Industrial Deals HPC Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Ski Trip Essentials nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon thechi thechi thechi  Echo Dot Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now



on November 20, 2008
Kick up your heels with the bawdy cancan dancing girls of the Moulin Rouge and enjoy more murder and mischief as they ruffle their petticoats high in the air. The third installment of the Victor Legris murder series by authors Claude Izner is another winner of the highest caliber. Multiple murders this time involve a highly developed plot to keep the reader turning the pages. All the same lovable characters of our detective Victor Legris, his partner and stepfather Kenji, Jojo the shopkeeper, his irritating mother, and Victor's Russian girlfriend Tasha, reappear in their natural roles. And for an added bonus we get a guest appearance from the famous painter Henri Toulouse-Lautrec!

This is a delightful series of nothing but pure fun and entertainment. You will adore the cast of characters and cheer them on as they scour the Parisian streets and countryside for clues to unravel this puzzling crime that begins with a ladie's very fancy missing red shoe. This shoe just happens to be mysteriously delivered to Victor's bookshop with their address tucked inside. The blend of murder mystery, historical fiction, humor, and even romance, is surely the secret of this series' success. As the reader devours each book in the series slowly, you get a firsthand feel of the time and the place the authors evoke with their in-depth knowledge of Victorian Paris that they specialize in. Learning about the many famous Impressionist painters and French literary authors of the time through both background characters or from the rare books in Victor's Bookstore, gives the reader an intimate portrait of life in Paris during the late 1800's. Bravo to the authors for the third time, I am waiting impatiently for book four!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 29, 2012
Very detailed description of Paris in the 1890's. I did not know who did it until the very end. A lot of French mixed in the text. This is the first in the series that I have read but I have ordered another one for my trip to Paris. It will be fun to find the streets that the author is describing. I would recommend the book to anyone familiar with Paris or interested in the history of the districts. There are 20 districts and there is a book for each district in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 3, 2016
These books make me feel as if I am walking the streets of the arrondissements of Paris in the late 19th century.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 11, 2012
This was an entertaining second book in the series. The characters are appealing, and there's plenty of Paris atmosphere and history. However, I liked the first book in the series a little better than this one. I already ordered books 3 and 4 though, and I'm hoping the pace picks up again in the next one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 6, 2011
The third in the Victor Legris mysteries which take place in Paris France during the late 1890's. Legris is co-owner of a book store and becomes intrigued with various dead bodies being discovered in "odd places" around the city. Victor enlists Joseph's assistance and the search is on for the killer(s). Enjoyable read. Several cabarets are visited, i.e. the Moulin Rouge and La Chat-Noir.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 20, 2011
These two sisters are amazing. Perhaps it helps that the books are translated into English, but it is not obvious in the writing that it is a joint effort. The historical research is obvious by the lack of glaring bloopers. The plots are complicated enough to hold your interest to the end. Not the best of the best but certainly good enough to keep me looking for the next installment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 12, 2013
I really liked the addition of a new person to the core grupo, anda tve devopment ofrece Joseph's personality. Tve plot has golf surprisrs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 25, 2014
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 9, 2010
Occasionally I have a difficult time getting "into" a new book, but almost always push to a point where I can finish, sometimes with and sometimes without enjoyment. In this case, I just had to give up. The book seems to have been written in broken English, and did nothing to capture my interest and hold my attention. I am an avid mystery reader, and looked forward to reading this book as I was getting ready to travel to Paris.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 19, 2010
In 1891 Paris at an outing of the C. Bontemps Boarding School, Elisa borrows Iris' red shoes to run away with twenty-one years old Gaston. Some time later on Montmartre, a female body is found; her face burned with acid so it is unrecognizable; the corpse is barefoot. A red shoe is delivered to the the Bookshop owned by Victor Legris and Kenji Mori.

When Kenji recognizes the shoe as one he gave to his goddaughter Iris, he assumes logically and mournfully she is the dead victim until he learns from her she lent them to her friend. Victor follows Kenji to the school and once he catches up with what the shoe denotes he insures Iris is safe as she may have been the intended target. Gaston's body is found in a wine cask on the wharf. Having solved two cases (see The Disappearance at Père-Lachaise and Murder on the Eiffel Tower), Victor fancies himself a detective so he is determined to solve the case before his rival police Inspector Lecacheur can. When Elisa's mother is also murdered, the three killings appear linked to a cold case in Lyon, but why and who is the avenger remains unknown.

This is an exhilarating French historical mystery that gives armchair detectives a taste of late nineteenth century Paris when cabarets and wine houses were the rage. Real historical figures add to the atmosphere while anchoring the time and place of the storyline. Secrets from the past prove either deadly or joyful as Victor investigates the serial murders linked to a cold case.

Harriet Klausner
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here