Oil month Automotive HPC Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Made for you. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18PP_gno

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
45


on August 31, 2012
This film is about a beautiful young woman and a slightly older man. The woman is a leftist who seduces conservative men and convinces them to become leftists. She thinks the older man is a conservative, but he just dresses conservatively--he and his parents have been leftists/communists since World War II.

The girl is a bit absent minded. One really funny scene is when she goes home to take a shower, but gets so distracted by multiple phone calls, that she leaves and rides the metro without remembering to get dressed again.

Another funny scene requires a bit of knowledge about how the French vote. At French elections, the voter is given slips of paper, each paper with a candidate's name on it. To vote for a candidate, the voter puts the slip with the candidate's name on it in the voting machine. The scene also requires the audience to know that Nicolas Sarkosy (the recent French president) is a conservative. With this background, you can probably figure out the scene.

I highly recommend this movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 26, 2011
The movie is not what it seems to be at first: a French take on a Cary Grant/Katherine Hepburn Dull-meets-Ditz comedy. The characters don't so much overcome their roles as the movie explains how they got that way; you find out by getting to know the poignant history of their families, how they became who they are. The acting is first rate, Sara Forestier is extraordinary; combining a little hysteria, a lot of attention deficit and bohemian sensuality; Jacques Gamblin is just dead-on dead from the neck down. The characters and their families all have chemistry and watching them gingerly trying to deal with one another is just wonderful. Names of Love is funny and sexy but ultimately a very touching movie. Definitely worth seeing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 9, 2014
This is a delightful and clever movie about an unexpected romance between an uptight forensic veterinarian and a free spirited young women half his age. It highlights the life experiences of the male and female protagonists growing up in their very different families, yet in the end it shows people remain individuals regardless of their background and cannot be treated as stereotypes. It cleverly mixes in political satire where any and all politically correct pieties on race, ethnicity, sex and love are subverted by wry comedy. I especially liked the idea of commemorating not where someone died, but rather where they first tasted whipped cream. See the movie to understand what I mean. PS. be warned there is quite a bit of female nudity involving the beautiful female star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 11, 2012
I watched this to listen to the French language. Before long I was caught up in this story about how two people who seem so unalike are good for each other. The characters were delightful; the theme timeless. Perhaps love can keep us together. Watch this and enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 3, 2014
Delightfully different than any movie I have seen before!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 5, 2014
I watched this so long ago, but I just remember really really enjoying this film, and the next couple days I couldn't stop thinking about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 12, 2013
Such a great film - the casting and writing is excellent. I saw this film for the first time as part of the San Francisco Jewish Film Festival, and couldn't resist owning it for myself!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 13, 2013
A comedy that's actually funny! Great characterizations and story telling. The story takes some wonderful turns before arriving at the prescribed destination - it's a rom-com after all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 28, 2013
Creative, fun, very French. The premise may seem strange, the characters stranger but inside the movie it all makes perfect sense.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 27, 2013
The DVD works just fine. The movie is a great one. It is a smart french comedy. I would recommend it to any one who is interested in french movies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse