Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Wonder Woman now available on Blu-ray, 3D, and 4K Tailgating ToyHW17_gno

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 109 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 232 reviews
on September 10, 2017
This is a violent, often brutal, realistic movie showing the ugly usually undiscussed truth of what happened sometimes in Australian frontier
(could've been US west too)
Using 3 brothers to give a specific plot line, show family relationships? Even if one loves them, not always pretty, cut & dry, are they?
Brothers were street orphans in those backward days,
the moviie's pace is steady with some action scenes as needed to tell story,
not to fill film time with meaningless violence...
only that which furthers plot or adds realism, character development IMHO
main character Guy Pearce as he views things and realizes, conscience grows
Great story, sad and horrible story too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2013
The Proposition delivers a gritty, believable depiction of life in colonial Australia. Though violent at times, the action is quick and necessary for developing the characters and plot. The characters are complex, and the line between heroism and villainy blurs to the point that the viewer will catch himself transitioning from sympathy to disappointment, and back again, in the space of a few scenes. More importantly, the film moves on at a good pace. In this age of CGI action-packed mega films that dedicate more of their enormous budgets to high-tech thrills than to skillful editing, it is a pleasure to find a movie that delivers up a good, realistic story. The Proposition is a true classic.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2012
I came across this film in the filmography of the book The Filmmaker's Eye: Learning (and Breaking) the Rules of Cinematic Composition. The film has a lot of graphic violence which is appropriate to the story but which is still pretty hard to take. The cinematography is fantastic. The framing of the shots and the lighting are worth studying if that is your thing. The Blu Ray is definitely the way to go as the film is a visual feast. I listened to the film in 5.1 Dolby True HD and I had to turn up the volume quite high just to hear the dialog (this on a Marantz with towers and a high end center channel in front.) This was a problem as the volume would suddenly increase in scenes with music or when one of the characters was singing. Having to readjust the volume while playing the movie did take me out of the moment. Perhaps the other tracks give better sound? I didn't give the film five stars because I walked away feeling that I had gotten more of a short story than a novella, which is the usual amount of story movies seem to have. That said, the plot is believable and the arc of the main character is believable. I just felt that there could have been more there there, if you know what I mean. If you don't mind graphic violence and you like a good looking film then this is worth getting. Definitely go for blu ray!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2017
Moral Ambiguity is the blight of our times. This film is full of it, with no catharsis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2017
If you think Wild West was rough, try the Down Under.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2007
Since so many others have rehashed the plot of The Proposition here, I will not. Instead I will make a few observations about why I think this is such a compelling movie. Be forewarned, its not at all for the squeamish. The blood, the gore, and the nightmarish graphic brutality would all combine to make this a film that would stand out for those reasons alone if not for the fine acting and cinematography that propel it to its stature as one of the finest frontier films of our time.
This is not the US frontier, but the Australian one. The Australian outback was a place far more unforgiving than much of our own West. When you remember that Australia was originally a place to which the United Kingdom shipped its excess and most incorrigible convicts and recognize that the outback was the place to which the most recalcitrant and anti-social of them were likely to flee, then you can see how the stage is set for some brutal confrontations between the authorities and settlers who want to civilize the land, and those who live by no law but their own. And instead of the Indians to deal with, Australia's settlers had the aborigines with whom to contend for lebensraum.
Here are some things to notice: the relentless shimmering heat, the constant swarms of flies, the sere landscape, the ramshackle nature of most structures (Captain Stanley's is the nicest), the omnipresent dust, the primitive nature of nearly everything and everyone including the abos, endemic racism, and the tendency to violence that seems to bubble just beneath the surface of nearly everyone, white man and abo alike. Notice how everyone rather grimly goes about their daily lives. In such an environment, there is little wonder that brutality reigned. Notice also how Nick Cave's inobtrusive score augments an overall feeling of oppression and menace in a landscape bursting with both.
As for the characters themselves, the acting is almost uniformly excellent. Even the stoic aborigine characters, while not saying much, do a fine job of lending an air of authenticity to the story. You might notice that The Proposition is entirely derivative and goes to the same well from which Peckinpah and Leone have imbibed many times before. In spite of that, John Hillcoat's film remains uniquely Australian and that's what gives it some of its appeal. If you can stomach the carnage, I highly recommend this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2012
Guy Pearce has come to be one of my favorite contemporary actors. He is Capable of assuming any needed persona, a chameleon. In this film, he is barely recognizable, much to his credit. The rest of the cast is really good also. This movie is not a loud shoot em up bang bang. Instead, it is a white hot, smoldering, blood lust tale. It felt like MCcabe and Mrs. Miller to me. The location of the Australian outback is so definitive, I almost felt thirsty and filthy. The story is about a violent, dysfunctional family that implodes to greater violence and dysfunction. Brutal and Gritty. I LOVE AUSTRALIAN CINEMA AND THIS ONE IS A WINNER.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2017
one of the grittiest movies ever...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2012
The movie neither begins nor ends, and therein lies its magic. The storyline and characters are as unplanned and under-develeoped as a day in the unpredictable reality we all call life. We choose not to be more than who we are, and with the humanity of our choice comes the antithetical inhumanity of the consequence of our choice. No mystery in the plot, just action and reaction, just life and death. Thinkers have an opportunity to fantasize about the before and the after, but effectively the message is neither morality not menace, neither fate nor fortune. Effectively, the message simply is whatever any one mind conceives. I'm a fan of the film's proposition. My answer is definitely "YES!"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2013
This movie is a freaking awesome movie. I saw it one late night on Starz and even since then I searched to buy it at just about every store. Well I obviously came across in on Amazon and it's a top 10 movie for me defiantly!! I love when those greasy Irish boys kill ole boy that was in Pirates of the Carribean. Guy Pearce has been one of my favorite actors ever since I seen this movie when it came out on video. Defiantly a awesome, sweet, great movie that is very gruesome and violent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse