BCA Month Salon Beauty Fall Reading Women's Coat Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now PSFF17_gno



on July 27, 2014
I watched this right after watching the Raid: Redemption. I was amazed at how the violence escalated even more and that this film is now one of my all time favorites. They don't make action films like this in America and those are watered down and soft compared to how these are made. Loaded with bullets, hand to hand combat, car chases and executions make for a very action packed and bloody film. If you are a fan of hardcore action films that take no prisoners than this one is for you!!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2016
The Raid 2 is one of the best sequels...hell one of the best action follow ups ever. The film takes everything that made the original so fantastic and turns it up to 11. Rama is still the main character and this films takes place immediately after the events of the first film. The combat is some of the most fluid and intense that's ever graced with silver screen also, the gritty dark underworld it presents will stay with you long after the film is over. Clocking in at over 2 hours and 30 min the film doesn't feel like it is. Good pacing and much deeper story drive the narrative. People say that the story is convoluted and not easy to follow and to that I say....really? It's straight forward people. You learn how far a son is willing to go to take over his fathers empire. Only to learn......just watch the film, it will be along time before we ever get another film that matches the quality of the Raid 2.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have always loved martial arts and other action packed movies that also have a good story behind it. After I purchased the first Raid Redemption DVD, which was fantastic, I wanted to see the second one Raid #2, but it did not stay at the theaters very long and I decided to buy it when it came out on DVD. Because of the popularity and advertisement of the first Raid Redemption, the sequel (Raid #2) in DVD was a little high priced, but I did get a fair price from Amazon.

Many times sequel movies are over hyped and wind up being not very good movies, but Raid #2 is as good as the first one. It follows the end in the first Raid, but you do not have to see the first one to easily follow Raid #2. The police officer, Iko Uwais, who survived in Raid 1 now, has to go undercover on a dangerous assignment. Those who love action movies will love the unique and imaginative scenes in Raid #2.

The fight scenes include just about every type of action you might desire in a martial arts movie. If you love well-made action movies that keep you riveted to your seat, this movie is for you. I loved it and will no doubt view Raid 2 again and again. Even though I am not sure which of the two Raid movies I liked the best, they both merit high ratings..

Rating: 5 Stars. Joseph J. Truncale (Author: The Samurai Soul: An old warrior's poetic tribute).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2015
Once you get past the slow first hour, the second hours kicks into overdrive and morphs into one of the greatest, most intense and brutal martial arts films ever made, with a lead character you can care about as well as villains that have some depth to their characters. The fight scenes are insanely great, especially when faced against the girl with the hammers and the fighter with the bat and baseball. And that's not counting the extremely vicious claw man. Incredible and any fan of martial arts movies MUST see this landmark film that matches or exceeds The Raid 1. Amazing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2015
If you like martial arts action flicks you need to own The Raid 2. Simply put: It is one of the best action movies of all time. The 2.5 hour run time is filled to the brim with bone-crushing, blood-letting fight scenes with the best choreography out there. There is also a serviceable popcorn-action story about crime syndicates and corrupt cops in there but, let's be real, it's the action scenes that set this movie far above its competition. Haven't seen the first one? Don't worry. Aside from the first 15 minutes or so of exposition, this movie is pretty much a stand alone.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2015
Ever since I gave the first Raid a shot I was blown away and had my expectations of action movies adjusted in a big way. The first movie was very original and some of the best fight scenes I have ever seen. The story was decent but as far as action movies goes it was among the best.

Enter the Raid 2, it picks up pretty much right at the end of Raid 1. You are thrust back into the world once again and you see some of the fallout of what happened in the first movie. I expected it to be similar to other sequels to where it just didn't live up to the scope or feel of the original or even just do more of the same. Fortunately I was quite surprised on what unfolded. This time the movie goes all over the place instead of just having the one building setting of the first one. In addition to that there is a much more fleshed out and cohesive story about the seedy underground world that the Raid movies take place in.

Rama(Iko Uwais) is back, and this time it's undercover. What happens next is insane, I thought the action set-ups were really well done in the Raid 1 and were fairly brutal. This movie amps it up another notch as sequels should do. Most of the fight scenes are jaw dropping to the point where you say to yourself OUCH and almost feel the pain that these people are in. Silat is an amazing art form, and it really shows through once again in this movie. The fights are well planned out, and they are just a joy to watch.

The overall story is pretty good, but what you should be really watching the movie for(as I feel for the first one) is the amazing action sequences. There are a lot more villains in this one that are also quite intriguing.

I didn't think this would come close to how good and highly regarded I hold the first movie. Fortunately for me I was wrong as this movie completely blows away my expectations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2015
The kitchen scene is...damnnnnnn! If you have a weak heart, this movie is not for you. The adrenaline is non-stop and REAL. You feel the punches, kicks, slams, stabs, smashes, obliterations. These guys are not stunting or frontin'...they are certified and their skill takes the movie into a different universe. I thought the first Raid was off the hook, but they just blew the beginning away. The storyline is not original, but it's strong and not overplayed...so it's all pure...the action is not diluted by melodrama. Yayan Ruhian and Cecep Arif Rahman are religious in their technique which adds a high level of authenticity to the choreography. I would have loved to watch these guys in action on the big screen. Fantastic stuff!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2015
Picking up right at the end of The Raid, The Raid 2 continues the story of Rama trying to fight crime in Indonesia. Director Gareth Evans brings even more action and violence (not to mention story) to this sequel. The fight scenes are once again superb, quite frankly surpassing most coming out of Hollywood movies these days.

There are 3 distinct bad guys this time, each unique in their own way. While they feel a little weird at times, they all work in the movie:
- Julie Estelle as "Hammer Girl". She uses two claw hammers to interesting effect.
- Very Tri Ulisman as "Baseball Bat Man". He uses it differently than your usual mobster breaking knee caps. Also, possible Hammer Girl's love interest? I couldn't tell.
- Cecep Arif Rahman as "The Assassin". He's the standout of the group. He uses 2 karambits to devastating effect. The final fight between him and Rama will be on many Top Fight lists for years to come.

If you're interesting in checking out an action movie that's a bit different, this is the one. The fights seem more realistic, the protagonist actually gets hurt, and the action is punctuated by an actual story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2017
Starts a little slow to set up the plot of who has to die when, and then they spend the rest of the movie killing all of them! Wow, so many terrain and object kills. Bouncing heads off of every wall. This is how Jackie Chan would be if he actually wanted to hurt anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2016
If you liked the first raid movie(which I am assuming you have already seen), then this is a must buy. It improves upon the first in every way! The action is more intense and brutal, the story and characters are more complex and interesting, and the fight coriography is some of the best I have ever seen in a movie. Seriously, the amount of detail put into the action sequences is amazing! They are brutally realistic and a marvel to watch. My only complaint is that the story can be a bit hard to follow at times with so many different characters. Also on a side note, you don't really have to have seen the first one to understand this movies story(but it does help). Overall, if you liked the first movie or just like action movies in general, then get this movie! You won't be disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Merantau
$9.99

Need customer service? Click here