Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 24 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 43 reviews
VINE VOICEon October 15, 2012
Throw together a beautiful orphaned ward, a jaded roue and an inheritance and you have the makings of Maggie Andersen's The Reluctant Marquess. This novel started out very well but slid downhill after a few chapters.

Charity lost her parents and travels to her godfather's residence. She arrives to a dark castle ( I thought this was going to be gothic but don't be fooled, it's not) and discovers that her godfather has died and his nephew is now the new Marquess.

Lord Robert is estranged from his family but was close to his uncle. Turns out his uncle was quite Machiavellian and the only inheritance the two will receive is if they marry each other, seems that Robert's uncle thought they would be perfect for each other.

Charity agrees to the wedding as she has nowhere to go and no money but she stipulates that she needs time before they engage in intimacies and Robert agrees. After they marry Charity is whisked off to London to navigate the ton and Robert is off to carry on with his old London ways.

London is not a great place for this couple; in fact, it brings out the worst in them. Charity is angry that Robert ignores her and Robert is frustrated that Charity keeps him at a distance. Charity is hopelessly naïve and way too trusting of just about everyone to include maids and slimy nobles. She falls in love with Robert almost overnight and is angry and frustrated he does not feel the same way about her. He barely knows her but Charity mistakenly thinks he should mirror all her feelings.

Robert can be arrogant and he is also distant. I barely felt as if I knew him and I wondered why Charity fell in love with him so quickly. Robert is less than patient with Charity and he can be dismissive.

This couple's romantic journey is filled with arguments and unfulfilled expectations. I don't know how they fell in love with each other.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2012
In 18th century England, when Charity Barlow's parents are killed in a carriage accident, she finds herself alone and suddenly under the guardianship of the Marquess of St Malin, her godfather. But when she arrives at his castle overlooking the sea, Robert, her godfather's nephew advises her that the Marquess has died and he has now inherited the title. But her surprises do not end there. In the will, she and Robert are to marry in order for them to inherit the vast fortune. And so they marry, albeit reluctantly, setting the story for much tension. The heroine is strong, verbally uninhibited, and able to fight for herself against a husband who pays her little regard. The hero is arrogant, charming, has been hurt in the past, neglectful, and not sensitive to his new wife's needs.

This light romance, although a touch predictable, unfolds at a good pace and is easy to read. It's a great book to escape into, with a fun story line and a great heroine. Although the hero is a bit frustrating at times, I think it actually helps make the story better by creating more tension. We are able to see all his faults, watch as he redeems himself, and then we slowly come to accept him just as Charity finally does. The story unfolds in a London castle and the author did a terrific job of describing the details and opulen
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2015
Charity and Robert get married just a couple of days after meeting to fulfill the will of the former marquess ( Robert’s uncle and Charity's godfather )...Neither of them are happy about the prospect, Robert especially is very clear in telling her what to expect from the marriage.
In the beginning I thought that I was going to really like the story; but as it moved forward it became quite dull.. for a couple of chapters both characters are just polite to each other while Charity try to adapt to her new life as wife and marchioness and he does all possible to continue with his old life; then suddenly when things should get better everything goes wrong…it really annoys me when a book goes on and on not because there is an actual plot but due to misunderstandings or lack of communication between the characters.
Also, I found the writing distracting. There was sentence after sentence without stop; sometimes I wouldn’t even understand who was speaking for the lack of spaces or punctuation…or the writer would be writing about something and next thing it is a week later and the writer didn’t even bothered to change of paragraph, not to say of chapter..

Overall just a light reading with a happy ending.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2012
Here's a brief recap of what the story is about since other reviewers have already done such a fine job. This book is about an order for an arranged marriage left in the will of Robert's uncle between Robert and Charity, who happens to be the uncle's goddaughter. Before Robert can inherit the vast wealth of the estate he must marry Charity. What great timing for this arranged marriage because Charity's father had just died as well leaving her basically destitute.

The marriage begins without much fanfare. Robert's goal is to marry, get his money, beget an heir and live his life as he sees fit. Charity longs for a love match and is willing to invest the time getting to know Robert and trying to endear herself to him. Not being of noble birth, Charity finds it somewhat difficult to fit in with the snobby aristocracy she's exposed to while in London for the season. She often displeases Robert, and this causes him to be unkind to her at times. She tries desperately to belong while Robert tries to keep his distance.

Why the mixed feelings? The storyline could have been decent. The author set it up in a way that could have been interesting. However, it felt like the first third of the book drug along. Then I got annoyed with the demanding attitude Charity displayed at times. She entered into the marriage knowing it wasn't a love match but seemed surpised that Robert wasn't head over heels in love. Some of her actions were childish, and she seemed to meddle too much going against Robert's wishes more often than not. Also, I didn't truly see this couple come together in any form. They were either ignoring each other, fighting, or feigning hurt. They felt really cold. It got old and fell flat. Also, there were weird transitions in the book. I'm not sure if it was a formatting issue or not, but oftentimes a paragraph would end in one character's situation in one time and place, and the following paragraph would begin with another character in a completely different time and place. The paragraphs seemed disjointed at times.

Would I read this book again? No. I plan to remove it from my Kindle. I downloaded it free so it did not cost me anything. Would I be willing to read another book by this author? Probably. I like to follow up with at least one more story if I was able to at least tolerate the first book before saying I would never read another book by a particular author.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2015
Charity Barlow had lost her family months before she was now penniless .The only person she thought would help her she was on the way to see. St. Malin was her godfather who she had not seen in seven years she was now 22. She arrived at the Castle St. Malin she found he had died a few months back. The biggest shock she was told by his nephew Lord Robert they had to marry as required by the will. He would lose everything if they didn't .She finally agrees but does ask for awhile before they have sexual relations till they are more use to each other. Robert has kept his mistress which he slept with after she agreed to marry him he planned to continue with her after marriage. The only thing in his defense he took her places but did not sleep with her.he left Charity alone most of the time living his life as before. She could not please him he just wanted to argue.She finally seduces him and thinks things will be better then she confesses what she had done involving family members. He was even angrier after that. She finally leaves him she feels everything is lost.Is this a romance with no HEA.Charity can't live with the way the marriage was going. I liked this book so much I read it straight through. It is not a sweet romance . If you like an arranged marriage with conflict but a chance of a HEA you will like this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2012
Poor Charity seeks the charity of her godfather when she loses her parents in a carriage accident. Alas for the poor lass, when she arrives she finds that her godfather has too passed away and standing in his place is his good looking nephew - the reluctant marquess (Robert). The reluctant marquess who has to now bear the burdens and take the reins of running his goduncle's numerous estates and to fulfill his goduncle's last riches - which includes marrying Charity! Left with little choice, Charity decides to marry Robert. Would their marriage of convenience evolve into something more? Or is she doomed to be stuck in the country after producing the heir (and maybe a spare)?

Surprisingly engaging as the reader is left to wonder on how the two of them would come together. I read with some initial trepidation as I really dislike reading books with any hint of adultery in them (fortunately, this one doesn't have any, although for plot suspense they have to throw in some distractions). I do like the way that Charity is portrayed - she thankfully doesn't fall into the "annoying troublesome heroine who does stupid things for plot advancement" and she does voice out her unhappiness from robert from time to time (so she also doesn't fall into the "why does she have to suffer in silence and not smack some sense into the hero" category of heroines).

It's a pretty good read and it's nice to read about the romance in the context of a married couple. The author also nicely captures the naunces in a romance between a couple - loved the snippet on if a guy is interested in you, he can't help himself but to take a second look at you. *swoon*
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2012
I generally avoid any books written with characters with value names like Charity, Grace, Prudence, etc...
Oh, no! Charity is the heroine of this story.
I stuck it out anyway and it was worth it, so against my will, I grew to like Charity. She is so good she is worthy of love, stubborn and filled with self confidence (which I blame totally of the fact that she was well raised and loved, although poor). Robert the Marquess (hence the title) on the other hand is a spoiled selfish entitled immature man-child. Well, I can't really blame him, since he is just a product of his upbringing and time period. I did respect that in the end he was faithful to his wife, but I did want to slap him a few times.
Cute sweet Georgian historical English romance. Well edited and written with great dialogue and a sweet deserving heroine, I just wish she had a better name.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 18, 2013
Nicely researched and sweetly romantic, with plenty of period detail and pleasing characters, Maggi Andersen's The Reluctant Marquess pits recently orphaned Charity against her godfather's spoiled nephew, a new Marquess struggling to cope with his rather odd inheritance. Forced into an arranged marriage, the two strive to deny their growing affections. Circumstances conspire, somewhat predictably, against them, but each character proves both wise and honest in their different ways, and the reader remains convinced that love will win through.

The countryside, towns and events of the 1700s are well-described, creating a vivid backdrop to a romance that starts in Cornwall and wends its way through London and the ton. But perhaps it all really started with a near-drowning in a boat race on Cambridge's shallow river. From French maid to philandering nobleman to highway robbery, the story's got its fair share of action, pleasing side-characters, and the usual theme of a woman hoping against hope to marry for love. It's an enjoyable quick read, with careful discretion eventually yielding to surprisingly detailed and sensual lovemaking on the final pages.

Disclosure: I was lucky enough to spot this when it was free.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2011
The Reluctant Marquess is a decent read, but a little disjointed. The storyline is actually cute, and arranged marriage where no one is being overly forced into anything. Neither character has any huge, outrageous character flaws, and both seem easy to like. The problem comes with the writing. The author forgets to use transitions and properly set up a scene sometimes. In the same paragraph you will have the heroine dancing with some random Lord, and in the next sentence having her husband escort her off the dance floor. This is just one example of transition problems that occur throughout the book. But honestly the book is not a horrible read. It goes quickly and is a cute, uncomplicated story. If you have an hour or two to waste and want to read something I would actually recommend this!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2012
Others have already reviewed the plot so I won't go into that. The story itself was not objectionable but there were places where I felt it was hard to get a sense of time. I wasn't always sure if hours, days, or weeks had passed. At one point the author states it had been: 3 days, another day passed, on the fifth day and then on the morning of the fourth day. There were also some typos but when a pottery factory became a poetry factory you wonder if anyone at all proof read the book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here