BCA Month Beauty Best Books of the Month Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



on December 4, 2012
I grew up on a family farm in the "Deep South". I've read so many books on farming that I couldn't begin to list them, everything from technical manuals to the Foxfire books. I'd have to say that this one was my favorite. The techniques herein are fantastic, and address everything from slaughtering hogs to making whiskey.

While this book (and a strong back, some tools, and a desire to better yourself) isn't all you'll need to manage a farm properly, Seymour shares some wonderful ideas, more than I few of which I hadn't read anywhere else. This book focuses on "smallholding", which is the idea of raising animals and growing crops that all support one-another, so as to decrease reliance on outside resources. It's an excellent and functional way to farm. Do be advised that a lot of his planting advice is geared more toward cooler climates, so you might want to have an additional manual for additional plants (ones not covered in-depth) if you live in a warmer part of the world.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2017
If you can't get your hands on Country Life by Paul Heiney, this is your next best bet. Nicely illustrated and covers all elements of what it takes to become reliant upon yourself and your land. This book would prove useful to anyone interested in any component of self-sufficiency from a small garden patch to a working farm.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2017
Interesting book with good advice about country living
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2005
The book is very good. The information is extremely usefull. All potential customers shoud however know that "The Sel-Sufficient Life, and How To Live It" is identical to the book"The New complete book of Self Sufficiency" by the same author. While I would highly recomend this book do not order both books. Except for a few words changed in the intro and the preface the books are the same, page for page and chapter for chapter.
11 comment| 272 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2008
This book is an absolute classic in self sufficiency. I don't think anyone seriously considering living "off the land" should leave this out of their library. The author not only lives what he teaches in the book but also teaches it in classes. This is a very well balanced book giving little golden nuggets that you probably never considered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
Excellent book--for those contemplating going off the grid or for those wanting to start a small garden--or for those people (like me) who fall somewhere in the middle of that continuum. Great illustrations and wonderful text. Good reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2015
Heavy LARGE book with tons of info. You won't be disappointed but really is basic information for anyone knew to homesteading or simpler rural living. Covers so many different topics too so really like many books in one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2014
As with all DK books this one is full of useful thoughtful information and clear straightforward diagrams and step-by-step instructions.

Recommended for the person trying to live in harmony with the planet
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2017
Amazing book! Ideal to start suffucuent life learning in early ages!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2006
This book offers all a homesteader or potential homesteader needs to know to get started. Given from a British perspective many of the techniques mentioned may not be legal or practical everywhere. Despite this, I found this to be a thorough guide that covered many aspects of homesteading that I myself had not thought of. Basket and cloth weaving, beekeeping, raising and butchering animals, fishponds for food and food preservation techniques, it's all here and more. At times it is slow reading as being of the same mind as many readers, I found myself looking more for the fantasy of what being a homesteader is like rather than the reality. This is a complete guide on how to be a farmer! I only regret that Mr. Seymour is no longer with us and that we no longer have the benefit of such wisdom.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse