Customer Reviews: The Midnight Eye Files: The Sirens
Amazon Vehicles Oct16 Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 $25 Back with $50 Purchase Cozy Knits Book 2 or More Hours of House Cleaning on Amazon fin fin fin  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 All-New Kindle Oasis hhnsweeps Shop Cycling on Amazon

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 27, 2011
Following the extraordinary terror and insanity of The Amulet - this edition of the Midnight Eye Files, The Sirens, once more pits the Glaswegian PI Derek Adams against creatures more horrible than you could imagine.

What starts as a simple case of returning a Widow's son from Skye for his father's funeral becomes a complex and mysterious monster catching case, with a history drawn from Nordic legend and a style of suspense and action that combines the very best Detective Noir of Derek's hardbitten, wry humour and the pace and tension of a page-turning thriller.

Aided by Doug, his long-time friend and only partly recovered from their ordeals in The Amulet case, Derek must pit his wits against a family feud a century old and some implacable foes.

Along the way we meet the usual cast of seedy and irrepressible Glaswegians that populate the darker side of the City - where deals are done and questions are few in the asking: There's another oddball Police pair, the shady characters in dingy bars who can get anything for you for a price, the endearing gossip that supplies the cigarettes, a host of minor locals full of colour and mischief, and plenty of Whiskey to wash it all down.

Written with the usual verve and wit that William brings to his Derek Adams stories, The Sirens is distractingly hard to put down and very possibly an even better read than The Amulet before it.

I have very high hopes for the third in the series - The Skin Game!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
PI Derek Adams returns in Meilkle's hard-boiled / noir follow-up to "The Amulet".

Adams finds himself mixed up in a case intermingled with Norse mythology.

This is a well-written hard-boiled novel in the tradition of Marlowe and Spade set in modern-day Scotland with a heavy dose of the supernatural.

0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2012
I am not a big fan of mysteries, except Sherlock Holmes of course, but I love Adams. Mr Meikle, who has written a very convincing Holmes as well as Adams, is qiute the exception. I love a good horror story. Mr Meikle writes a good horror story. I have made it my mission to read all of rhis athors work. It is a mission I am thouroughly enjoying. I started this series in the wrong order but I am enthraled by them. If you like a good story you will enjoy this one. It would br wrong to miss it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here