Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite Game of Thrones: The Complete Seasons 1-7 now available on Blu-ray and DVD Shop now TG18SW_gno



on December 3, 2015
I've grown up watching the movie roughly 396 times a year and will always deem it as my all-time most favorite movie ever. So naturally, when I found out that the movie was actually based on a novel, I had to have it. My biggest fear was that it would be a watered down version of the movie with less humor and wit, or that the movie took the best parts and the book would be mostly unsatisfying filler with the occasional recognizable humor. I couldn't have been more wrong.

I daresay the book has even more humor and more wit than the film adaptation. William Goldman's story telling is pure genius, writing from a satirical 1st person perspective of how he created an abridged version of an old non-fictional book from a fictional country written by a fictional author. As you read through the "abridged version" you will frequently stumble across familiar lines you've come to love from the film ("INCONCEIVABLE!") but with slight variations in certain parts (ex. a more detailed story of how Wesley and Buttercup fall in love on the farm), and often times even more brilliant substance added to classic scenes you already love (Prince Humperdink's Zoo of Death).

You also gain a better understanding of the film and why certain scenes play out the way that they do, such as why Inigo drunkenly yells out to Vizzini that he's going "back to the beginning" and the backstories to both Inigo and Fezzik beginning from childhood.

After reading the book you'll have a newfound appreciation for the movie which you'll see is a fantastic adaptation, and you'll have a fantastic time wrapped around Goldman's hilarious finger as he guides you through a truly wonderful story that feels exactly like the timeless classic we've enjoyed watching for years.

If you've never seen the movies, you'll like the book. If you've seen the movie a million times like I have, you'll LOVE the book. It's truly a must have for every Princess Bride fan. You won't be disappointed.
11 comment| 202 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 22, 2016
This is the best way to read "The Princess Bride." I had originally purchased the 25th Anniversary paperback edition, that did not have the gorgeous illustrations, for my fiance and she loved it. It's one of our favorite movies and neither of us had read the story and we're huge book readers so that was a shock. She loved the story and so did I. The movie pretty much follows the book, except the movie is only 90 minutes and the book is 400 pages so there's a lot of material left out and more for a viewer who's never read the book to discover. You get great details on the backstories of Inigo, Fezzik, and Humperdink. You also learn more about Westley's years in training to become the Dread Pirate Roberts and Inigo's unrelenting journey to become the perfect death machine for his revenge against Count Rugen for killing his father. And there's more Miracle Max and his 'witch' wife in here, too, for those that love comic relief. Ha-ha!
This is the ultimate way to read the story. Definitely worth every dollar. :)
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Haven't seen this movie yet? Inconceivable! What, were you unemployed in Greenland? Or maybe mostly dead?

Seriously, this has to be one of the greatest 'lines movies' ever, by which I mean you will be quoting (indeed, spouting) lines from this movie for the rest of your life, once you watch it. Finally, you will understand why your friends say things like:

- You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
- Have fun storing the castle.
- Rest well and dream of large women.
- Never go against a Sicilian when death is on the line

...and, of course, the classic:

- Hello! My name is Inigo Montoya! You killed my father! Prepare to die!

Seriously, if you are reading this review trying to decide whether or not to watch this movie, see it... JUST SEE IT!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 16, 2013
Years ago, I was asked one of those silly questions that readers ask each other: “If you could be any literary character, who would you be?” Without hesitation, I replied, “Princess Buttercup.” After all, what woman in her right mind wouldn’t crave a life of true love and high adventure?

I have no recollection of when I first read William Goldman’s beloved novel, but I can tell you that in the decades since, I’ve read the book and seen the film at least a dozen times. It is very high on my list of all-time favorites. I never grow tired of it. I can pick this book up and start reading on any page and get sucked in immediately. And as soon as I’ve finished it, I could easily start reading from page one all over again. It is a case of true love.

Now, you have to have been living under a rock for the past few decades not to have an idea of what this tale is about. It’s the story of the beautiful milkmaid Buttercup and her love for the dashing farm boy Westley and all they go through in order to be together. Additionally, the novel uses the author’s life as a framing device. In what is purported to be a series of forwards and abridger’s notes, Goldman reflects on his personal history with “S. Morgenstern’s Classic Tale of True Love and High Adventure.” He speaks candidly (and entirely fictitiously) of his family life, and perhaps somewhat less fictitiously of his professional life. And he tells the story of how his father first read him the tale when he was ten years old. When he asked if there were any sports in the book, the man replied:

“Fencing. Fighting. Torture. Poison. True love. Hate. Revenge. Giants. Hunters. Bad men. Good men. Beautiful ladies. Snakes. Spiders. Beasts of all natures and descriptions. Pain. Death. Brave men. Coward men. Strongest men. Chases. Escapes. Lies. Truths. Passion. Miracles.”

I ask you, what more could a reader possibly want?

The one thing Goldman forgot to list is humor. What has made this tale such a classic, in addition to the fact that it contains one of the five greatest kisses of all time, is the novel’s adroit humor. It ranges from sophisticated to glib to farcical, and it never fails to make me smile. Because of the brilliant film adaptation (also written by Goldman), many of the novel’s lines and passages have become cultural touchstones. Have you ever cried, “Inconceivable!” in a Wally Shawn lisp? Mandy Patinkin doesn’t go a day without someone coming up to him and proclaiming, “My name is Inigo Montoya, you killed my father, prepare to die!” Does the phrase “As you wish.” just give you chills? These characters are indelible, and Mr. Goldman’s humor has held up for 40 years. I believe people still be chuckling over this novel a hundred years from now. Shakespeare, Jane Austen, P.G. Wodehouse—some humor is simply timeless.

Clearly, I love a feel-good story, but most suffer from diminishing returns. Maybe it was awesome the first time you read it, pretty good the second, and less so on successive reads. Not so, The Princess Bride. If anything, I think my considerable affection for this novel grows with each successive reading. And I’m still spotting new things! On this read, for the first time, I spotted the fake blurbs at the front of the Kindle edition. (One was from “Shog Bongiorno, professor emeritus, Mid-European Literature, Columbia University,” LOL.)

Twenty-fifth and thirtieth anniversary editions of The Princess Bride have contained new forwards that continue the story that Goldman uses as the novel’s framing device. And after the novel’s end, there is a lengthy introduction to a substantial sample of the novel’s fictitious sequel, Buttercup’s Baby. I’ve read it all except for Buttercup’s Baby. I can only read that for the first time once, and I’m just not ready to experience it yet. Besides, maybe one day Mr. Goldman will elbow out Stephen King for the job and will finish the abridgement of the sequel. Hope springs eternal. And isn’t that the nature of true love?
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 28, 2015
Not only is the Princess Bride a wonderful film, it has held up well after 25 years. The light-hearted romp through Goldman's storytelling has one of the greatest swordfights in film history, a story of true love, pirates, giants, adventures, the fire swamp, revenge, and villains of great character. Rob Reiner took Goldman's favorite book and made it into one of my favorite movies. Could watch this over and over again. The best of the DVD extra tracks are the interviews with cast and Reiner 25 years later to tell tales about the making of the movie. Great stories about traveling to locations all over Britain, the gentleness and large capacity of Andre the Giant, sparks between newcomers Cary Ewles and Robin Wright, and how Cary and Mandy Patinkin learning swordfighting to an extreme level. The minor characters (Billy Crystal for great laughs) and wonderful villains really make this movie. I had a DVD of this and the quality was terrible. Get the Blu-Ray 25th Anniversary Edition - it's worth every penny for a wonderful classic.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 6, 2015
Who doesn't love the Princess Bride? My copy disappeared. . . kids left home. . .movie went with them. But everyone should have a copy! How else will you ever know what and R.O.U.S. might be? And the Fire Swamp!! And the Pit of Despair?? Dread Pirate Roberts! And Fezzik! Inigo Montoya! Vizzini, you simply love to hate him. Westley and Buttercup! Peter Falk . . .my favorite role he ever played. Billy Crystal, Carol Kane . . . .this movie is a treasure trove of faces, one liners, and fabulous entertaining family fantasy fun! No filth, no foul language, but romance, adventure, chivalry, honor and a Holocaust Robe!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 30, 2015
The Princess Bride started slowly, but has gained momentum as one of the favorite comedies of all time. People everywhere quote great lines from the film -- "inconceivable", "my name is Inigo Montoya...", "why are you smiling?". Beside Cary Elwes, who became "boy" and changed to The Dread Pirate Roberts, Mandy Patinkin played Inigo Montoya who is out for revenge for the death of his father. Elwes and Patinkin create the greatest film sword fight ever -- with no doubles. We cannot forget Robin Wright as the heroine, both strong and just lovely. And looming over everyone, in a delightfully comic role, was Andre the Giant, who almost steals the movies from anyone else. And as Peter Falk (the grandfather reading a novel to his sick grandson) said there are three great kisses. We get to see one of them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 1, 2016
My grandson and I loved it. He was the dread pirate Westley for Halloween
review image
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 21, 2011
This is a terrific movie that has so many different editions of the DVD and now Blu-Ray discs that it gets very confusing as to what is in each version.

A search of the internet shows several reviews that describe the differences between the DVD versions. Basically the "Dread Pirate Roberts" edition and the "20th Anniversery" edition have different special features not in the other edition.

As of this writing, there are three versions of the Blu-ray - the Blu-ray only edition, and the Blu-ray + DVD edition in either a Blu-Ray or the old style DVD case.

What makes it confusing is that Amazon and other sellers of this Blu-Ray only edition list this movie as a 1.33:1 aspect ratio, implying that it might be a different movie cut, while the other two Blu-ray editions are listed as 1.85:1 aspect ratio. No doubt this, together with the fact that the Blu-Ray + DVD edition has almost the same price, has hampered sales of this Blu-Ray only edition.

Well, I went ahead and got the Blu-Ray only edition, mainly because I thought that there might be a chance that the 1.33:1 ratio was because some older movies were filmed on 35mm film which has a natural 1.33:1 aspect ratio, and then were cropped top and bottom to a 1.85:1 ratio to give them a widescreen look. On the other hand, the very first DVD edition released for Princess Bride notoriously had a horrible pan-and-scan cropped to fullscreen 1.33:1 aspect ratio that showed less of the movie than the widescreen version, which is not what you want to see in a Blu-ray. I was hoping for the other possibility that the listed 1.33:1 for this Blu-ray edition meant that cropping had been removed from the widescreen version to show MORE of the movie as it was originally filmed.

However, on playing this Blu-ray, it was immediately obvious that this Blu-Ray only edition is the same 1.85:1 aspect ratio as the other Blu-Ray editions. So all those listed descriptions of this Blu-Ray as a 1.33:1 aspect ratio are just flat out wrong.

What are the other goodies on this Blu-Ray? The Special Features include:

Audio Commentary by Rob Reiner
Audio Commentary by William Goldman
The Art of Fencing
As You Wish, The Story of The Princess Bride
Cary Elwes, Video Diary
The Dread Pirate Roberts: Greatest Pirate of the Seven Seas
Fairy Tales and Folklore
Love is Like a Storybook
Miraculous Makeup
Original Theatrical Trailer
Princess Bride: The Untold Tales

So, this Blu-Ray contains essentially all the special features of the "Dread Pirate Roberts" edition and the "20th Anniversary Edition" except for the DVD games and the booklet. The special features are in their original DVD or lower quality video resolution, although it seems that some of the excerpts from the movie itself have been re-edited to use the higher Blu-Ray resolution.

The Blu-Ray quality is excellent, except for being a bit grainy in some parts - tweaking the sharpness or edge enhancement helps, if you have this feature on your Blu-Ray player.

Finally, a few words about the movie - it is an absolutely wonderful classic - a warm, romantic, and humorous mythology, one of those perfect family movies that could be shown every year just like "A Christmas Story". It was known to be the late Andre the Giant's happiest experience in life, playing the role of Fezzik; he regularly watched the movie afterwards.

It belongs on the list of my favorite films of all time.
2222 comments| 540 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 2, 2015
A classic, indeed; credentials properly earned. A fun romp that has everything: romance, humor, excitement, daring-do, sight gags, humor, incredible swordsmanship, horribly ugly and vicious monsters, witchcraft, enchanted and bewitched valleys, green fields, mountains and scenery, dumb and dangerous kings and more dumb and dangerous kings-to-be, treachery, idiot soldiers, pathologically diabolic men, machines of torture (perhaps designed by Rube Goldberg)... you name it, it's here. Go see it; you'll smile for the rest of the week.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse