Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services Paterson Paterson Paterson  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 721 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 771 reviews
on January 20, 2015
The best board game ever been invented. Kids growing up playing this game will have a strategic thinking. The best thing about the Settlers is that the board changes every game. I got bored with Risk, Axes and Allies, Monopoly, even Blockus because the board is the same every time and it becomes rather predictable. It's the genius of the Settlers of Catan to have a board that totally changes for each game. It requires you to develop thinking skills and to learn to adapt to use a variety of different strategies to win this game. Very, very satisfied. By the way, my 7 year old daughter learned to play this game as well as my 11 year old son. They can really PLAY! So, it's not just for adults or teenagers. It can be for younger children. We don't let our kids play video/computer games, but let them play this game. It's a great family game. I bought the extension also. As a family of five, it's a lot of fun on weekends and holidays! While most other people just watch TV or play video games and they all do their own thing on their own device, we get to talk, engage, and have a lot of fun playing this game together as a family! Each game will take 1-2 hour. Our fastest game was 35 minutes, and longest two hours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2015
I'm not a huge board-gamer and I absolutely love this game. As with all dice-rolling games, there is an element of luck - however, what I love about this game is that the luck of the roll benefits all players, not just the person rolling. It is relatively easy to learn so it's not hard finding new-comers to try it out. Expect the game to last anywhere between 1-3 hours.

My only gripe (hence the 4-stars) is with the way Mayfair Games packages the cards. When I unpacked the cards, they stuck together and no matter how careful I was, some of the cards were de-faced. This is a problem Mayfair will need to work out on their end, however Amazon happily sent a replacement, which I have yet to see so hopefully they are better the second time around.

Great game! Will be a favorite in our house for years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2015
Pros:
•Allows The Settlers of Catan to be played with official game rules and official game pieces by 3-6 people (standard board for 3-4 or standard board + extension for 5-6) instead of only 3-4.
•May add an interesting dimension to standard 4-player games (probably not 3-player) for those looking for a change (larger board).
•Matches The Settlers of Catan base game perfectly (since it is an official Mayfair Games product)
•Costs a few dollars less on Amazon than in stores

Cons:
•For a game with cheaply made parts, requiring the purchase of this extension for 5-6 player games seems absurd. The Settlers of Catan ought to be sold as a 5-6 player kit – perhaps a "Family Edition for 5-6 Players" would suffice.
•Only allows for 5-6 players and not more

Overall:
•This is fun, but it's overpriced.

Suggestions:
•If you are not concerned with owning an extension using official Mayfair Games parts, you may be better off (financially speaking) assembling your own. Card stock, cardboard, wood, paint and/or crayons, and even plain paper that you happen to have lying around would work well for such a project.
•If you would like to play with 7-8 players, either buy another base game or build your own imitation of the base game that you already have. There are guides available on the web (discoverable via a quick Google search) with rule variants for 7-8 player games with two standard boards merged together.

Lastly, a list of pieces included in this extension may help you know better what you are buying and/or let you determine whether or not you would be interested in building your own:
http://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/2807/settlers-catan-5-6-player-extension
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2015
Its a pretty fun game at first.

You roll to see who goes first and then you lay out one settlement and one road per person going clockwise. The last person places two settlements and two roads and then the order reverses to where the player who went first puts down their second settlement last.

Each tile on the randomized board has a number that relates to a dice role and one of 5 resources. Some dice rolls, like 6 7 and 8, have a higher value in game because they have a higher chance of being rolled. But you must also be careful to have a good mix of all of the resources and not just a single one.

Once starting settlements have been placed, all players grab the resources adjacent to the second settlement they built. The game starts back with player 1 who roles the dice. Everyone collects resouces that are adjacent to any settlements they may have that correspond to that dice roll. Player one may build, buy a development card or pass the dice to the next player to continue the game.

A lot of this game comes down to luck, although there is some startegy in cutting players off and using development cards. After you've played a handful of times, you can almost immediately tell from the beginning who will win and thats kind of a bummer.

If they game didnt rely so heavily on luck, I would 5 star. This game is worth buying to have around, especially for new players. But for serious board gamers, you might try 7 wonders, puerto rico, pandemic or the like.

As always if you have any questions just ask and I'll get back to you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2015
If you like Catan, you obviously need to play with more people. I mean if you're buying this set, you clearly love the game. So, there isn't really much to say about it. It doesn't really change the way you play the game (we don't play that you can play any resource cards you have after each persons turn). This just means you have to have more strategy to make sure you aren't screwed when those blasted 7's are rolled!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2015
If you're looking in to buying this Settlers of Catan extension, chances are you're already a fan of this great game. The extension does exactly what it should, and nothing more: It makes the board a bit bigger and adds some extra coastline to accommodate up to six players. If that's what you're hoping for, you won't be disappointed.

The extension does add one clunky feature to the game: By the rulebook, after each player's turn, the game enters a "special development phase" in which each player is allowed to use resource cards currently in their hand to make developments. There's good utility for this rule - with six players, resource cards accumulate rather quickly, and the likelihood of somebody activating the Robber before your next turn (and, therefore, of you losing half your cards) is greatly increased. However, this phase slows the game down tremendously. We usually wind up just skipping the special development phase, which makes the Robber more frustrating, but which greatly increases the flow of the game.

Settlers clearly works best with four players, but even with minor pacing issues, this extension is worthwhile for slightly larger groups.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2015
If you're buying this you most likely own Catan so there's really no need to explain how the game is played. This expansion adds extra border pieces, two more player colors and more hex tiles to accommodate the larger group. There's also an added rule to speed up the game that allows other players to build after the current player ends their turn. In my experience the ability to build before your turns is a great addition as it keeps you from getting the bad luck of gaining too much resources and losing them all when someone rolls a 7 before it even gets to your turn.

If I had one gripe it's that the expansion comes with new colored tokens that you have to use in place of the one's in the original game. These tokens are only slightly different in color and it makes it hard to identify which color goes with each set. I would suggest you keep the tokens separated in some way so there isn't any confusion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2017
This does not add any more to the game. It just gives you more pieces of the same original game quality. This is needed for larger gaming groups/nights.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2015
Poor color quality in the 4th edition. The wooden pieces are dull and blochy and do not match the previous sets. My mistake for not researching it before hand. Mayfair customer support said they all look like this now so they cannot replace the pieces with the previous higher quality ones. On an up note the tiles are mad of much better material and don't warp.

After speaking live with a representative they explained that previous pieces were from a European manufacturer. These ones are being made in the US with different wood and different stains. I understand that stains and paints go out of availability, and Mayfair has to keep making games, thus tough choices need to be made.

Just a heads up if you have an older Catan edition these will not match, they will look quite a bit different.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2015
I got it because I had to have it. As mentioned in the other reviews, the printing is off... After all, we are all paying so much for what is essentially pieces of card board. Production wise it is not at a hard thing to print correctly. Where is the quality control? The game is SO popular! Wouldn't you want to preserve that by ensuring a top class craftsmanship (by the machines!)
The cost is for the idea behind the game and for the value it has in quality time spent with friends and family. Selling off printed material is not going to take that away but is definitely a cause for concern.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 14 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here