YED Save up to 90% on textbooks Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty Valentines Day STEM Book House Cleaning TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade in and get paid instantly Beat the Cold with Outdoor Clothing on Amazon $50 off select BOB single strollers

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 56 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 79 reviews
on April 26, 2002
Anna Magnani perfectly portrays Tennessee Williams "Serafina DellaRosa", the love lost heroine of his beautiful play.Her portrayal is completely touching and awe-inspiring. I recently shared this film with a very accomplished actor friend who had never seen it, and his reaction was "wow." This is one of my all-time favorite films, and I consider Magnani's performance, for which she rightfully won the Academy Award as best actress, to be one of the most beautiful ever filmed. She says more with her eyes then most actors could ever convey in a whole script.Filmed on location in old Key West, it is steeped in the sleepy, humid atmosphere of that wonderful place. Watch for the bar-fight scene, where Magnani walks in to confront her dead husbands mistress. You will spot the mustachioed Tennessee Williams at the bar. His long-time lover, Frank Merlo, to whom he dedicated the book version of this play, "To Frankie, In Return For Sicily", is also in the fight scene.You can still visit Tennessee's little house in Key West,though it is not on any tour nor open to the public, just ask the locals. You may see the little plaque "the Rose Tattoo", on the gate.If you haven't seen this film (or even if you have), sit on the floor with a glass of red wine & someone you love, and watch the beautiful Anna Magnani create magic from Tennessee Williams equally magical "love play to the world", as he called it.
22 comments| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2008
Burt Lancaster is one of my all-time favorite actors. But it is painful to watch him in this movie. His terrible accent jumps between Sicily and the Bronx. He is "Elmer Gantry" without the proper role or dialogue to match his performance or ability. He is terribly miscast and unconvincing as Alvaro to Anna Magnani's Serafina.

It is no coincidence that for a movie that won three Oscars and received an additional five nominations Lancaster received no recogniton whatsoever from the Academy. He is as convincing an Italian as Donald Trump would be if he tried to act like a modest man.

Magnani won the academy award as Best Actress for her performance in a very bad year for movies (1955). In "The Rose Tattoo" she merely bounces from one emotional outburst to the next, screaming and yelling in each scene. She brings no nuance or subtlety to the character. Marisa Pavan, who plays her daughter, does. Her character's struggle to find love while dealing with an irrational, raging mother brings out a genuine sweetness in her performance.

Magnani's performance with Marlon Brando in "The Fugitive Kind" (1959) is far superior to this one. In that movie, as the long suffering wife, she is sublime and sensual. Her character's strong emotional longings are barely concealed beneath the surface until Brando walks into her life and ignites them.

Either the writing, direction, or both in "The Rose Tatoo" prevent Magnani from exhibiting the dynamic acting ability displayed in the later movie. But Burt, it hurt to watch you in a role you never should have taken, no matter how bad the dialogue.
22 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2007
Magnani was already an international star when lured to Hollywood to do this sterling adaptation of Tennessee Williams's play. The earthy, fiery Italian actress inhabits the central role of Serafina like a second skin. Magnani's powerfully expressive face betrays the conflicting emotions of a proud but wounded woman facing the prospect--and attendant risks--of new love. Though Lancaster is miscast as Alvaro, he wins points for spirit and effort.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2006
I absolutely adore this movie.Burt Lancaster is so different than in most of his roles that I have seen him in as the bumbling truck driver who just wants to please the beautiful lady.My mother and her sisters are of Italian decent and even look and act as tempormental as she does so when I watch this it's kind of like watching a family reunion.The story is superb of the mother letting the daughter grow up and choose her own way.Real life.Wonderfully portrayed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2016
I have never read Faulkner or saw a movie featuring his work. I thought the acting was great, but for me, just a little over the top for drama. I live in Key West so it was nice seeing how Key West looked during that time, and how much it has changed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2016
Burt Lancaster is horrible in this. He overacts. He is supposed to be adorable and he comes off as insane and a creeper. If I were Serafina, I would run away and call the police. Secondly, I just didn't like their performances altogether. Maybe it's just the screenplay, but I think these characters should be more lovable, and I didn't like them. Serafina is earthy and full of a whore/madonna inner conflict. But I just see something in her that is seeking a real man, and Burt Lancaster is just so phony in this that she deserves a better acting partner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2015
A true film classic, The Rose Tattoo is filled with the symbolism that Tennessee Williams' plays always contain, as well as characters having trouble facing up to reality. I love Burt Lancaster in the role of Alvaro, a radical departure from any part he had played before. This story will make you laugh, cry, be outraged and satisfied all at once. Anna Magnani won the Oscar for Best Actress for this role, and she deserved it. It may seem a bit dated by today's standards, but do a little research on Tennessee Williams and you will see that a lot of the prejudices apparent in this movie were rampant at the time the film was made. If you haven't seen it before, see it now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2015
Magnifico! Tennessee Williams' stunning portrait of a widow still fresh, beautiful, and powerfully illuminating view of love and relationships. There is so much to love about this movie - especially Anna Magnani's gorgeous performance. Wild like a gypsy about this movie!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2015
An awesome love story! I laughed and cried. So much emotion from Anna Magnani and Burt Lancaster. A real step out role for Burt. Not what you would usually expect from his performances. The story pulls you in immediately and doesn't let you go until the end, where you wish the movie was a LOT longer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2012
I really love the actors in this film. The chemistry between Burt and Anna was sexy and sweet. The theme of love (beween both the young couple and the older one) was brought to the screen beautifully. It's one of my favorites and I'm glad I found it on Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse