Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
54
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$13.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 54 reviews
on January 18, 2015
A good well written book with common sense, which is not always that common, advice on investing. You will not get burned if you follow it. It is a bit repetitive at times but brief enough that, that flaw is forgivable. Basically what it says is 1. Save your money, 2. Don't borrow using credit cards. 3. Invest in index funds. 4. Don't bother watching the market, check your blood pressure twice a day and the stock market once a year for financial success.

Malkiel's approach will over time make you quite wealthy, but probably never filthy stinking rich.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2011
I've read about a dozen investment guides in the past five years, nearly all of them excellent. But this book is by far the most direct, practical, simple, and lucid. It's perfect for beginners because it's essentially a what-to-do book, offering concise, unambiguous advice on investment strategies for the ordinary person.

Malkiel's advice is based on the detailed analysis found in his classic _A Random Walk Down Wall Street_. For those who lack the time or interest to tackle the 400+ page original, the much shorter _Guide_ is a great alternative: it sums up the basic investment principles found in the bigger book and explains exactly how to apply those principles.

For those really pressed for time, Malkiel (with Charles Ellis) has published an even shorter book based on the same timeless investment principles: _The Elements of Investing_.

My only complaint is that Malkiel has never revised _The Random Walk Guide to Investing_. It was first published in 2003, and it could use a good update.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2016
One of the most straight forward and simple books on investing you can read. I loved the book, it covers a variety of topics and offers some good investing tips. I only wish I would listen! Haha, my investment portfolio would be doing a lot better if I did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2016
I like that the author was honest with the readers about both his affiliations and his intentions. He makes a few recommendations on how to invest, and then he shows you your alternatives. He makes it clear which ones are profitable to him, but he also justifies picking those ones. I'll be reading this again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2013
I had to read this for MBA Wealth Managment class. It is a very easy read and is a great starting place for the basics in money management. It provides good theory for many of the healthy practices taught by money managers. Very easy to understand and really helped me start to develop a good foundation. Highly recommended for a beginner.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2009
There are hundreds of "Investing" books available for purchase. As a practicing fee-only Certified Financial Planner(r), this is the book that I recommend to my clients (a close second is John Bogle's "The Little Book of Common Sense Investing"). It is short, very easy to understand and is filled with useful wisdom. It should be required reading for anyone who ever earns, spends or invests money. A great use for $3 billion of the stimulus money would be to buy 300 million copies of this book and send one to every American. Our financial crisis would begin turning around almost immediately.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2015
This book is a good starter for those wanting to learn how to invest and all the options that are available. It's not all about the stock market. It can be a bit dry at times but the information is useful and broken down into "rules" that are easy to digest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2009
Burton G. Malkiel delivers on his knowledge of the market in a manner that is both concise and comical at the same time, making this a immensely enjoyable read. This is the first book on investments I have ever owned- and after reading it, it very well be my last. Malkiel does a wonderful job putting the often obscure and esoteric business jargon in plain English, giving detailed explanations of each of the four areas of investments(bonds, stocks, real estate, and treasury bills) followed by chapters and chapters of invaluable information that will guide you slowly through the chaos and disarray that is wall street.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2016
A good companion to his Classic Tome: A Random Walk down Wall Street. A must have for the serious investor...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2012
Wonderful book that is full of great advice, I definitely recommend to anyone that I find is looking for advice on investing for personal finance reasons. The book offers much more that just investment advice, such as real estate mortgage's, life insurance (how do you really need) and saving for college programs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse