Bubble Witch Saga 3 BCA Month Beauty Magazine Deals Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



on March 6, 2015
My aspiring 6 year old ballerina loves to dance along with the video.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2015
This a beautiful ballet and just wonderful for all ages.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2016
A very complete and beautiful rendition of the ballet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2016
Brilliantly danced. Beautiful costumes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2008
I thought a lot before I bought this production. I actually saw it live at the Kennedy Center during the summer before this was recorded and I was so disappointed. I had waited so long to see the Royal Ballet perform Sleeping Beauty live.
I ought to say here I'm one of probably a few who actually like the Anthony Dowell 1993 production. I think Viviana Durante was amazing and Dowell himself as Carabosse gave the performance of the ages. I wasn't that nuts about the scenery but thought the costumes (especially those in Act 3) were great.
I think the company was just having an off day when I saw the live production. It was a very hot summer day and, to be kind, maybe the heat and humidity was getting to them all. The whole group lacked energy, Sarah Lamb was uninspiring as Aurora. There was nothing between her and her Prince and the Elizabeth McGorian's Carabosse (she normally plays the Queen) looked and acted like she was a little annoyed because she hadn't been invited to a tea party.
Though I suspect Durante with her steely toed performance is much more comparable to Fonteyn, I like this performance and Cojocaru a lot. In fact I like the whole cast a lot and Sarah Lamb is very good as Blue Bird. Cuts in the music don't disturb me too much since almost all the companies take liberties in that area.
Like one of the other reviewers I'm also a fan of the Kirov version with Asylmuratova (and her husband Zaklinsky) but it was recorded at the Bolshoi Theatre and is so dark in places. (Have others noticed that this is often the case with performances recorded at the Bolshoi?) So far it is only on VHS and I've wondered if it will ever come out on DVD because of the quality of the recording.
Anyway, for Sleeping Beauty fans it's well worth having. Since so little of the original production is available today (Act 3 on the "Evening With The Royal Ballet" DVD, a severely cut black and white version filmed for American TV and bits on the Margot DVD) this is the best chance to get an idea of what the original was like.
33 comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2015
my favorite ballet, well executed
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2016
Gift to my grand daughter and she loves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2014
It is simply hard to beat the Royal's spin on this classic. Sir Frederick Ashton and Sir Robert Hepburn are too wonderful as the ugly stepsisters! Amazing dancing!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2016
Was exactly what I needed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2015
Wonderful production.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse