Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Acoutsic Christmas STEM $34.99 for a limited time only Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on December 19, 2013
This is a great follow up to Dr. Stiglitz "Fair Trade for All". The warnings he issued were not taken seriously and now we are paying the price of the inequality created through unrestrained globalization. The saving grace of a democracy is that the populist can change the economic rules of the game as has occured in the past. Robert Reich calls this the societal "Break Fix" or "Break" for social stability.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 11, 2012
Stiglitz provides us with a masterful review of the social and economic factors that have lead to dramatic increases in inequality of wealth over the past several decades. He demonstrates how the foundations of this inequality are not necessarily completely rooted in tax policies. A major factor resulting in inequality has been the growth in economic rents that transfer wealth from the little folks to the already wealthy.

His explanations are clear and articulate. He provides a number of direct actions that could be taken in the near term to reverse the growth of inequality to dramatically benefit the middle and lower class while ensuring vigorous economic growth. Such growth would also, over time, benefit the upper classes.

This is the best review of this topic that I have seen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 22, 2014
A really amazing discussion of the most important threat to our economy and suggestions as to its solution. Such discrepancies in a civilization can lead to revolutions by a frustrated majority. This problem must be addressed or we will be in real trouble.Unfortunately those at the top will fight any change, as for them "net worth"is what they see as " self worth".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 3, 2015
Stiglitz has laid out the inequality problem and now I see he has another book out. that hs ideas about what should be done to remedy our situation. His use of the word PRICE means we all pay for the results of the inequality. I read the book to my husband who doesn't see well as it seemed such an important message.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 4, 2014
This book clearly exposes the unamerican power and influence meted out by the top 1%. It calls for a comprehensive American revolution in an effort to return to the basic principles of which the nation was founded. The poor class is being trampled upon while the middle is being hollowed out. This book clearly exposes how the agenda of the right is narrowly focused on the preservation American inequality.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 12, 2017
an important read in this era, by a very credible source.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 22, 2016
My recommendation could hardly add anything of value to this great piece of research. It is shaping policy and academic work globally.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 27, 2014
Pity that so few economists seem to take the government to task.

Steiglitz is doing his bit.

We need more economists to engage.

:-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 22, 2017
starts out pretty depressing, but ends with some tangible steps to make it better. well written, easy to read, lots of references.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 18, 2015
Repetitive in style but valuable in pointing out the many advantages of equitable wealth distribution. Trickle down is a dangerous myth.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse