Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7, starting at $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 314 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 382 reviews
on October 24, 2014
This movie is delightful. Growing up in a small rural community and now living in New Mexico, it's easy for me to identify with many of the colorful characters, and the movie is funny without making fun of the characters. The people are treated respectfully -- with the possible exception of a few incompetent politicians. These are country people trying to live in their traditional New Mexico community despite the onslaught of developers who don't understand the culture. The movie highlights the spectacular New Mexico scenery and some of the culture and traditions of families that have lived in the area for hundreds of years. Even the actors are generally of Hispanic heritage (though not necessarily New Mexican), so their accents and speech patterns are much like many rural New Mexicans. If you enjoy the movie, read the book for more in-depth treatment of the characters and the culture.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2016
Why this film is not regarded as a modern classic, I don't know. Robert Redford directed, and he clearly loved both the wonderful John Nichols novel on which it is based and the land and people that are its subject. An amazing ensemble cast has been gathered, including Christopher Walken, Melanie Griffith, John Heard, Daniel Stern, Sonia Braga, and Ruben Blades. The late Freddy Fender shows up as the town's mayor. These people seem real, even the Coyote Angel who visits elderly Amarante. Joe Mondragon's bean field and the water to irrigate it may seem a small matter, but how this affects his neighbors makes for a touching and joyous story. Dave Grusin's perfect score and Redford's eye, augmented by Robbie Greenburg's cinematography make the real star of the movie the unique landscape of northern New Mexico. Give this film a couple hours. Like all the classics, it will pay you handsomely for your investment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2017
I love this movie. One of Robert Redford's first films and quite possibly his best. Very few people know this film. But, it is truly one of the best light-comedic films you will ever watch. Terrific cast and wonderfully written. I've spent time in northern New Mexico and it is just as quirky as presented. My wife kept resisting watching the movie with me, but finally relented. Couple of days later I asked her, "So?" She said she hadn't realized just how enjoyable it would be. If you loved The Full Monty for its social commentary and light touch. You will love The Milagro Beatified War!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2014
The Milagro Beanfield War is the best movie ever. It’s better than your favorite movie. Old man Amarante is the best character ever. He has a Peacekeeper; he can drive a tractor and hangs out with an Angel. Adapted by John Nichols from his book (haven’t read it), it was made in the late ‘80s (don’t remember them), a great period for filmmaking by a few accounts. It has the nicest cop you’ll ever meet and a script that respects your intelligence while nestling itself into your heart like a stray puppy. There are beans, an old hippie, some Mexican folk magic, and, as a public service, blissfully brief introductions to comparative religion and irrigation methods.

How much would you pay for this incredible value? Don’t answer yet, because it also includes a one-armed man, Melanie Griffith, and an Oscar-winning soundtrack by Dave Grusin. But wait—there’s more! The Milagro Beanfield War also features Christopher Walken, Sônia Braga, and that guy (Daniel Stern). Impress your friends and your weird relative from Albuquerque at the same time! You get it all: low riders, an anthropologist with round glasses, a pig, a cow, even a strange lady throwing rocks at people from behind a fence. What more could you want? Spoiler alert: there aren’t any explosions. There are a couple of gunshots, though. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll remember you love Ruben Blades and why! Oh, and it’s directed by Robert Redford so shut up and add it to your cart.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2017
Best story in the world (okay, a bit of an exaggeration, but not much) of people beating corporations. Wonderful story filled with wonderful characters living in a wonderful place. The story give hope to all of us who care about our world, community and home. It gives hope and allows us to see that we are not helpless.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2015
One of my favourite movies from years gone by. An artist friend of mine recently discovered the movie and it moved him to paint several pictures from the movie and so I ordered the film and watched it again, remembering the love of the story and how it was told. This was a true storyteller type of movie, something you'd always hope and dream your own writing would produce. Great acting and don't worry about suspending belief, it's the magic you were waiting for.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2017
This is a movie that reflects an area where people are a lot like where we live in the south west. It makes us laugh and even brings tears. A great uplifting movie. Saw it first on TV and then purchased the movie so we could watch it again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2017
Read the book ages ago when salt was first invented. A great story of a land and people. Robert Redford did a great job with the people portraying the characters from the book, staying true to the story and the cinematic photography of the scenery was A+.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2015
This is one of our old favorites. It really shows life in New Mexico--the Good, Bad and Ugly. Robert Redford did a fabulous job in directing. The actors were great. Good humor. The beauty of New Mexico landscape really comes out and the difficulties for indigenous people in New Mexico.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2015
A great movie about the culture of the descendants of the colonial Spanish in this country. Robert Redford gets it right. Great musical score too. The only thing I don't quite agree with is the comment made by the sociology student that the "Santos" (saints) are part of the Native American culture.
All Catholics pray to saints for intercessions, including Catholics in Europe who have no Native American heritage or influence. As Catholics we believe in patron saints who pray for us when we pray to them. We usually light candles (special ones designed for this) and place them at the base of the saint being prayed to for them to intercede with Heaven for us. This is why the Reformed churches accused Catholics of idolatry.
At any rate, I remember my grandmother's little shrine of saints in her bedroom with a few special candles ready for any particular request she had.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse