Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. STEM $34.99 for a limited time only Handmade Last Minute Gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon life life life  All-new Echo Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on June 20, 2014
Very informative. I thought I knew a lot about Tienanmen before, but this book gave me much new information. I knew nothing about the situation in Chengdu, which I found particularly interesting because I lived in that city for several years. Her views on how Tienanmen changed contemporary China were thought-provoking. I would have given it 5 stars except that it is somewhat repetitive in order to make it book-length.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 25, 2017
Fast and convenient! Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 13, 2017
Fascinating update
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 12, 2015
Although there are many books written about these events, I had not read any of them..I followed situation day by day, but it was very good to get her perspective on the period and I was impressed with the number of references she made to other writers and their contributions to her story. I thought it was a fascinating account of an event that has been buried in history. Thoroughly ended this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 23, 2016
Excellent and accurate. Unbiased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 11, 2015
After reading I wonder why the U.S. does business with them. The brutality is stunning from start to finish. Well written.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 9, 2014
Well written and researched. A sober and troubling description of a major player on the world stage.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 3, 2014
superb narrative of political turning point in modern Chinese history by NPR's long-time Beijing correspondent (and my colleague). Filled with intriguing and insightful characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 22, 2016
Fully satisfied.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 2, 2014
Excellent! She has done good research and makes the entire incident come alive!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse