Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 116 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 152 reviews
on January 12, 2017
This movie didn't come out with a lot of hype. It's a Ron Howard movie and he hit a home run with this gem. Outstanding performances and an inside look at what happens behind the scenes to get to the "real story."

As a former journalist I appreciated the vibes and action taking place in the newsroom. Outstanding characters with a great sense of humor weaved into the dialogue. If you haven't seen this movie I highly recommend you add it to your list!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2016
I have loved this Ron Howard film since it was released. Michael Keaton, Marisa Tomei, Robert Duvall, Glenn Close and Randy Quaid lead a wonderful ensemble of actors in giving an enjoyably nuanced view of workplace dynamics that encompasses their personal lives. How news is flushed out and delivered, and its impact on societal issues is revealed in this well-paced story that fully realizes its dimensional characters. You will care about the people drawn here. This film has not gotten old, and it is great fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2015
If you like witty dialogue and great acting, this is a great film to check out. Michael Keaton is at his best here as a newspaper journalist whose wife (Marisa Tomei) is about to give birth to their first child while he prepares for an interview at a larger, more reputable paper, all while dealing with the hectic nature of the newspaper business.

The supporting cast here is incredible. Randy Quaid, Glenn Close, Robert Duval each turn in excellent performances behind Keaton, who is one of the most underrated actors in film history.

To me, I put this film over any of Ron Howard's other early films. It's a bit edgier than Parenthood, and Keaton is one of those actors who steals every scene he is in. It's a funny, intelligent, witty film with a huge supporting cast - highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2015
Of all Ron Howard's films, this one continues to be my favorite.

Yes, all the sometimes annoying Howardism are here: pattern transitions, witty quips, etc. But, the focus of the film—what it takes to issue a newspaper edition, (the film takes place over the course of one day), and the potentially damaging effects this has on staff members, reveals a truism regarding the work of good, and hard-earned journalism.

This is, though, a comedy. And, the serious focus is never undermined by the comic elements.

Finally, the ensemble case simply is wonderful—from Robert Duvall's curmudgeon-like Editor-in-Chief to Michael Keaton's "impulsive" Metro Editor.

Great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2017
Enjoyed this years ago....and still, today! Just plain, simple FUN! Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2016
Funniest movie ever. l laughed through it's entirety. Michael Keaton is terrific and Glenn Close does an exceptional job as a character to
dislike. Their continual conflicts throughout the move keep the suspense moving & you're wondering who will win out. They literally "throw
more than a few punches," .Can the world of newspaper reporting really be this cutthroat?? I'll watch this one many times over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2017
one of the worse movies of all time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2008
"Highly entertaining albeit thin journalism thriller" is the line from the product description ... I could not disagree more! It is, indeed, noir-less, and it does pack a ton into it's twenty-four hour time frame but this is a really good ensemble movie. The dialog carries the story along effortlessly and, for me, the mark of a good movie is the use of real characters at every level of the story ... even the air conditioner repairmen seem to be more than bodies adding to the realism of a busy newspaper office.

My favorite minor character is Robin, the extremely young photographer ("how old is Robin ... fourteen?") sent out to photograph the perp-walk pertaining to a highly volatile story that could lead to race-riots in the Williamsburg section of NYC in July. Her scenes consist of that marvelous combination of high anxiety fraught with humor (not the other way around!)

Marisa Tomei as Martha, the hugely pregnant, reporter-on-maternity-leave wife of Henry (Michael Keaton), metro editor, is just fabulous in this role. Right from the get-go ("Nice pajamas, Henry" as the alarm goes off and Marty sees her husband sacked out on top of the bed in his work clothes) she creates enormous sympathy for her character without manipulating the audience. Glenn Close is just great as Alicia, the overspending, unfaithful, minor NYC celebrity wanna-be albeit talented, pragmatic businesswoman in charge of keeping the paper from going into bankruptcy every month. Randy Quaid, as MacDougall, gets more info-gathering done dozing on the couch while half listening to the police scanner in Henry's office than the reporters are managing out on the streets. The Sandusky side story for MacDougall's character is hysterical, with a truly scary-funny fight scene involving a gun. Robert Duvall takes the stereotype of Bernie, the hard-bitten, chain-smoking, borderline alcoholic, dissipated Editor in Chief of the paper and gives it the Duvall magic. The Pablo Picasso speech to Alicia is one of my favorite scenes in the movie. Last, but not least, is Michael Keaton as Henry, the manic, multitasking, "we're not getting our butts kicked today" Metro editor of The Paper. That bit of casting was just perfect. He doesn't struggle with anything until the movie reaches its climax. He just bulldozes through objections to his modus operendi as so many gnats that have to be swatted away. "I don't f***ing live in the f***ing world, I live in f***ing New York City!!!" he screams into the phone, while his long-suffering secretary (another fantastic character) looks on and utters, "Well, that went well." The two young men whose hapless "wrong place, wrong time" situation lands them in jail on murder charges are the most serious characters in the movie. Their plight is conveyed to the audience in brief, but powerful, scenes, making the viewer anxious for the paper to get it right.

I think the "thinness" criticism of The Paper and the criticism that Ron Howard's choice of film vehicles makes for a "vanilla" movie comes from the notion that ambiguity and unresolved angst are stock-in-trade atmospheric requirements for a film about a gritty NYC tabloid commuter paper. Mr. Howard has taken a lightening rod of a racial story, broken air-conditioning, lots of inter-character tension and camaraderie at all levels of office personnel, dumb luck, ergonomic chairs, illness, pregnancy, journalism, estrangement in both the short and long term, murder, shootings, birth, competition, love, ambition ... and has used it all to create a movie where the lives and reputations of two young men hang in the balance while the clock ticks and we slowly learn that truth itself turns out to be The Paper's main character.

One of my favorite movies!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2012
I spent my career in newspapers and over the years have collected movies related to the field. The Paper is one of my favorites. Sure, there were impossible situations, like Michael Keaton taking it down to the wire with a breaking story or a reporter firing a gun in the newsroom with no blow back from the HR department, but it's a great movie for newspaper junkies like myself who miss the drama and passion that's sadly gone from many news operations, resulting in today's newspapers with their sloppy reporting and stories that aren't compelling (and they wonder why newspapers are dying). We need more editors like Henry!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2013
Some say it's a little weak, and others, who don't like any of Ron Howard's movies, hate it.
I love it. I love MIchael Keaton. I worked at a newspaper - although small - and this hits it on the head. It's a crazy world, and from my perspective, journalists are crazy people. This movie completely tackles that. It's fast moving, you have to pay attention. There is a love story, politics, a woman in power who completely screws up her validation, a whiner who only wants to be heard (we've all worked with that guy).
It's not rocket surgery, but it's a lot of fun to watch!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$11.99

Need customer service? Click here