Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Only: $49.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheTick TheTick TheTick  Three new members of the Echo family Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18SW_gno



on July 28, 2016
A 150-minute version was shown to critics for awards season consideration in December 2005. When the film went into wide release in January 2006, Malick had recut it to 135-minutes with new footage and altering some of the voiceovers. When it was released on home video in 2008, a new 172-minute Extended Cut was released featuring even more new footage. All three versions have been included in this set.

Of the three versions that exist in this set, the Extended Cut has the best transfer with the lush greens and earth tones looking the most vibrant and realistic.

Ported over from the DVD is a ten-part, 80-minute making of documentary that takes a detailed look at the various aspects of the film.

There are new interviews with actors Colin Farrell and Q’orianka Kilcher who talk about working with Malick, his unique approach and how it impacted their respective performances. Some really wonderful anecdotes are recounted on this extra.

Also included are teaser and theatrical trailers.

There are new interviews with producer Sarah Green, production designer Jack Fisk, and costume designer Jacqueline West as they talk about their respective contributions on the film and working with Malick.

Editors Hank Corwin, Saar Klein and Mark Yoshikawa talk about the monumental task of shaping Malick’s film from all the footage he shot. It wasn’t easy and the director challenged them to match his drive for authenticity.

Finally, Yohikawa also talks about the differences between each cut and how they structure of the film evolved.
0Comment| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 6, 2015
I've been aTerrence Malick fan since I saw DAYS OF HEAVEN in the 70s, when it was first released. I bought it on laser, twice, dvd and, finally, the ultra phenomenal Criterion blu ray. This is it's equal; again, a phenomenal visual experience, and a very unconventional approach to storytelling. The plot is the somewhat familiar John Smith /Pocahontas tale, as in the Disney version, but redone with the period detail, and narrative ambiguity that one expects from this director. I saw this in the theatre, too, was dazzled, and bought the regular dvd, and, later on, jumped at the extra resolution of the blu ray when it was re-issued in that format. This is a real stunner, gorgeous to look at, and the film remains, a total one of a kind -- an epic for people who look for more than just thundering hordes of extras. A strong story, unconventionally, intelligently told.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 21, 2017
My wife is a Native American Indian. I have every movie ever made on this subject. This is the best move made to date.
It is atmospheric, poetic, and accurate historically. Really captures the essence and innocence of the Native American Indians.

Irene Bedard is in it. She is wonderful and my wife says the most beautiful Native American Indian woman every to grace the screen.

The ultimate in theater - believable.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 17, 2012
The New World (2006) Colin Farrell, Q'orianka Kilcher, Christopher Plummer
Rated PG.
Finally, a more realistic depiction of the Pocahontas legend and the brutal hardships suffered by our founding colonists.
This is not an action movie. It's a thinking person's film, vividly told in a day to day fashion.
This motion picture is literally poetic cinema in its truest form, although not entirely 100% accurate in the pure historical sense.
Pocahontas (Q'orianka Kilcher) is a stunning woman to behold who really does look very much like the real life character that she portrays, as depicted in old drawings.
Shot in Virginia, the cinematography is magnificent.There's not a whole lot of dialogue between all the characters. It's voice over narrated as the story moves along. This is more art than movie. A bittersweet journey for the senses. An excursion that explores very harsh realities that are felt more than seen. Actually it's somewhat a chic flick in wolf's clothing.
If you are willing to devote the time to let this story slowly unfold before your eyes, you will be enthralled.
A superb movie for folks who are willing to be patient. Alas, most audiences aren't.
Warning: If you're looking for action and adventure, you may want to look elsewhere. This film is not simple entertainment, and may require repeated viewings to fully appreciate what the director is trying to convey.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 13, 2014
I first rented this film in 2006 when i lived in James City County, at a time when they were preparing for the 400th anniversary of the settlement of Jamestown. I rented the film out of curiosity and watched some of it, but it seemed too long, subtle and slow. I fell asleep half way through out of boredom. However, I decided to give it another chance and purchased the Blu-ray in 2013.....6 or 7 years after first viewing it. Maybe my tastes have since changed, I don't know. But i gotta say the second viewing locked "The New World" in as one of my all time favorite films. I realize it's not a poster child for truly accurate historical dramas, but a beautiful story nonetheless.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 13, 2013
The New World is Terrence Malick's second film (after The Thin Red Line) upon his return to the US after a stint in Paris teaching philosophy. This is a lyrical film which is slow paced with music from the Vorspiel to Richard Wagner's opera Das Rheingold and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's piano concerto #23. It shows the encounter between the English and the Algonquin Indians at Jamestown, Virginia in 1607. John Smith meets Pocahontas, who boards the ship which returns to London in 1616 to meet the king and queen.
Malick's crew rebuilt the Jamestown fort and village within 10 miles from the actual landing site.
This film by one of America's finest directors looks great in blu-ray.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 1, 2014
Beautiful cinematography, fitting score, cast well, but make no mistake about it, this is drama and not history. It's loosely based on a historical story but it's Hollywood. Still, worth a viewing, and very enjoyable. If you get the chance to look over the writer/director's bio on IMDB some of the way the nature scenes and birds are filmed will make more sense. Watch the lighting in the scenes and see the beautiful colors of nature in contrast with the dark and dreary colors in the fort. This film is also a great invitation to learn more about the Jamestowne settlement and this era in history. Enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 11, 2007
I saw this movie on DVD. I have a feeling that the beautiful Virginia landscapes would have been even better on the larger screen.

When I say that it is a long movie, I am not cutting any corners. It has a running time of 150 mins. I can see lot of you going "Whoah!". Trust me, it was not that difficult. Think of a lovely slow cooked meal. It is impossible to achieve that kind of tenderness and flavor with a fast food approach.

In fact that's exactly the directorial style of Terrence Mallik. If you have watched The Thin Red Line you will know what I mean. He is content to do the slow simmer than blast away with a blow torch. And if you think about it, human emotions are also pretty much the same. They usually simmer away within us and at times blow up too :)

The movie's star performer is undoubtedly Q'orianka Kilcher (With such a cool name how can you not be a star, ay?). She effortlessly portrays the transition of Pocahontas (Interestingly the movie never mentions her name) from a young girl smitten in love with Captain Smith (played by Colin Farrell) to the lovely lady who arrives on the British Shores and charms the King and Queen.

But ultimately the movie belongs to Terrence Mallik. The delicateness and tact with which he handles the entire story is mesmerising. The dialogue in the movie is sparse. And that only serves to enhance the experience. Almost gives one the sense that Mallik has taken a scalpel to the screenplay.

The cinematography is simply outstanding. The shots which intermingle with Smith's narrative are so breathtaking and downright poetic.

"The New World" is ultimately a discovery for all involved - Smith & Co discovered their New World on the shores of US, Pocahontas discovers a new world among the settlers and later in Britain and we discover the sumptuousness of a movie which does not hurry through the details but instead lets us take in every ounce of artistic flair that it has to offer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 23, 2009
The New World is a movie of discovery. It also is a movie that allows the audience to experience the meeting of cultures and the full range of adversity that both needed to overcome and deal with. The film is unpretentious and dedicated to details and authenticity. The young lady portraying Pocahontas is very credible. She brings a natural innocence to the story that later conveys great sadness and loss.
The story of Captain John Smith's eventful meeting with Pocahontas, and how their lives intertwine as two very different cultures clash is a story wrought with tragedy and sadness, but nevertheless one that helps bring a better understanding to viewers of how our Country evolved.
This movie was beautifully filmed and there was a great deal of effort paid to authenticity of dress and detail.

Norman
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 23, 2013
The cinematography reminds me of paintings from the great masters of the period - suffused with shimmering light and inky shadow, grand in scope, and still penetrating in its exploration of the human form. The music perfectly matches this - creating a mesmerizing foray into the mythology of European colonization of Native American land. Every shot, every cut, every musical flourish - a master stroke.

Malick excels at the art of moving pictures - but does not pull the same mastery from his performers. He allows them to murmur and mumble their way through the film - and fails to explore the full range of emotion available. (Was every European mad or melancholy in the 16th century?) Fortunately, the epic story and haunting beauty of the film render the dialogue redundant. Perhaps this is what Malick intended.

Somehow, it all works - not only just, but brilliantly so. Were it not for Christopher Plummer, it might just as well be a silent film - yet a film that resonates with the spirit and thrills the imagination.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse