Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 31 reviews
on October 26, 2013
I absolutely loved The President's Team. Despite the subtitle, the focus is really on the Navy football team, particularly the amazing 1963 team.

It's mostly a sports book, with some history and politics thrown in.

Besides the Navy team itself, every contact the team had with JFK, such as his visit to their practice in Rhode Island in 1962, either personally or by mail, was discussed in depth. How JFK, as commander in chief, would try, unsuccessfully, to remain impartial but his time as a Navy officer during WW2 showed his true loyalties.

The author unearthed some amazing facts, such as the postponed Army/Navy game saw the introduction of TV instant replay (viewers were baffled because it came without much warning).

In the back of the book, the author does a "where are they now" for each member of the 1963 Navy football team (41 of the 44 players, I think), talking about their military and post-military careers. Three died while serving in the military and five eventually became admirals.

This is an extremely interesting, informative book about an angle of history I've heard little about. Highly recommended!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2017
I bought this for my father in law who graduated from The Naval Academy in the 60's and was actually at the game detailed in this book. He told me that it took him back, and he couldn't put it down once he started reading it. I personally did not read it, but to have that sort of testament from someone who was actually in the stands and was so captivated by the book seems to me to be a huge thumbs up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2009
If you have an interest in the famous Inter-Service rivalry, the Army/Navy game, I would highly recommend "The President's Team." The book describes, in interesting detail, all the football games played by Navy during the 1963 season, exactly 46 years since the assassination Of President Kennedy, himself, a WWII Naval hero. The book explains the relationship between "the Army Game" and the political climate of the time - a perfect blend of History and the lore of Service Academy football. Of particular interest to me was the section entitled "Where Are They Now." The author, Michael Connelly, devotes ample space to a series of thumbnail sketches of all the players associated with the 1963 team, since their graduation from the Naval Academy.

This book is a perfect Christmas gift for those readers interested in service academy athletic activities and their impact on World History of that era.

Dr. Ken Miller
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2013
Michael Connelly has captured all the cliched nuances of Navy football, from the football coaches' trite expressions to his own descriptions. What is missing is real life.

True, a Navy fan will love the itemizing of each game and the naming of key players.

True, Ted Kennedy writes a good Forward to the book.

True, the photos of John Kennedy are rather rare.

But overall, Connelly's style is wooden and wordy. Not a page-turner.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2014
I thoroughly enjoy reading about the President's team. Anything that provides more information about the Army-Navy Game is very interesting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2010
This is a genuinely wonderful book about one of the greatest college football teams ever to take to the gridiron. It also is about the wonderful relationship that they all had with President John F. Kennedy. With Roger Staubach as their QB and a host of amazing Middies, this team won the hearts of all America, despite injuries and the tragic assassination of their greatest fan. It also tells what the members of the team are doing today. Wonderful read, even for the non football fan.
I remember watching their games on TV and loved all the players since I have connections with the NAVY and love to visit Annapolis.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2010
Michael Connelly captures the heart and soul of Navy's 1963 football team. As a player on that team I found his research to be outstanding in every respect. I also learned some information on Kennedy's assassination that had not passed by me before. This is a great book for those whose memories return to football in the 1960's when the college level was still seen as separate from the professional side. It is a very good read. Alex Krekich
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2014
Joe Faller read this book.
In Nov. of 63 I was i the Navy. I was a Naval Academy Football fan yrs. It was a sad day for me. The mention of all the old players stirred great memories.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2013
Having been a member of the class of 1965 at the Naval Academy and vividly remembering our football team's great season in 1963 and the assassination of President Kennedy the same year, I was intrigued when I discovered this book. Actually I was looking for books from the other Michael Connelly and this one popped up. I don't think the book will have mass appeal however.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2009
A marvelous story, full of fascinating information and the clear emotional pull of JFK"S drawing to Navy, though earnestly responding to his duty as The Commander in Chief of all the services in as unbiased a way as he could. His tragic death, and the decision by the Kennedy family to insist that the game be played, was a gift to the nation,a symbol of courage,and an instant renewal of the spirit of a dazed population. A unique and proud moment in our history. A book to be cherished and read again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here