Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 221-230 of 880 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,012 reviews
on February 4, 2016
great insights into the relationships of the President's Club. Very interesting connection to historical events that changed the policy pathway of many efforts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2016
This is a fascinating insight - into history, personalities and power. It's really well written and kept my interest from start to finish
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2013
What a great book. It covers history that occurred during my lifetime, yet most of it escaped me. Books like this show why you cannot trust media and commentators that are contemporary with history as it happens. Too much is covered up or classified. Thanks to the authors for bringing to light stories that explain and uncover events that seem puzzling at the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2014
Whoever thought to write this book was a genius! It is a fascinating and revealing book into the workings of the presidency. I hated it to end as I would love to heard more about our current president. It is reassuring to realize that the president does have someone to talk to who has been there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2012
An interesting and very readable history of the relationships between past and current presidents. For me it was quite an education in politics and such an appropriate subject for the current election year. Nancy Gibbs certainly has done her homework and translated what could be a very dry subject into a page turner. The Presidents Club: Inside the World's Most Exclusive Fraternity
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2013
Exceptionally well written and revealing look into how Presidents operate, think and interact with each other. I was very surprised at the relationships and unlikely allies. This book perfectly illustrates the difference between our publicized media view of politics and the lifelong relationships that make our governing system actually function, warts and all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2013
What an outstanding book! Authors really did their research. I always knew of the "club," but wasn't aware to the degree of how much help past presidents actually helped a sitting president. And all the negative campaigning is all forgotten ... well, mostly. This is a must read for anyone interested in American History, or even Political Science.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2012
In this period of divisive and vicious political wrangling, comes a book that teaches us respect and appreciation of true patriots. Most of our ex-presidents became friends and worked together for the common good. In this day and age, truly a remarkable feat. Wish our Representatives and Senators would read it--especially those who are adverse to any sensible solutions!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2012
No matter what side of the political aisle your are on you will enjoy this book. To hear how former presidents still stayed in the game was fascinating. How they interacted with each other was enlightening. I never realized how much Richard Nixon stayed informed with what was going on in the world and sharing his thoughts with those who followed after him.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2016
A very timely read. What new presidents find they need to learn after they have campaigned as if they knew it all -- and who stands ready to help and why.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse