Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Settlers of Catan 5 & 6 Player Extension
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon January 24, 2008
The 5-6 player expansion set of "The Settlers of Catan" includes the following items:

1) Additional land and ocean tiles that increase the size of the island of Catan from 19 land tiles in the 3-4 player game to 30 land tiles [surrounded by water tiles] for the 5-6 player version.

2) A complete set of 30 numbered discs that matches the new, larger island.

3) More cards of each type of resource needed to accommodate more players

4) An addendum set of rules for 5-6 playes that introduces interesting new options for building not included in the 3-4 player game.

Oh, you probably know this, but you should be aware that the 5-6 player expansion is not a stand-alone game, you need the 3-4 player game in order to use this expansion.

OK, why buy the expansion? It, of course, allows up to two more players to join in. Also, the rules addendum includes an interesting twist... between-turn bulding. Because 5 or 6 players means longer times between an individual's turn, the between-turn "open building" arrangement allows players to build or buy things with the cards they hold in their hands (no trading with the bank or other players between turns though!). That not only allows players to get farther ahead when it's not their turn, it also allows them to use their cards so that they are less susceptible to "robber's" 7-card in-hand maximum limit if a 7 is rolled. Plus, 5-6 players in the game provides more player-to-player trade options, etc.

All in all an excellent addition to an outstanding game. It's fun, it's durable, it's interactive, and some say, "addictive."

5 stars all the way!
33 comments| 257 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2008
We LOVE to play this game and wanted to expand our current edition. However, we didn't realize that it would be much different from the previous version. You can play them together, just a little confusing. Just make sure if you are expanding that you get the same edition that you already have. This is honestly one of the most fun games we play. I don't even care that my husband always wins when we play - all of the interaction and bargaining makes it enjoyable for all!
11 comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2010
I had been excited about getting this to allow more players in our regular game night...however what is not listed is that this is made for the later editions where the water pieces are linked together like a puzzle (not the normal hexagon shaped water pieces). Really.. how hard would it have been to crank out a few water pieces to fit the old editions and toss them in the box... boom, all editions are now covered in one shot.

I'm sad to say I had to return this hours after receiving it.
55 comments| 101 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2009
Settlers of Catan has been fun and useful to our family. Our 3 sons (10, 12, and 14) ask to play it any night we are home. Each one of us has won the game at least once, so it is not only an adult game. It has been useful as a simple way to teach how choices determine outcomes. It also forces you to keep your attention on the game, since anyone's roll can give you resource cards. This has been particularly helpful with one son who's attention span is a little short. If he isn't focused on the game and doesn't speak up, he may not realize someone's roll has earned him a resource card.
It takes about 2 hrs to play the game usually since there is a few minutes of setup needed, and we talk and barter too much. Two hrs with our sons laughing and playing with us was well worth the money.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2010
If you love the game "Risk" but can never find people who are willing to be desroyed by your army, this game is a great alternative. Though there are no plastic soldiers, and the object isn't to conquer the world, Settlers offers a 2-6 player party, and takes around an hour to play.

Cons:
It's expensive, and so are the expansions, but so are Xbox 360 games, and settlers is timeless.
The setup time is around 20min, but that includes everyone placing their first settlements.

Pros:
The gameboard changes everytime you play, so it's always a different challenge. Host's up to six playes (with the expansion). Great social game that let's you hang-out while you're playing. Never gets old.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2013
I heard about this game from a friend and once we got it we took it everywhere and introduced it to everyone. It's just a fun and challenging game and once you learn all the rules and strategies it can be a very competitive and addicting game. We've played this game with 12 year olds and 60+ year olds and it's still fun and exciting for everyone. No matter what new games we get we ALWAYS bring this game with us because it's a classic.

"I'll trade you two sheep for two trees". Loads of fun.
review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2008
If you are a fan of Catan, the new edition will not disappoint you. If you are new to Catan, you will love it. My family spends a lot of time with this game. The game is complex enough for adults to be challenged and simple enough for your 8-10 year old to play with you. The expansion pack is a must if you would like to be able to play with more than 4 people. My suggestion, pick up the settlers, expansion pack, cities and knights, and the expansion pack for that and you are in for a lot of family fun!
22 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2015
I have always enjoyed Settlers of Catan and finally purchased the expansion to allow more people to play. The pieces are all the same high quality as the standard game and fit together nicely. I was happy to see that they also have several spare pieces that you can use to make replacements or customize if you choose. This set includes enough additional tiles, cards, roads, villages, and boarder pieces to build the bigger board required for two additional players. The bigger board is great and gives you enough space to allow you to choose to play to a higher point value to play a longer game with only a few players.

One thing I noted is that the boarder pieces included in this set are the new style and connect like puzzle pieces. This is great for keeping the board in place but if you have the old style original game they won’t link up with your old boarder pieces but it doesn’t affect gameplay. The main game tiles work perfect with all versions.

Pros: Huge game board is great for many players or longer games
Extra pieces nice for customization or replacement
Excellent quality construction

Cons: Interlocking boarder pieces will not lock with old style/version of Settlers
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2015
Its a pretty fun game at first.

You roll to see who goes first and then you lay out one settlement and one road per person going clockwise. The last person places two settlements and two roads and then the order reverses to where the player who went first puts down their second settlement last.

Each tile on the randomized board has a number that relates to a dice role and one of 5 resources. Some dice rolls, like 6 7 and 8, have a higher value in game because they have a higher chance of being rolled. But you must also be careful to have a good mix of all of the resources and not just a single one.

Once starting settlements have been placed, all players grab the resources adjacent to the second settlement they built. The game starts back with player 1 who roles the dice. Everyone collects resouces that are adjacent to any settlements they may have that correspond to that dice roll. Player one may build, buy a development card or pass the dice to the next player to continue the game.

A lot of this game comes down to luck, although there is some startegy in cutting players off and using development cards. After you've played a handful of times, you can almost immediately tell from the beginning who will win and thats kind of a bummer.

If they game didnt rely so heavily on luck, I would 5 star. This game is worth buying to have around, especially for new players. But for serious board gamers, you might try 7 wonders, puerto rico, pandemic or the like.

As always if you have any questions just ask and I'll get back to you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2015
I'm not a huge board-gamer and I absolutely love this game. As with all dice-rolling games, there is an element of luck - however, what I love about this game is that the luck of the roll benefits all players, not just the person rolling. It is relatively easy to learn so it's not hard finding new-comers to try it out. Expect the game to last anywhere between 1-3 hours.

My only gripe (hence the 4-stars) is with the way Mayfair Games packages the cards. When I unpacked the cards, they stuck together and no matter how careful I was, some of the cards were de-faced. This is a problem Mayfair will need to work out on their end, however Amazon happily sent a replacement, which I have yet to see so hopefully they are better the second time around.

Great game! Will be a favorite in our house for years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 13 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here