Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 29 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 53 reviews
on October 10, 2014
In my opinion this album proved Dragonforce is more than just "that band who makes video game noises". They stripped away all the crazy guitar noises on this album, shortened the songs/solos but tightened the song writing, made the production a bit more raw than the previous album and added a new singer on this album. It all adds up to one of their best albums ever. There isn't a bad track on this album! It seems to be trendy among some heavy metal fans to bash these guys but they really don't deserve it. There is a ton of horrible pop music out there that deserves the vitriol more than Dragonforce does. I think Dragonforce are on a roll with their new singer with this album and their new one Maximum Overload. Both are fantastic and are proving Dragonforce to be more than the one trick pony that many make them out to be. So yeah, if you like fast and melodic heavy metal then this album is a no brainer! You need to own it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2013
I don't usually critique albums very minutely, as I generally use music as a background environmental presence. Unlike some of my friends who listen to/analyze albums as one would critique a movie. But here it goes.

The standout track for me is Cry Thunder. Upbeat (the tone/key of the song instead of the actual beat speed... we all know what Dragonforce is about =P), catchy lyrics. I feel like I need to learn the words so I can sing along, something I don't usually feel the need for.

On the other hand, the rest of the tracks range from "Great" to "Just Pretty Good". I can't think of any I skip, but they don' stand out particularly; all of the normal tracks will go into my "Rockin" playlist along with the rest of my Dragonforce tracks.

There are four 'bonus' tracks that consist of live rehearsals and instrumentals. I have never been a fan of Live stuff, so consider that when I say I am not very enthusiastic about those. The Instrumental track on the other hand is pretty good, and a huge departure from the normal sound. I find myself listening to it pretty closely when it comes on.

EDIT: After listening to the album a whole lot more, I changed the 4 star review to a 5 I liked it so much. In addition to Cry Thunder, Last Man Stands is epic as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2012
ZP was well regarded as the key to the popularity of dragonforce since its inception in spite of the distinguished fast guitar riffs and solos that depict the image of dragonforce. However, Marc Hudson didn't sabotage the fame dragonforce has maintained over years. His brilliant voice arguably shows the talent and capability he's able to carry on without the original frontman. This new chapter of dragonforce shall be acknowledged soon enough worldwide because of its new style and voice that shall vibrate into the ears of millions of people awaiting for this epic journey of sound.

The overall sound of the album resembles their previous work with ZP. However, at a bit slower speed for the majority of their songs. The powerful melodic singing and guitar riffs have shown the band has depart from their original ultra-fast riffs and solos into a more mainstream, modern, and melodic tones of the 21st century metal. I personally find this album very pleasing to the ears. It's definitely worth the shot for anyone who loves metal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
Dragon Force is a band that does not disappoint when you want to hear speed metal with improved lyrics. The Power Within does not disappoint in any fashion on that note: you will probably give yourself a migraine trying to headbang to this CD, should you feel skippy enough to try.

On the songs themselves, all are good or better, but the four that stand out the most are tracks 3, 4, 6, and 8. The acoustic version of Seasons is a bit slower, but still good if you want to mix it up a bit. Track 8 in particular will have you singing along after you've heard it a couple times, it is that good.

If you're a fan of Dragon Force, a speed metal aficionado, or have been haunted by their appearances in Guitar Hero that you've become obsessed with DF in a twisted sort of way, this album is well worth your time and your dime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2012
This album didn't have as much power in the composition as i was expecting in a Dragonforce release, but it's still a recommended listen for any fan. I'd group The Power Within with Sonic Firestorm in that it has a combination of high energy peices and (relatively) mellow peices. It's not as heavy as Inhuman Rampage or as cracked-out as Ultra Beatdown, but it's a great album with its own unique flavor. Not to mention boasting an acoustic version of "seasons" (acoustic Dragonforce is a first for me). My favorite song is definitely "Heart of the Storm" because it reminds me of "Fury of the Storm"... at least they still do repetitve name schemes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2015
DragonForce delivers everything on this album combining elements of Iron Maiden and Judas Priest along with DragonForce's signature fantasy lyrics, this most certainly is a welcome follow up to 2008's Ultra Beatdown, and with the addition of Marc Hudson taking over as vocalist, sees the band having a much stronger metal sound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2014
Just absolutely awesome group. As an inspiring guitarist I am absolutely fascinated by how fast they are able to play scales and switch flawlessly from 1 handed strum to double handed hammer ons and back again without missing a single beat. There drummer is crazy too being able to play as fast as he does and having a million different crashes lol. Great group and hope they keep doing awesome songs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2013
I know many people said that DragonForce would never be as good without their front man ZP, but you are wrong! It is just as DragonForce said when he left the band, it will be a different sound, but just as good. I would totally agree. Marc Hudson is a completely different singer than ZP, but he still compliments this band, and it is a new sound for them totally worth owning if you are a true fan of DragonForce!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2014
With new lead singer Marc Hudson's voice blowing out of your speakers, you might perceive an adjusted style off this album, but Dragonforce's hyper solos can still be felt. The band recorded two versions of "Seasons" on this project, with the 2nd being acoustic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2017
Great CD by Dragonforce.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse