Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Prepper's Pocket Guide: 101 Easy Things You Can Do to Ready Your Home for a Disaster
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Water Sports STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 19, 2011
I am not usually a fan of the 'dummy's guide to....' or '101 easy steps to...' kind of book. This excellent little handbook is a rare exception. Well written and broken down into logical subject headings it is a great checklist for the seasoned prepper to see if their preps are as complete as they think. Have you really checked to see if you have everything needed to cook that food you stored? Really? Going through the food section will help double check what you have.

For the beginner who is overwhelmed by the idea that they have to go out and get a year's supply of food at $1300 per person this little book is the answer. Simply put, don't waste your money. The guide leads through easy stages to find what you need, where to get it, and how to store it. No huge outlays - you can successfully prep on $5 a week and this guide shows you how.

In each major area, the book takes you through the essentials and shows you what you need and how to get it. There is no attempt to sell you on this gizmo or that food supplier. It is a simple straightforward look at those things that one needs should the support structure that we have grown accustom to disappear.

Now, for the draw back. One of the reasons I am not a fan of most guides is that they don't contain enough detail. While this guide is better than most, no pocket guide can contain the background information that will help you understand the 'why' of something. It can tell you to use unscented chlorine bleach to make your water safe to drink but doesn't go into detail as what is wrong with the lemon scented stuff in the laundry room. It is a minor point and I would hope all readers would get interested and seek more information in every area. While I found the book accurate and often offering alternatives to critical needs, my bias says that being informed of the 'why' of a thing better equips you for survival.

With that caveat, this little guide is very helpful for both old and new preppers alike. It is small enough to be carried (do you remember EXACTLY how much bleach to use per gallon of water? It's in the book) so it should always be available. It is a great refresher for things you already know and a really solid checklist to see if there are any gaping holes in your preps.

The price is very reasonable and you can have a hard copy and a copy on your Kindle for under $20. I highly recommend it as an easy read with a great deal of information that just might keep you or a loved one alive.
22 comments| 379 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2011
Sometimes prepping can become overwhelming. It's difficult to put a plan or checklist down on paper, and then apply a timeline to it. There's just so much to do! It's practically impossible to focus on every area of prepping at once. Consequently, you may be sacrificing security preparedness while focusing on long-term food storage, for example. Frequently while working on one thing, I'll realize there's another area that I've been neglecting. I'll make a mental note to tackle it next, but then often forget about it (I'm no spring chicken!). Several times now, I've intended to make myself sit down and write out a checklist. But as soon as I get started, the enormity of what needs to be covered quickly intimidates me.

Enter this nifty little book. The author has taken general emergency preparedness, and broken it down into 8 key areas, making it much easier to see the big picture. At the same time, the book acts as a checklist and/or plan for my prepping, which helps me keep all areas in mind even while focusing on one component at a time.

This book is not the be-all, end-all on the subject of prepping: it would be impractical for the author to try to cover each topic she presents in-depth. Some topics require--and are given--more coverage than others. What this book does do is give anyone interested in preparedness a foundation on which he can build to meet his own needs.

I, for one, have gone through the book, highlighting areas and ideas the author presents that I can utilize to improve my preparations. I'm sure before long the margins of my copy will be filled with notes. This book would be good to give as a gift, if you're looking for a way to introduce others to emergency preparedness, but is also a good resource for those already knowledgeable about the subject, as it condenses a large amount of information into one small package.
0Comment| 144 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I try to be ready for any situation that may come my way. Storms, floods, hurricanes, unemployment; anything can happen. I am amassing a large collection of books from all my reading about becoming self-sufficient. I have books on canning, cooking, camping, chickens, goats, pigs, farming, gardening, solar, green energy, survival... You get the point. I always encourage people to be self-sufficient and to be prepared for any situation. I am so glad I found this Pocket Guide, because it really packs so much into a nice neat package. When people ask me what they should do to be prepared for anything, I will just hand them a copy of the Prepper's Pocket Guide. It will be easier than trying to explain everything, which I would probably do in a way that would intimidate them.

This book taught me things I did not know and reminded me of things I don't want to ever forget. This book will encourage you to get prepared, because each of the 101 things listed are so doable! If you do just half the things listed in this book and a disaster never happens, you would not regret it and your Grand-maw and Grand-paw would be proud of you. You will live a more relaxed life knowing you can take care of yourself, your family and even your dog or cat. I know one thing, I can't wait to try roasting my own coffee beans over a camp fire and following the instructions in the guide to make the perfect cup of coffee. When everything has gone wrong, who says you can't enjoy the good things in life.
22 comments| 154 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2013
This is truly a "pocket guide" as the title states. It covers quite a bit of information without going too deep and is divided into bite-sized segments/projects that are easy to do and apply.

Where I think this book really stands out is in the sections that pertain to water and food acquisition, storage, and preparation. I would estimate that approximately 50% of the projects in this book are dedicated to these subjects in one way or another. This may seem a little out of proportion until you think of the importance of these areas.

The other projects vary widely from fitness reality checks to waste disposal and much more. Many of the projects may seem simplistic and common sense, but it is nice to have them all listed and organized in one place to make sure that they aren't missed.

This book was well formatted for the kindle with the ability to quickly skip from chapter to chapter and access the linked Table Of Contents. This is essential for a reference book like this "pocket guide" and allows the reader to come back and quickly reference the different sections later.

This book is highly recommended for:
- Anyone looking for projects to help them prepare for disasters
- Anyone who wants to find out more information about water and food acquisition, storage, and preparation
- Anyone who is looking for a broad overview guide to get them started prepping

If you enjoy reading about survival and prepping, I also recommend Ultralight Survival: Make a Small and Light Bug Out Bag That Could Save Your Life for specific advice on creating the lightest and most efficient bug-out-bag possible (yes, written by yours truly).
11 comment| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2011
I really enjoyed reading The Prepper's Pocket Guide.

It is aimed for the complete beginner and it is divided into eight sections: getting started, financial readiness, water needs, food supplies, ready your home, personal health and safety, when the power is out, and when you have to get out. Under each category there are several short topical articles that teach you how to do something or give you a list of important supplies to assemble.

Step by step instructions are given in a simple, non-scary way. I really appreciate this because a lot of books and resources you find on the internet are geared toward people who are only interested in really advanced survival skills. Besides being too expensive for the average individual, these sorts of things can really turn off the beginner and make them feel that it is pointless to even get started. The author also thought of important topics that mamy people wouldn't necessarily think of when it comes to preparedness, such as how to purchase footwear and prep for your pets.

Another thing I like about this book is that it you don't need to read it all at once. It is easy to look up what you are interested in and read just about that topic without losing continuity. Some of my favorite topics are avoiding common prepper mistakes, assembling a desk survival kit (for your cubicle at work), and how to assemble a 72-hour survival kit. The author tries to make each topic very accessible, often suggesting lower cost alternatives. Besides cutting costs, she also suggests low-space ways that people in apartments or other small spaces can prepare.

This book really provides a good starting point for anyone considering how to become more prepared for life. It would also make a good gift for anyone you care about.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
What great little book! These days everyone is talking about prepping and yet so many people think that prepper's are gun toting weirdo's that wear camouflage clothing 24/7. Of course nothing could be further from the truth and this book proves it.

I found "The Prepper's Pocket Guide" to be chock full of sensible and practical tips for both new and experienced preppers. The best part is that most of the tips described cost very little money and many can be implemented for free using everyday household items.

Here is why I love this book:

1. The tips are short and to the point. No extra fluff - just simple, easy to follow techniques for accomplishing a myriad of prepping goals.

2. The practical tips are universally applicable to a wide variety of living situations, including city and apartment dwellers that may not have a lot of extra space available for their emergency supplies.

3. Big bucks are not required. None of the tips in this book require a fat bank account. As a matter of fact, many of the tips are of the do-it-yourself type that require common household items and no extra cash at all.

4. No doom and gloom, no end of the world, no SHTF. This book is upbeat and upfront when describing prepping as an adjunct to insurance.

5. The tips apply to day to day life where accidents, storms and insecurities about jobs and the economy are a reality. The Prepper's Pocket Guide is about being ready for the unexpected with a security blanket of preparedness strategies and tools.

There are a number survival guides out there but most are either highly technical or such thick tomes that they are intimidating to someone just getting started. This is the perfect book for the beginning prepper although there is plenty of useful material for the experienced prepper as well.

This is a book everyone should have in their library. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2011
I've been reading the author's Apartment Prepper blog since she began posting and have enjoyed reading her thoughts on the topic of prepardness from the perspective of an urban apartment dweller rather than the typical wilderness survival guru or retreat survivalist living in an isolated bunker in the middle of nowhere. She relates to many readers who may not be interested in that kind of hard-core survival by describing her own journey that began with a growing feeling insecurity in an uncertain world and how she started taking the steps to address her concerns for herself and her family. I am pleased to see that journey lead to this excellent book that I think will benefit her blog readers and many, many more people who may not have given this topic serious thought because of misconceptions they may have about preppers. She dispels many common myths about prepping right in the beginning, such as: Prepping is Expensive, Prepping Takes Too Much Time, You Need a Lot of Space for Storage, You Need a Farm or Retreat Location, and Prepping Will Turn Me Into One of Those Crackpots Living in a Cabin in the Woods, Dressed in Military Gear and Threatening People with Explosives.

I really like the format of this book because it is just what the title says it is: a pocket guide packed with useful information that spans just about every aspect of survival and disaster planning. Each of the 101 tips is solidly researched and clearly presented in a way that is easy to read and easy to understand. While no pocket guide can go into great depth in any one subject area, the value of this book is that it introduces readers to ideas and concepts they may never have considered, opening the door to further research and reading on the topics they want to know more about. Some of the major sections include: Financial Readiness, Water Needs, Food Supplies and Personal Health and Safety.

As the author of Bug Out: The Complete Plan for Escaping a Catastrophic Disaster Before It's Too Late, I especially liked Chapter Eight: When You Have to Get Out. The tips in this section distill the essential elements of bugging out of a danger zone in a few short pages but manage to cover all the important points like what to pack in a bug-out bag, transportation, safety, exit routes, communication and navigation.

Whether you plan to bug-in, bug-out or just want to learn more about what this "prepping" movement is all about, I highly recommend The Prepper's Pocket Guide as an addition to your library.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2012
I am a Prepper by every definition and I have purchased over a dozen of these books as gifts and guides to friends and coworkers trying to take steps to have normal, everyday preparations in place for the most likely events that would require someone to fall back on their own self-reliance. It is a simple and thoughtful book of basics that I found beneficial to regular everyday people as well as myself. So many of the Prepper material deals with worse case scenarios and global life changing events whereas this book takes you through the common sense and realistic basics to get you ready for most events. It gives good solid and sound advice and steps towards prepping and basic self reliance and delivers it in a friendly, factual manner without any hype or in a demeaning manner. This is the book for everyone who wants to be prepared for the most likely events to occur to everyday Americans. It does not make a political stand or wrap itself in a religious message when explaining steps and strategies. It is not designed to give you the steps to start your own bug out retreat and commune, fend off invading hostile nations invading American, bad guys coming to steal your supplies and kill off the neighbors or the military tactics and strategies afforded to Special Warfare operatives. It is for people who have budgets and live in an everyday society that want to be able to deal with natural disasters, loss of jobs or property and the more serious events other than The End Of The World As We Know It. I would recommend it to everyone other than the most hardcore of Preppers, Survivalists, Paramilitary and Anti-Government Anarchists.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2012
As other reviewers have pointed out, this is not the book you need to prepare for the end of the world. This book is more directed to less apocalyptic events, like losing power for a week or more, hurricanes, earthquakes, etc. The author is also realistic enough to start with the premise that the most likely "emergency" any of us is going to have is going to be a financial one. Much less interesting than teotwawki, but much, much more likely to happen. That's the essence of smart prepping - start with what is most likely to happen, get ready to deal with that, then work down the list to more exotic disasters.

I have been reading prepper/emergency books for awhile, and though I have definitely not read every book on the topic, this seems like an excellent book to start with. The author is especially smart about preparing within a normal budget - most of us do not have several thousand dollars lying around, but we can probably (hopefully?) find $20-$50 a month to slowly build up first a week's worth of food, and then a month's worth of food. Unfortunately, though, I think the estimates for food costs in the shopping budget the author lays out are a little unrealistic. I can't buy chicken soup for 50 cents a can.

This book did teach me all sorts of interesting things, like that every household actually has 40-80 gallons of emergency water storage... its in your the hot water heater. And that you do not need a yogurt maker to make yogurt. There are good lists for "get out of dodge" bags, first aid kits, car emergency kits and more. You'll also learn how to follow the north star, make a solar still and a solar oven, and even learn basic land to air signal signs so you can tell a helicopter whether you're okay or if someone needs medical care.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2012
I don't have anything negative to say about the book. It is an collections of topics. Perfect for flipping through in a waiting room or something. Short chapters and it fits right in your cargo pocket. whole book took about an hour to read. Lots of references and websites listed in the back. Not a keeper for me and I intend to donate it to the library this weekend for someone starting out to have. She did point out things about having brownies and snacks for kids to make an unpleasant event seem like a fun adventure instead. Has a handful of other/alt uses for household goods as well.
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse