Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$18.44+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 46 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 68 reviews
on May 23, 2017
I absolutely loved the predecessor to this book, "God's Debris". I've read it 3 times, and have suggested it to many friends. I decided to move on the The Religion War, hoping it would be a similarly written book... but it's quite different. The neatest part of God's Debris is that is made you think. It offered new and exciting ideas that made the reader see the world in a different light. Those new and exciting ideas are really lacking in this book. The story is decent, and my rating is based somewhat on my own expectations... it's worth a read, but it's not the same caliber of book that God's Debris was. Just my personal opinion, of course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2016
Scott Adams changed my life.
His books, writings, musings, blog and tweets changed my mind about everything I thought I knew.
Scott Adams might be the smartest man in the universe.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2016
I see other criticisms of Religion War which suggest that Adams did not do a good job of developing some of the characters and that they were, perhaps, a bit cartoonish. I thought there was just enough information to lay out a premise and then give the reader some ideas to ponder. Both books were great, fast reads with a half-dozen or so "a-ha!" moments. It's a different kind of book and worth a look.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2016
The sad thing about this book is that people who should read it, probably will not. It gives thinking, questioning people some great food for thought and good topics to share with their superstitious friends. The book shows that while religion does not cause wars, it definitely facilitates them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2017
Scott Adams have a very clever way to tell a story that actually shows his beliefs of what really drives peoples behaviors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2006
I enjoyed this book so much that I read it twice before sending it back to the library. It's a completely different book that 'Gods Debris', and I don't believe that reading the first is really required in order to enjoy this sequel. 'The Religion War' is great entertainment, where 'Gods Debris' is mostly philosophy.

This book is an action fantasy novel, set in the near future, and the story really rocks. The pace is fast, the characters are interesting, and the messages are powerful.

The world view that the author believes to be so radical and unique is really not much of a stretch from new age spirituality. I enjoyed the flavor he added with his insights, and would recommend this book to anyone that is willing to approach new ideas with an open mind.

The only flaw in the book is the matra that ends up saving the world is absolutely stupid. Oh well, just a minor quibble that I was able to overlook.

Entertainment: 5 stars
Enlightenment: 5 stars
Overall: 5 stars

Hopefully Scott will choose to finish the Trilogy someday...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2017
A wonderful successor to "God's Debris", but completely enjoyable in its own right. Once you start reading it you won't be able to put it down
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2015
Not as thought provoking as the original (God's Debris) but still a great little tale that really resonates today. Rationalism and logic abound in a story and a world where most have forgotten them in favor of hubris and zealotry. Lot to think about and a lot to consider.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2017
Like many others, I loved the first book. Refreshingly devoid of extraneous detail and lacking a central narrative drive, the ideas presented really sink in, causing the reader to engage with the text and think. In that way, it is more than a “novel,” and I’m sure it’s part of the reason why Scott Adams chose to label it as “A thought experiment wrapped in a story.”

It is also why this “sequel” has disappointed me so much. I expected another sparse narrative with even more interesting ideas to mull through. Instead, most of the ideas are either repeats of the ones mentioned in God’s Debris or strange ideas with such laughable premises as to be dismissed before I could even consider them.

**Minor spoilers ahead**

Case in point:

“Every computer has a reboot button. Of all the things humans have built, computers are the most like us. And so it follows that somewhere there is a human reboot button, one person whose opinions can reset the opinions of all humanity.”

Somewhere along the line, The Avatar, the most aware being on Earth, forgot the basic rules of deductive reasoning. Both of the premises he bases this argument on are false. Not every computer does have a reboot button, and considering that we can now grow clones and organs from stem cells, assuming a synthetic construct is the creation most similar to human beings is absurd.

The arguments proposed by God’s Debris were simple, elegant, and most importantly, they were believable, because they accounted for the current science and explained away any obvious counter-claims. But “God’s Debris,” this is not.

Instead, Adams chose to write a fast-moving narrative replete with explosions, nerve gas, gun violence, unbelievably stereotypical characters, and a disdain for religion that offended even me, an atheist. I felt like I was reading the next frenetic bowel movement from James Patterson, not something witty, cohesive, and mind-expanding.

The characters were the worst. Aside from The Avatar himself, who comes across at different times as smug, ruthless, amiable, clueless, and naive, every other character is a flat cartoon. I don’t mind cartoons in a comic strip, but when they appear representative of current heads of state, and when the stakes include global annihilation, I expect a little more thought to go into them.

The characters also seem lazily constructed. The two religious leaders, both of whom are Grand Master-level chess champions, are fooled repeatedly by basic principles of suggestion, and one even has his confidence shaken by calling up Mensa and asking the opinions of “smart people.”

Everyone else seemed defined by one single ideal, and instead of making the one character who has to make a difficult choice compelling, Adams instead chose to make Waters a clinical sociopath, entirely devoid of human emotion, so his choices were always based entirely on logic and completely unsurprising and lame.

Add to that a picture-perfect example of a Deus Ex Machina, and you have The Religion War, a book that should never have been. The author is an intelligent, creative author, and his comics are enlightening and entertaining. Additionally, “God’s Debris” is one of those books that makes so much sense that readers want to experience it multiple times just to try to wrap their heads around it.

This book is neither intelligent nor enjoyable, and unfortunately, the best thing I can say about it is that it only takes about 3-4 hours to read.

Two Stars - mechanically sound, but dispenses with everything that made “God’s Debris” great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2016
Scott Adams is a unique author with novel ideas and concepts. This is an excellent book for anyone seeking a look at reality from outside the "box".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse