Oil month Automotive HPC Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now TG18PP_gno



on May 4, 2013
In Pennsylvania at the turn of the 20th century, a businessman (Clifton Webb) has successfully kept his two marriages and two families (with a total of 17 children) separate and a secret from each other. But when his Philadelphia son (Ray Stricklyn) unexpectedly visits the Harrisburg family looking for his father, the secret comes out and threatens to prevent the marriage of his daughter (Jill St. John) to the minister's (Larry Gates) son (Ron Ely, TV's TARZAN). Based on the play by Liam O'Brien, this wasn't quite the wholesome CHEAPER BY THE DOZEN knock off I was expecting. Although in the end it espouses traditional societal family values, it's a look at a so called unconventional "free thinker" and non-conformist who gets hoisted on his own petard with some laugh out loud moments. Webb, as expected, is able to deliver a quip with a razor like delivery but Dorothy McGuire as the first wife proves a feisty opponent. Directed by Henry Levin (JOURNEY TO THE CENTER OF THE EARTH). With Charles Coburn (as Webb's father although he's only 12 years older), Dorothy Stickney, David Nelson (TV's OZZIE AND HARRIET), Larry Gates, Richard Deacon, Doro Merande and Joan Freeman.

The Fox MOD DVDr is a decent wide screen (2.35) transfer although not anamorphic.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 18, 2014
This is a horrible copy of this film. It's actually pixilated from whoever made this DVD. I would wait for a better copy to be made available before shelling out any money.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 20, 2015
I love the movie, but the presentation is not as expected. It is a CinemaScope picture letter-boxed in 4:3. For the premium price charged for this DVD I would have expected the 2.3:1 ratio CinemaScope to be letter-boxed in full 16:9. Every HD TV that I have found will not do a full zoom (both vertical and horizontal stretch) of an HDMI picture.

I would have thought 20th Century Fox would have known better.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 9, 2017
Clifton Webb and Dorothy McGuire are famous actors.
**(Dorothy McGuire is in Swiss Family Robinson and 3 Coins
in a fountain)**(Clifton Webb is in Cheaper by the Dozen and
Life With Father) Clifton Webb has 2 families and they eventually
meet each other--causes a little chaos. The scenery and costumes
are great to watch. Women dressed up with ruffles and bustles. The
ladies hats are adorable and Clifton Webb wears knickers.Worth Watching!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 11, 2013
Typical of Clifton Webb roles modesty was plus in character only if you had reason to be modest, and within this context, he built the family business and his families. (The plural is no error.) Things began to go awry when he made an unexpected visit to one of his families when a daughter wanted to get married, and at the same time, the end product of the evolutionary process produced a human with a striking resemblance to the chief of police. The latter put the sheriff on his trail with a warrant, and Mr. Pennypacker his father ended up incarcerated in his stead. All of these combined to turn orderly lives into utter chaos, but to borrow from an old adage, Mr. Pennypacker came out smelling like a rose.

Roy M. Raffield
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 11, 2014
you cannot help but love this movie, this has been one of my favorite for years, cliff webb and his father paul ford are funny in this movie. it takes place at the turn of the 1900's about a guy cliff webb, whom has to families in two different cities, it's a old fashion comedy. you will enjoy it
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 2, 2014
Great family entertainment. Clifton Webb always played a great character role. Hollywood needs to bring back wholesome movies, but I think the morals of our once great country have all but disappeared.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 20, 2018
Clifton webb good actor
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 12, 2015
I remember this movie as a comedy from my youth. Now a senior citizen, I see it in light of troubles I have passed through. It's still a great movie I just didn't have the experience to understand the nuances when I was young.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 15, 2014
We haven't watched' this movie yet, because I want to have some movies on reserve for a rainy day, when everyone's home and are complaining their bored. We all like Clifton Webb movies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse