Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Quest for Hermes Trismegistus: From Ancient Egypt to the Modern World
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEM

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
21
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$18.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 9, 2011
While Gary Lachman latest book is less of a quest than a fascinating stroll through the Hermetic library, I thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Much of it involved familiar names - Plato, Pythagoras, Petrarch, Ficino, Pico, Bruno, John Dee, G.R.S. Mead - but to his credit Lackman does a great job of adding less familiar magi (Casaubon, Suhrawardi, Mavronmatis) in making for a compelling narrative. I appreciated his commentary, historical corrections, occasional insights and explanations of Hermeticism, keeping to the story line even when we headed down some dark corridors. This is above all a history book, one that could have been tedious, but Lachman's writing kept my interest. I especially liked the emphasis put on ancient Egypt and how Hermeticism naturally flows from the waters of the Nile, permeating everything in its wake from the Alexandrian Hermeticists to Freemasons to Bruno to Gurdjieff to Rudolf Steiner to Rilke ... I also very much appreciated his crediting Jeremy Naydler's reworking of Plato's instruction to "practice dying" and how it raises the likelihood that texts like the Book of the Dead were not simply used for funerary purposes, but as a vehicle for connecting the microcosm and macrocosm. This goal, given many names, is an essential theme that runs throughout the book. Lackman does a great job in describing the two paths of knowledge, gnosis and epistme, and he points to some exciting new possibilities, but the 'third path' is one that can only be experienced by someone willing to "interiorize" the world for themselves. Embodying Osiris: The Secrets of Alchemical Transformation
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2013
I am a writer and a musician as Lachman. I first came across his literary output some ten years ago when I read his Turn Off Your Mind, which is a book about the sixties spiritual revival. The book was thorough but left me with a sense of disappointment which was hard to nail down. Having been what I like to think of as an ardent student of esoterica from my teens I somehow felt I had met one more disappointed reductionist who wanted to scythe down every new sprout of genuine insight that might be found in the overflowing dirtpot that was the counter-culture sixties spirituality. I felt that he had missed the essence of what the self-nominated followers of Gurdjieff, Castaneda, La Vey, Crowley, Timothy Leary et al. were all about. Then I came across his Quest for Hermes Trismegistus and found out just how wrong I had been about his true colors. This book is a delight. It is well constructed with impeccable research and scrupulous notation. The style Lachman has acquired during the years is almost dazzlingly amicable, sensible, yet fearless. He tackles his humunguous subject matter with grace and swift eloquence worthy of the less than tangible intellectual thicket he covers. The book tells no more, no less than the story of a great, now submerged network of potent ideologies with twists and turns to make it a bit like a detective story sprinkled with romance. And even more, he takes a stance which is for the re-enchantment of the world, and proposes an integratory curriculum for our tormented age. A rare voice, a fine scholar, a mighty storyteller, this book is a joy to read and offers spiritual nourishment for days, weeks and years to come. (And I definitely am going to read his other books on the occult too. Already started the one about Madame Blavatsky.)
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2013
Well, if you are looking at this boob on Amazon, you already know a bit about Hermetic Thought and Philosphy. Lachman's book is OUTSTANDING: informative, wonderfully written, clear, speculative, precise, inspiring, amazing - gives a real boost to the brain heart and spirit.

One of my favorite books of 2012 (and on beyond).
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2014
Gary Lackman, After I knew him as the bass player in the band Blondie, moved immediately into writing about the occult in all of its various forms. He has steadfastly produced work consistently and has improved as an Author. This is a very well written very well researched study of the infamous Hermes Trimegestis (thrice great Hermes – from home we get the phrase hermetically sealed tin can. To be a hermetic automatically implies hermitage and secrecy. No one fully knows the origin of this entity known as Hermes, but Mr Lachman has done an awfully good job at trying to find out. Hermes Trimegestis is attributed as the originator of the phrase "As above; so below" which has enthralled spiritual seekers since time immemorial, which is exactly where Hermes Trimegestis lives.

Any study of such a complex and mysterious real or mythical personage requires great diligence and the earnest hard work Mister Lachman Has undertaken for all of his books. The only reason I can't say I love it is that the quest for Hermes Trimegestis will always turn in circles in the sand of Egypt – but then I like very much Mister Lackman's approach, so that I wish I could give it four and a half stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2016
Gary Larson does a magnificent job tracing the history and significance of the "Thrice Great One". If you ever were curious about the role of Egypt in the western mystic tradition, or what is missing in our "dead" view of the universe, you need to read this book. The only fault I found was that sometimes I felt a little like I was drinking from a fire hose, information was coming so fast. Overall, a great book for the subject matter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2015
I have studied several books by Gary Lachman; All excellent. I find acumen in his writings on Jung, the revolutionaries of the soul, and Hermes. I admire anyone that balances scholarship, critical thinking, and perception in and Gary Lachman hits three-run homers on these books.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2012
What is Gnosis ? to quote from a interview with C.G. Jung when asked " do you believe in god? i know god he said i don't need to believe" and that's basically the discourse of western spirituality one of belief. but there is something deeper , more profound there is gnosis.
Gary lachman is a engaging writer and this book proves it. a fun ride i could not put down. the best book on Hermes trismegistus ever written in my opnion. out side of the hermetica its self with deep insight.
but this is nothing new. gnosis you may have heard of it in modern currentcy known as "the secret" ( Rhonda Byrne) the now " ekheart tolle " jesus called it the "kingdom of god . Muhammad as the "remembrance of god" Zoroaster talks of it, as does Siddhartha Gautama and hermes/thoth called it the All .
Its a parade of some of my favorite spiritual writers who are not normally associated with Hermes , and there own experiances of gnosis.
such as Huxley ( doors of perception) bucke ( comsic consciouness ) who was a good freind to walt Whitman. Iamblichus makes a appearance the great writer on Egyptian mysteries and a initiate of the mystery's also the we meet a old friend elphas levi.
but we are met with so many un answered questions .
like the very mysterious bembine tablet and its relations to the tarot. ( is it part of the book of thoth)?
did hermes/thoth write the book of going forth by day?
is the struggle of Osiris and his brother a deeper metaphor for gnosis? matter and nous fighting than becoming one from dualism to "the one?"

in this book he touches on one of two foremost scholors on hermes who others seem to ignore. Athanasius Kircher and manley p hall both of which held the belif there were two ways to read hyrogyphs one of the the common way. with its boring tributes of kings and talk of taxs and the other was a deeper way a esotric sacred way. this is backed up by one of Alexandria's most famous residents Iamblichus .although modern Egyptology writes Athanasius Kircher off and make fun of him for his readings. but keep in mind he was reading using nous or gnosis if you will and not epistime, instead gnosis was hidden making a re-occurrence in in kaballah , gnostic christinaity, mystic Islam, etc the west turned its back on gnosis and unfourtinaity embraced logic, materialism and techne' its why the west is so spiritually bankrupt and empty, with its endless wars and greed, environmental destruction and if only we can listen to the thrice great Thoth/Hermes .we still can .
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2013
There are far too few books on the amazing ancient Greco-Egyptian tradition of Hermeticism -- one of the most profound expressions of spirituality to emerge in the Western world. Here's a really good one.
Lachman's consistent genius is his ability to explain complex topics to the person on the street. Here he makes the magus Hermes Trismegistus accessible to contemporary readers, without "dumbing down" the tradition. If spiritual growth is on your agenda, you must learn about Hermeticism, and here's a great place to start.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2014
This is a fascinating read. I have always been fascinated with the idea of cosmic consciousness and have been seeking the meaning of life, the universe and everything as long as I can remember. This book acts as a lens to focus that energy -- it reads like a mystery story and shines a light into some dim areas. It also shows some of the false leads along the path leading to dead ends. I am learning a lot from reading this book and am amazed at how much my intuition matches the ancient lore.

I will definitely be reading more from this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2013
Towards the end of his book Gary Lachman uses an important quote about the philosopher Robert Fludd. "According to his biographer, Fludd `lived at the very end of the era in which it was possible for one mind to encompass the whole of learning.'"
Gary Lachman encapsulates the history of the mystery teachings that have flowed down the ages. These teachings have not been accessible to many people for fear of retribution. Now, especially through the internet, they are very accessible. This can lead to bias. As previous reviewers have noted, Gary has done his research.
This overview of lost knowledge is important and will have a pivotal place in the libraries of all those who seek to understand the evolution of human consciousness. Perhaps because it is not possible to know everything, nor read everything, this book sets a standard for the unbiased mapping of mystery knowledge that underpins society (whether we know it or not).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse