Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Prepare Curriculum: Teaching Prosocial Competencies Revised by Arnold P. Goldstein (Revised)
Your Garage Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Dolly Parton Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 21, 2000
My supervisor lent me this book and it has been a great help! It has practical ideas that require little or no preparation (both for individual and group work). It has been helpful with elementary through high school students. Well worth the money!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2008
Goldstein presents a structured, lesson-by-lesson curriculum designed for group therapy in schools. The lessons are cognitive-behavioral in orientation, and include educating the group members about the connections between thoughts, feelings, and behavior; self-monitoring and self-reinforcing; homework between sessions using structured worksheets; and social problem-solving training. Lessons take the form of didactic instruction, group discussions, and role-play. For those interested, he also provides ample references to lots of supporting research. I have used it successfully with groups of kids in grades 7-12. Good stuff for professionals working in schools and for training future professionals.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2008
I am a school psychologist. I used this book for small group counseling with students that needed direct instruction with learning social skills, some special ed and some regular ed students. Each skill is clearly laid out, easy to teach and practice. The students I taught learned the skills. I love this book and will continue to use it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2002
The theoretical and research background presented in this book is excellent. A clear and concise discussion of all of the relelvant research supporting Goldstein's various interventions is given. The book does all this while staying focused on the cognitive-social-skills training of youth which is its subject.
I wish I had found this book prior to doing my own research in aggression and anger management. It would certainly have made the lit. review a lot easier.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2014
This book is very clearly laid out. Assessments for teacher, parent and student determine the degree of need for each social skill. Behaviour modifications, session plans, and tons of information are included for each skill. The length of the book ( almost 900 pages) is a bit daunting at first, but the professional is able to skip to the sections of interest easily. This book is recommended for teachers, special education resource teachers and other professionals that are responsible for teaching social skills to elementary children in preparation for navigating through the teen years and beyond.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2013
My school worked with the book "Aggression Replacement Therapy" last school year. I found it difficult to apply it to my students and most of the scenarios had to be rewritten to make them appropriate for my students. The "Prepare Curriculum" solved all the problems. The scenarios are more age appropriate, there are more areas covered, and, overall, it seems more complete. I would recommend the book for anyone working with children who are emotionally handicapped.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2013
Great for behavior intervention program teaching social-emotional learning in a academic environment along with collaborative problem solving, this is helpful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2013
very helpful. This has great ideas and information in it. It has been very useful and will continue to be more so
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2013
It is not a bad product, just did not meet my expectations. I am not working with groups and many of the activities were for groups.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2014
i can't wait to use this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse