but for those just reading the Word, especially if you're doing a full Bible reading, I'd definitely suggest it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2016
The Message is a wonderful, down to earth poetical paraphrase of the Bible in American English (as Eugene Peterson would say). It reads easily and it is is very helpful for those not familiar with the Bible. At the same time, helpful for those who are too familiar with a certain version of it, to the point of not being surprised by what it says. The Old Testament especially becomes more alive, books like Job, became like a play to me, that allowed me to ask and think about the questions the "actors" had, it became very real and not limited by time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2014
This "Message Bible" is just what I was looking for to give as a gift for a lovely lady who is one of my parishioners. The purple cover and back are beautiful, leather-bound, and very well presented. Because of the size, the print is a tad small; yet not too small for regular reading and light. This is the 2nd one I've ordered, exactly like this one, and I've been extremely pleased with the seller and the packaging; also arrived on time. These are beautiful Bibles...would definitely order again. "The Message" truly reads like a novel.......easily understood. It is my go-to Bible when I research and prepare sermons; however, I use the NRSV for the Scripture readings due to my parishioners using the NRSV which are in their pews to follow along.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2016
I would have appreciated knowing how small this book is before ordering. Size was not indicated, and the print is barely large enough to be acceptable. A bit larger font would have made the reading more comfortable.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2013
Catholics, Orthodox and Protestants with a love of Scripture be forewarned. The Message Bible is not a translation. It's a paraphrase, and a very loose paraphrase at that. Quite often I haven't a clue of what verse Peterson is attempting to paraphrase, a lot of the content of the original seems to be missing. You won't get the original biblical message from this book, but you will get Peterson's Reformed understanding of it. Having said that, it's still well-written and interesting, though I may take issue with his interpretation. If, like me, you enjoy collecting Bible translations and comparing them you may enjoy Peterson's take. Just don't expect it to be a substitute for a more literal translation, such as the NASB, RSV, DR or the KJV.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2016
This is an easy to read and comprehend bible. Very contemporary!!! Not a bible I would as a seasoned bible reader would read, but it will help someone feeling out Christianity or very young Christian. Some of the wording stretches a bit too far away from the KJV, NKJV, NIV... bibles.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse