Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Limited time offer Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts Shop Popular Services siliconvalley siliconvalley siliconvalley  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$15.36+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 31 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 83 reviews
on March 9, 2014
Released almost a year to the day after their initial 1987 thrash-terpiece The Legacy, Testament's The New Order picks up right where the debut record left off. It's fast, it's thrashy, and it's melodic. Skolnick and Peterson's dual guitar attack once again carries the day, but they are well supported by Greg Christian's throbbing bass this time around thanks to better production (The Legacy is pretty muddy, and the listener often has to strain to find Christian).

In addition to sounding a little clearer, The New Order is much more diverse than its predecessor. Where The Legacy operated on two speeds ("Fast" and "Faster"), The New Order is home to many different tempos and styles. It still has its thrashers ("Into the Pit" is especially wild), but it also includes two plodding instrumentals ("Hypnosis" and "Musical Death (A Dirge)" respectively) that showcase Alex Skolnick's melodic approach to the genre. In fact, even the signature metal assaults like "Trial By Fire" and the title track are much more deliberate. Rather than machine-gunning the E string on every track, Peterson's rhythm section is comprised of bigger, heavier riffs saturated with melody. Many of these basically write Chuck Billy's vocal melodies for him, and as a result we are treated to some of the most memorable and catchy choruses in Testament's entire catalogue.

Speaking of Chuck Billy, his vocals on The New Order are pristine. He combines his signature shrieking (see: "The Preacher") with a lower growl, which is essentially his eventual death metal style in its embryonic form. This phenomena is especially evident on "Disciples of the Watch" (which also features a haunting Skolnick intro and a fat bass line from Christian). With Souza gone to Exodus, the lightning verse vocals are gone too; Billy opts instead to follow the guitars more closely, both in melody and speed.

While The New Order is an undisputed thrash classic, I am not part of the camp that calls it Testament's pinnacle. For me, that title will always belong to The Legacy. I am also likely in the minority of Testament fans in that I do not especially enjoy the Aerosmith cover of "Nobody's Fault," nor am I big on "A Day of Reckoning." On the other hand, "Eerie Inhabitants" and "Into the Pit" are two of my favorite Testament songs, and "Disciples," "The Preacher," and "The New Order" are all perennial live staples for a reason. The New Order may be Testament's most diverse album, and it's a must-have for thrash fanatics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2017
Great CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2017
Good condition works well !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2017
I didn't receive my Testament CD or Mash season 6 DVD please respond.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2012
Testament's 2nd studio album "The New Order" is an absolute classic in thrash metal. It came out a little over a year after their debut "The Legacy" in 1988. Their direction changed a bit and in my opinion, it's a better album. It's a bit more melodic and complex than their first album, songwriting is better also. Musically it's more technical and the band showed a lot of maturity early in their career. If you want a more energetic and rawer album than "The Legacy" is a better choice but if you want something more technical than "The New Order" is a better choice. Production is great, not too polished but not under produced. It includes their hit "The New Order" which is a classic in thrash metal, although my personal favorites are Into The Pit, Trial By Fire and The Preacher.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2006
Every now and then i forget how totally awesome Testament is, only to rediscover how much i love every single song by them. I'm sitting here trying to think of any flaws and with the band, there just isn't. Great singing, great riffs, great basslines, great drums, great solos, great harmonies, everything. the only one thing i could MAYBE say that isnt so good about the older Testament cds is that the recording quality is very...80's. But if you're into metal as much as you should be, then you should be into all sorts of old 80s bands with not so great recording.

buy this cd people, and every other testament cd while you're at it. they're all pretty much best-of's. you need all of them. you will not be dissapointed.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2016
Sacramento's heaviest! Unfortunately, this came out in 1988-same year as Metallica-...And Justice For All/Anthrax-State Of Euphoria/Megadeth-So, Far, So Good...So What?/Slayer-South Of Heaven. Therefore, it was severely overshadowed, as '88 was a BANNER year for thrash metal!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2012
Most people say that this album placed Testament on the front page of metal scene. But I have to disagree. Even though this album has better production then The Legacy, the first album is like the "first strike" and "is still deadly". By no question, this album is a perfect masterpiece, and to some extent it continues the legacy with no doubt. This is a must to your "TETSTAMENT" collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2008
This is another solid offering from Testament, and is good from the start to the end.

While I list the Legacy as the best thrash metal album ever, the New Order is literally every bit as good, it's just the Legacy was the bands defining album as it came first.

The album did not sell too well for the band, possibly because MTV was too big on Metallica, Guns N Roses and Motley Crue to promote bands like Testament, certainly not because the album is lacking in material.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2013
If you are a fan of 80s thrash metal then this is an easy choice for you.. The New Order is a masterpiece..This is their best album.. Testament helped create the thrash metal scene in the mid 80s... They never received the glory and fame that Metallica, and Anthrax got but they are every bit as good, and some may argue that they are better..I've had the cd for 22 years and just bought the 180 gram vinyl version.. I highly recommend the vinyl (remastered) version..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse