Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. PCB for Musical Instruments $34.99 for a limited time only Handmade Last Minute Gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon JCVJ JCVJ JCVJ  All-new Echo Save $10 on Fire 7. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on May 19, 2014
After surviving an evil psychopathic relationship and writing "THE SECRET LIFE OF CAPTAIN X: MY LIFE WITH A PSYCHOPATH PILOT," I had hoped Mr. Baron-Cohen's book could provide me with detailed information on psychopthy (which is evil!) but the book was true to its title and mostly filled with clinical research on empathy and cruelty. In all, a good read!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 31, 2017
The information presented in this book is not new for the most part. The writing style is clear, concise, appendix and references are very helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 23, 2016
Excellent read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 20, 2017
Interesting Read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 7, 2015
Baron-Cohen lays out an excellent argument for empathy as being one of our most important resources. Without it, the only conclusion is to war amongst ourselves. With it, everyone's needs to be understood and acknowledged are met.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 28, 2014
The author provided lots of information that I was completely unaware of. I would like to hear the book again because there was too much information to absorb it all at one time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 5, 2013
After finishing The Science of Evil, I found it misnamed and a little underwhelming -- Musings on Empathy by a Scientist would more apt. The science felt light, which is odd because the author is clearly knowledgeable and credentialed, and the underlying arguments seemed fairly straightforward and commonsensical: too much or, notably, too little empathy can be bad. A variety of studies showed that parts of the brain light up — or, in some cases, don’t light up — when empathy is in the house and there was a discussion of the “empathy circuit,” an imaginary coil of activity that basically involves the entire brain. There was also some description of various neurologic conditions and a broad and somewhat arbitrary classification system for empathy capturing the bell curve of distribution that seems applicable to almost any topic.

The writing was solid, but the presence of the author and his opinions ever present, so this felt like more of a long op-ed with a few data points, or an intro class lecture, rather than science writing. For someone of his stature to arrive at “the world would be better with more empathy in it,” made for a lackluster journey. I’m glad I read it, but I wish it had been twice as long and much deeper. To be fair, if I’d read this book before Cruelty: Human Evil and the Human Brain (Taylor), I probably would have given it four stars, but I still would have suggested a title change.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 27, 2016
Simon Baron-Cohen is a renoned researcher and in this book he clarifies what could be a difficult concept to grasp.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 14, 2016
All you need to know is in the first 20 pages
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 5, 2017
very good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse