Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Amazon's Choice Computers Limited time offer Luxury Beauty Handmade Mother's Day Gifts STEM Book House Cleaning siliconvalley siliconvalley siliconvalley  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 438 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 776 reviews
on January 14, 2008
More than likely, you already know whether you like this movie or not. The
question you may be asking is "If I own the DVD, is it worth upgrading to
the BD version?" I'm happy to report that this is a great transfer, and is
a major upgrade from the DVD version, assuming that you have a audio/video
system that can allow you to see and hear the difference. The picture is
far more detailed than the DVD version, and the uncompressed PCM audio
track is fantastic. Kudos to Disney for doing an excellent job on this one.
Highly recommended.
33 comments| 91 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2016
When I was a little kid, my family and I walked out of "Twister" (SOOO BAAAD) and into the next theater room to watch "The Rock" (SOOO GOOD!). At least I remembered it being so good. Ladies and Gentlemen, the world has changed a lot since this movie came out. Terrorism is a lot more scary in real life and there is no such thing as a clear-cut happy ending. This movie still holds up well. Love the snarky dialogue, the ridiculously extravagant car chase, outrageously stereotypical bit-part characters with attitude and the overall....nineties-ness of it all. Sean Connery is still The Man, Nicolas Cage excels at being a slightly neurotic control freak out of control. Plus it's fun to see SFO in all its glory. Classic Hollywood.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2015
This is not the correct aspect ratio!!! The image only is projected on 75% on my screen, with HUGE gaps on the sides. There is no way to correct this! Excellent movie. Terrible quality of DVD and quality falsely advertised. Returning immediately
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2017
Picked this up b/c the movie is fine, I collect Criterion, and the price was right. If you're looking for a good popcorn flick that has some decent supplements, then this is a great option. A good Nic Cage vintage that always goes down smooth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2013
Let me start out by saying, I'm a fan of Metal Gear Solid. If nothing else, this movie is THE movie to watch, if you're at all interested in the Metal Gear Solid video game franchise. It's almost like a foresight into the future of Metal Gear.

Besides that, Harry Gregson-Williams has a perfect fitting score. It contributes to the immersion of the film and is enjoyable to listen to the soundtrack on its own.

Ed Harris is always enjoyable, and his role in The Rock is no exception.

Sean Connery has a slightly different character than usual, though some have said this movie could just be about Bond after being imprisoned for 30 years. How could one ask for more than that?

Nicholas Cage is the same great character actor that he mastered during the nineties.

Overall, this is a great nineties action film with more contentment than the usual, boring, guy action flicks from that time. There's a great, traditional "action film" sense of humor about it. It's a solid title and for only two bucks for this three day rental (cheapest you can find it for by the way!) you really can't go wrong.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2014
It's been a long time since I watched this movie. I still have the VHS and I've watched it on TV a couple times. I just love this movie and it remains one of my favorites. There's just enough drama, humor and action to make it a movie you'll want to watch over and over. I can't believe I waited so long to get the DVD. Sean Connery (at his best) plays a charming bad guy, and Nicolas Cage plays a character who's one of my favorites of all the guys he's ever played. He plays super intelligent but kind of lost and it's funny how things keep happening to him. This movie is so suspenseful and once it gets going you can't stop watching. I dare you!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2013
It's too campy and smart-ass for five stars, but the talent level is high and the 2d characters are played to the hilt. It's a popcorn, check your diploma at the door kind of movie, to be watched for fun, not for scientific achievement or emotional exercise, and on this level it succeeds, completely.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2016
My favorite action film of all time. I've watch this 18 times already.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2003
First of all, how can you fo wrong with Nick Cage, and Connery anyway? If you're like me, and you're the "plot? I just want explosions!" kinda guy, then you'll love this movie. But, if you're reading this, you've probably already seen the movie, and made up your mind.
In terms of DVD transfer, this release is fantastic. TONS of extras (I haven't even gotten around to all of them yet), and the sound/visual quality is up to par with the DVD standard.
So, if you like the movie, this DVD is a great buy - good movies, great extras, you get your money's worth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2014
IF i bought it and its rated 4 or 5 STARS then YOU should WATCH it or READ it. and if your don't end up liking it then you have no sense of good movies so i really don't know how found any of these amazing products
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse