Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$9.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 162 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 304 reviews
on July 22, 2015
Excellent story and fascinating voice.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2016
Like setting Camus's Stranger in New Orleans among the Southern gentry. Dated in a way but worth reading even in its datedness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2016
Somewhat disappointing - not up to the standard of other Percy books that I have read. Too large a cast of characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2015
I read this for a book club that I did not attend. I enjoyed the book even though I don't usually enjoy literature. I am probably not smart enough to understand the themes in the book. Still liked it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2016
They way the story was told was different than the normal stucture of novels, but most enjoyable!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2016
Poetic and compelling. A wonderful look at a young man's coming of age
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2016
I read it first when it came out.fifty years ago I think. It held up for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2014
I read it on a recommendation, so some people like it, but I'm not the right audience.

Maybe if you love Blanch Dubois, you'll like it - but that's a guess.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2013
A few days in the life of a New Orleans existentialist. The point see,s to be that the purpose of life reveals itself if you're honest about your feelings and pay attention. Generally excellent though the ending seems a little pat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2014
We read this for our book club. Not a lot of action but very flavorful descriptions of people and places. Reading it is like walking into a family album/portrait gallery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse