Oil month Automotive HPC World Book Day Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Offline listening. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry SpringEvent_Lawn_and_Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon westworldS2 westworldS2 westworldS2  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now SWMTVT18_gno



on October 14, 2011
The vast majority of the reviews have rated this 5 stars. I would rate it higher if possible. The author, Eric Blehm has done an excellent job explaining the life of a SF team and what they can be assigned to accomplish. As indicated by the book the team was given a job in a new environment following 9-11 and as usual for SOG given very little specifics. They were making some of it up as they went along and by all accounts doing the job and accomplishing their assigned goal. Their problems started when the REMF's arrived from HQ to only "observe" the operation. Never in my lifetime have I ever experienced an observer who out ranked the troops on the ground "strictly observe". There is some defect within these "observers" brain that malfunctions when they arrive onsite. In this case the observers were an 0-5 and a 0-4 watching over the shoulder of a 0-3. The 0-3 was a team leader and was qualified for the position or he would not have been there. We have all seen it before the REMF's wrangle a way to get to the action so they can get a notation in their 201 file that says "he was there" and maybe pick up a medal. In this case their involvement was to interfere by directing the team leader to follow their orders and then they involved themselves into an unnecessary airstrike that took the lives of over 50 friendlies and crippled most of the survivors. Their obvious desire to earn battle stories for the "O Club" cost these men their lives. If these observers had of admitted their "war" had past them by and stayed in the rear where they belonged those who died might still be with us today. Both Officers should have faced a court martial. Excellent book but rotten result. It is a must read.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 18, 2018
Great story of what it was like it the opening stages of the war on terror. With all the problems that you would expect. Plus some you wouldn't. Outdated maps, no military personnel with sufficient language skills. Overbearing glory seeking Headquarters units. However it is an exciting read. That points out that the armed services have to support each other. To get the immediate mission accomplished. Unless your a marine commander, and performing a rescue of wounded US soldiers. Who don'thappen to be Marines. Might put a bullet hole or two in one of your aircraft. You decline to assist. So what would have been a flight of less than a hour. Results in a flight of four hours in daylight over enemy territory. Certainly puts the current Secretary of Defense in a new unflattering light.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 10, 2017
Very well written without the Hollywood embellishments many authors resort to. Many great things are accomplished by small groups of military personnel like these Green Berets and what they accomplished needs to be appreciated. What happened to them was a tragedy that seems to happen in each conflict, people in the rear who should not be involved in the minute tactical decisions costing brave men their lives. Five stars for the brave men and the great job this author did,
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon November 9, 2014
A good book, that once again lets the reader get acquainted with some of the most courageous defenders of this country. Each member of the proud Green Berets showed how harsh and dangerous were the obstacles they faced. To say that I am so proud of these courageous individuals is putting it mildly. I actually revere their lives, for I recognize that without their kind, this country wouldn't be half the country that it is. Their strength, and their standing up against all forces that mean harm, make them a unique breed. I like the book on principle alone, not as much, perhaps, as some other titles, but it is such a privilege to read how they all work together, including aerial support, and how these eleven men defied the odds in their battle for the greater good. 4 Stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 28, 2013
First off let me say that this book is not of blistering gun battles, but instead a mission of hope and the future. 10 special forces and an elder tribesmen would help defeat the Taliban and start a revolution against war on terror, 10 men would hold the key and future of a country torn by war since the beginning of time. 1 mission would dictate the future of a country and the outcome of a war, with all the might of the US military w/out this mission the armed forces could have meet the same consequence as the mighty Red army did decades before. This book is of men who forged a war against terror but United a country against it's self. This book is a must read if you want to know how an alliance was formed to defeat the war on terror but forged a new peace between God and country,this mission determined the outcome of the war against terror. A must read for the historic events of this mission, and the historic events that followed this mission.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 15, 2018
Superbly written, it made me feel like I was part of ODA 574. Excellent insight into Hamid Karzai and role at the onset of OEF. Best book
I have read about Afghanistan war since Red Platoon. I was surprised when I learned about the lack of support from Camp Rhino's CC, read it and make your own opinion, remember this book was published in 2011
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 15, 2012
Blehm's book is a true account of a U.S. special forces unit sent to Afghanistan in the fall of 2001, following 9/11. The unit of green berets, ODA 574, led by captain Jason Amerine is airlifted with helicopters to southern Afghanistan with Hamid Karzai, with the aim to train guerrilla forces of local Pashtuns, loyal to Karzai to wage war against the Taliban, still strong in the southern provinces.

Things develop faster than anticipated and the unit finds itself fighting alongside locals to take over towns soon after their landing. Working closely with Hamid Karzai the group and Pashtun leader learn to respect each other. Against special operations doctrine, headquarters soon send more senior officers on site to "support" Amerine's and Karzai's efforts to oust the Taliban.

Tensions soon develop between ODA 574 and the newcomers, when superior officers start to mingle in the day to day operations. ODA 574's tour in Afghanistan ends in tragedy.

The book is well written and Blehm has managed to keep it interesting on two levels. On one hand, The Only Thing Worth Dying For is a traditional war hero story, packed with adrenalin filled descriptions of firefights and cool military technology. Reading about a massive air operation against a hundred Taliban trucks threatening to overrun the unit's and their guerillas' positions, kept me glued to the book. It also gives a look into the politics inside the military.

However, the book has another background story; that of Hamid Karzai and the political situation in Afghanistan. Karzai in 2001 was just one Pashtun leader among many warlords, unknown internationally. Blehm's book sets the stage for Karzai's ascent to spokesman of the interim government in Afghanistan, and ultimately presidency of the country, his current position. The author gives a exceedingly positive picture of the Pashtun leader (as does Rashid), who has come under heavy criticism in recent years. In these uncertain early months of the Afghan-American offensive against the Taliban, Karzai is portrayed as the only possible leader for the whole country.

Blehm's writing style is quite light and despite being documentary, the book relies much on dialogue. There must be quite a lot of the author's influence in the story, but it makes this shortish book immensely readable. If you like books filled with machismo and modern warfare action and want to learn something about recent Afghan history at the same time, I can recommend this one!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 4, 2013
This is the 2nd book I have read from this Author (fearless the other book). I really enjoy his style of writing, it’s very detailed without being boring. I am not going to write a detailed review from start to finish but...

As you read through the chapters you begin to get an idea of this particular SF group of men. This is my first book about Green Berets and they seem to be different from other SF groups. They are very down to earth, quietly confident and no 'superman" stories.

SF group (ODA574) really are silent hero's, they have my upmost respect. Through the twists and turns of this book (really difficult to put this one down) you will be shocked at the outcome of the last battle and you will have much respect for these soldiers.

Well done Eric Blehm.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 19, 2015
Very well written in my opinion. It is straight to the point and the author is very bold in the way he writes which I love. It is very interesting, giving you a different side of the Army Special Operations community which I found fascinating. The story line however, starts a little slow and eventually, about 3/4 of the way in, the action picks up and all of a sudden the book is over. If you are looking for a lot of action, this would not be the first book I would pick up to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 4, 2016
Every American who worries about the larger long term effects of our decisions in the middle east should read this book. Whether or not we should have made the decisions we made, we decided as we did; we sent these guys, and every one of them was a hero.
They deserve every iota of respect and honor we can give them, and all the other veterans of these wars.
This is a gripping book about the realities of small unit combat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse