Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Political Economy of Media: Enduring Issues, Emerging Dilemmas
Your Garage Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
7
5 star
86%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
14%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$26.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 9, 2008
Robert W. McChesney (Professor in the Department of Communication, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign) presents The Political Economy of the Media: Enduring Issues, Emerging Dilemmas, a sharply worded critique of how journalism has decayed in today's modern, overly commercialized culture. On the bright side, an emerging media reform movement has arrived in response to the degraded ability of the modern media to be a watchdog for democracy and consumers. An in-depth social treatise concerning the crucial role the media plays in human society worldwide, The Political Economy of the Media is highly recommended especially for college library collections, as well as political science and media studies scholars.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2013
I couldn't recommend this book strongly enough.

It connects vital issues to their broader context and points out the implications of media trends in recent decades. It is well-researched and authoritative, written in clear, lucid, compelling prose.

The book addresses a wide variety of topics, including the film industry, journalism, television news, corporate consolidation of media, and the radio. The author places the media industries in broad historical context and helps you understand their evolution and its implications for our society. Truly an important book for our age.

If you buy only one book on media issues, I would recommend this one. I learned something important on every page.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2008
Don't let the title of the review fool you; the reviews on the back of the book assure me that it's a thrill to read for the master media critic, as well, but since I know next to nothing about contemporary media criticism, I can only view it through the novice lens. Let me finish my preface by saying that I'm reading this book because I'm in the author's course on "Money, Media, and Power"

McChesney classifies himself as a Political Economist of Media: a member of the class of media critics who aren't afraid to scrutinize the structure of the media, economy, and political system being analyzed. By viewing the most pressing issues in communications today without being afraid to examine the role of the institutions the issues are situated in, Political Economists of Media in general and McChesney in particular are able to gain a perspective that is both unusually broad and long.

The result is that the book raises profoundly under-asked questions that address core issues facing every member of American society, and the book hints at solutions that might rely on incredibly radical reforms. However, if you read the book objectively, you'll be more convinced than ever that our system is fatally flawed and the only types of reforms that will work will be very radical indeed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2013
I had to order this book for a class and I really enjoyed the book. The book is not written in textbook format which is great so you won't be falling asleep while you read it. Def. recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2008
McChesney's book has the power to ignite a strong movement against the corporate control of mass media institutions. It is one of the most pressing and relevant issues faced by the world that demands immediate action and active campaigning.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2009
Academics in the field of media and communication must read this book. Read it, and you will know why I recommend this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2009
I posted the following review of McChesney's previous incarnation of this book, "Rich Media, Poor Democracy":

"This book contains a gross error of an incident about me that was widely, and accurately, covered by other media, most notably the Washington Post and Columbia Journalism Review. (See "Blasting the Boss in Boston", Stephen J. Simurda, Columbia Journalism Review, September 2000.) I contacted McChesney when I discovered it; he apologized and said he would correct it in any future editions of this book. There have, however, been no future editions and it would be good of him to uphold the journalistic responsibility about which he so passionately preaches by providing an insert to any copies sold. I have no knowledge that he has done so. Readers should therefore be forewarned of the scholarly deficiency of this work."

Well, guess what? The new book is copyrighted 2008 - at least six years after our conversation - and contains the same error. This is beyond unacceptable and renders worthless any criticism McChesney may have of the evils of mainstream media or whatever he is railing about. Ridiculous.
55 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse