Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 123 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 338 reviews
on August 24, 2014
It was entertaining. But. And there’s a big but. There’s no point to this book. James Patterson has a wonderful turn of phrase, he’s a very good author, but he did not come up with anything new for this book. It wasn’t even surprising. By a quarter of the way through the book, you know “whodunit” and it’s exactly what you expect.

The book, honestly, is about Howard Carter, the man who discovered the tomb and not really about King Tut himself. And even in that, you don’t learn anything. You don’t get to know the man, really, but a cardboard cutout of him, kinda. I get the feeling there’s a lot more to him that this book doesn’t touch on.

And what King Tut book doesn’t even mention the “curse” once? Debunk it or believe it, you have to TALK about it! It was huge. Egypt-mania in the 1920s was huge. But this book doesn’t mention that at all. It might say it was big but the VAST majority of the book is about what a failure Carter was, not what a success he was. That’s almost a footnote.

There’s nothing in this book that “reopens the ultimate cold case” at all. There’s no case. There’s not even a mystery. This book doesn’t even PRETEND there’s a mystery. It’s so disappointing.

The writing is very good, but that's all I can say positive about it. I honestly wouldn’t bother unless you need something to fill a boring Sunday night (like I did).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2009
At first, I was interested to see Patterson insert himself into his own book [although I don't believe I'd care to hang out with someone with such a bloated sense of himself] and was excited by his claims of extensive research, but soon became quite disappointed when it became clear that Mr. Patterson glossed over the 2 main stories, that of King Tut and that of Carter. He'd throw out a tantalizing tidbit of information but wasn't able to elaborate. Or perhaps more accurately, wasn't willing to elaborate. Throughout the book, I felt like Mr. Patterson was writing for a rather dull child who he believed incapable of grasping big words or complicated sentence structure.

Ultimately too I was shocked at his conclusion of the purported murder. While I think he could have been right regarding his suspicions on two counts, he did not paint a clear enough picture to jump to the final conclusion regarding Tut's sister. Nor do I agree that he should be billing this as a work of non-fiction. Mr. Patterson didn't present enough "evidence" to support a good fiction thriller, much less solve one of the most intriquing mysteries of all time.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2015
This book carries on two time lines - one for King Tut around 1380 BC, and one for Howard Carter around 1915 AD and following. The author puts a couple of current day chapters in there too, giving his thoughts on writing the book. It kept my interest. I'm not into Egyptology, but learning about all the intrigues and political power plays around the Pharoah was interesting. And seeing how Carter made such a monumental discovery and ultimately never benefited from it made for a good story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2013
A strange book in that it contains all the parts of a book that could be and should be a very good read. I get the sense of a story that the author or perhaps the editor has cut up into several stories and then took the life out of each before tacking the remains together into a book that leaves one with a feeling of having smelled the cherries in an empty plate. The book needs to be revised and rewritten by the author until he finds himself enjoying the story. If you want to write a book, write a book. Not a synopsis, and don't leave the reader hanging over an abyss at the end.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 5, 2014
For the casual reader without much knowledge about Egyptian history, this book is an entertaining retelling of the well-worn story of the discovery of Tut's tomb in 1922, as well as speculation on why the teenager died. For anyone who has done a good bit of reading about Tut and his period, this book is less satisfying.

I fall into the latter category. The author's first-person ruminations, sprinkled through the book, broke the story flow and were unnecessary. I picked up on several "facts" that were just plain wrong. If you're looking for an easy beach read, this works, but not if you take Egyptian history seriously.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2017
Stick to mystery writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2017
I like this fast-paced story about the history of King Tut and Howard Carter. Very interesting!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2009
I can't imagine anyone would enjoy this book unless they are completely ignorant of Howard Carter and his discovery of Tut's tomb, and/or have no knowledge of Tut's life. If you have the most basic knowledge of either, you will find this book incredibly dull. The book moves from ancient Egypt and the time leading up to Tut's birth to Carter's life and experiences in the early 1900s on his digs and then the author's decision to write the book. Didn't learn anything I haven't already picked up here and there watching the Discovery or History channels. Total waste of money and my day.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2017
Great book that is well done taking you from the time of Pharaohs to the early 1900's, back and forth in a very graceful way. Certainly enjoyed the research to put this all together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2016
Smooth reading and a lot of ancient history disclosed. I enjoyed the writing as usual with Patterson and his associate writer. Poor young King Tut and his tragic short life, and also his wife. There were tons of deceit and viciousness in the palace, and Tut went into the after-world way sooner than expected. Savage times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse