Lyft BCA Month Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



on September 18, 2015
This was an excellent novel. One of the first I've read to put the action on the deck of a modern destroyer. Great read with one exception. The character Ann, who is a couple computer and robotics expert is so outrageously anti military, and is just so downright absolutely unlikable, I was steadily rooting for her to be killed off. She is so unpleasant, and condescending to the naval personnel, and has no desire in anyway to compromise, I couldn't find a single redeeming quality to her. I actually found myself longing to speed passed any section with her. Though she is a major character, she doesn't sufficiently detract from the quality of the story to significantly degrade its enjoyment.
Only request would be for authors, or Amazon, to please start labeling books in a series, and provide their chronological order number. This is clearly part of a series, but can be read by itself. I plan to go back and read the proceeding books now.
Thanks again for an enjoyable series based on modern Tin Cans! This retired Tin Can sailor thanks you!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2016
In “The Seventh Angel,” a military revolt in southeastern Russia puts a former hardline Soviet leader in command of a ballistic missile submarine and its arsenal of nuclear weapons. His goal is to re-ignite the communist revolution and recapture the might and glory of the fallen Soviet Union. Without warning, Russia, Japan, and the United States become hostages in a scheme of international nuclear blackmail. When the warheads start falling and people begin dying, no one can pretend that it’s a bluff. As the earth rushes toward extinction, a lone U.S. Navy warship must penetrate the Siberian ice pack to destroy the submarine before it can destroy the world.

I thought this book was AMAZING. Edwards' experience in the U.S. Navy and as an anti-submarine warfare specialist allowed him to create a story that was believable and realistic. Seriously, my heart was racing as I read this book. Although this book is very detailed and includes a lot of "military speak" Edwards does a good job of explaining it and making it relatable to civilian readers. I cannot wait to read more of Edwards work because he is a phenomenal writer of the military thriller genre!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2015
The rogue leader of an obscure Russian province holds America and Russia hostage with it’s arsenal of nuclear weapons. When the leader orders a submarine (carrying nuclear weapons) to launch one of them at the USA, the threats become very REAL and the US and Russian politicians must scramble to meet the challenge.

America defends itself from the attack as best as it can with its Missile Defense System and then sends a navy destroyer to try to locate the sub and do battle. Much of the story revolves around the actions of this destroyer and its crew.

The story jumps around a bit in the beginning and it’s hard to keep track of things, but eventually it settles into a decent nuclear war thriller.

It seemed like US navy and marine forces were depicted very accurately in this story. But the worldwide scope and complexity of the rogue conspiracy seemed unrealistic to me and hard to imagine. Same goes for the American political response (bring all deployed submarines to the surface and return them to port)……I doubt that would ever happen.

In spite of misgivings about the plotline, I still enjoyed reading this book and stayed with it to the end. Lots of good navy action and even a little romance.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2017
Another tense, high tech outing from Mr. Edwards. I would rate this slightly inferior to Sea of Shadows and Sword of Shiva but still an exciting read. I liked that the author tries to flesh out the characters a bit more than in his other books. The scenario, a rogue Russian ruler with access to nuclear weapons and the will to use them, is chilling and creditable. The action scenes are written in the Author's usual edge-of-your-seat style. Still, it did not play out as tightly as his other books. I still recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is my first Jeff Edwards book. I came upon it completely by chance, I was sent an E-mail from his director of marketing telling me that I would probably enjoy the book since I like Tom Clancy, Clive Cussler and Vince Flynn books.

She was correct. I did enjoy this book and can't read to read another of Jeff Edwards works. His mastery of naval warfare is excellent, his take on the modern state of nuclear warfare is also spot on. In this novel the governor of the region of Kamchatka has partnered with the Chinese to bring about a coup in his provence and breaks away from Mother Russia to declare that they are now the newest nation state of the world. The problem is that the governor is a lunatic. He is the modern day version of Hitler. He not only has gotten the Chinese on his side but he has convinced the captain and crew of a Russian Nuclear Submarine to join him and launch an attack on the United States West Coast.

If you are the President of the United States the last thing you want is to be woken up in the middle of the night and told that a lunatic is in control of a nuclear weapon and is going to launch it at your country. The thrills literally keep coming throughout the book. Kamchatka does launch a Submarine based nuclear missile at the U.S. The warhead is armed with multiple bombs. There are seven of them. Three are real and four are decoys. The question is can the U S Military shoot down each of the bombs before they strike their targets.

In the midst of all this turmoil is Captain Bowie and the crew of the USS Towers. They are on a shake down cruise but end up in the middle of this disaster and are tasked with finding and destroying this runaway submarine before it can launch it's other 15 nuclear missiles. The problem is the submarine has gone under the ice flow and the Towers can't follow it in. So, they have called on a civilian contractor to help them, Ann Roark. Ann is the computer technician for a new robotic mini sub that the navy is doing tests on. If the tests go well then they would purchase a bunch of these mini subs.

But the bugs aren't worked out yet and the mini sub doesn't always respond the way it should. Also the navy personnel haven't been completely trained in it's use. So here we are with a nuclear war threat, a ship that is on it's shake down cruise and a civilian technician and a prototype mini sub that need to become the heroes of the day and save the world. Can they do it? A better question is, do they want to do it?

Ann Roark is not sure that she wants to help the navy find a submarine and kill 130 crew members. That goes against her personal values system. She is not a huge fan of the military nor of war. But yet here she is with a job that is dependent on the military buying a product that she is the creator of. What will she do?

Will the USS Towers be able to find the renegade submarine and stop it before it can Nuke America? Will 130 sailors from Russia die, or will millions of Americans die? Will Captain Bowie and his crew survive the attacks from Russian MIG fighters as well as hunter killer helicopters? Will their stealth mode be enough to keep them alive?

There are all kinds of military questions going on here. There are all kinds of moral questions going on here. There are all the issues that a President must face that will escalate the war to a bigger level. Do you retaliate in kind, or with a greater show of force, or not at all and show restraint? Those are hard questions and the President is hoping and praying that the military can do their job, stop the attacks and that no Americans will die, that way he won't have to make the hard decision.

So, what will happen? Frankly you have to read the book to find out. I will tell you this much, you won't be disappointed with the action sequences. You won't be disappointed with the realism of the issues that the different people are facing and you won't be disappointed with the realistic portrayal of the Military with their heroism but also their fears.

Jeff Edwards did a wonderful job with this book and I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

Enjoy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2017
Russia gas a big, big problem. Its farthest west state has decided to revolt and fight to restore the great Soviet empire. Led by the governor of that state, Comrade Zutoff, he has made a secret pact with China to get soldiers, weapons, vehicles and other items needed to support his revolition in exchange for Russian nuclear warheads. The revolution has begun.

The United States is under threat of attack by nu clear missiles from a runnegade Soviet submarine which takes its orders from Comrade Zutoff

. The USS Towers Captain Bowie and his crew are charged with finding and destroying this very definite threat to the United States.

To make things all the more interesting, a very unsociable computer nerd who prefers working with computers over working with people has developed for her employer, an underwater robot that is the only and last hope of being able to find this Renegade submarine that is hiding under miles miles of Arctic Ice. Will the robot be able to find the submarine in time for the USS Towers to destroy it before it launches its deadly nuclear payload? Only time [and pages of fascinating and exciting reading] will reveal the answer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2015
Another great read by Jeff Edwards.

The USS Towers is back, along with Commander Bowie and his crew. This time they're up in the seas around the Kamchatka Peninsula where a lunatic Russian takes control of a nuclear submarine armed with nuclear missiles. With the help of a female civilian robotics expert who dislikes the military, they go after the Russian, using her Mouse to help destroy the sub.

This book is as good as the last one I read, The Sea of Shadows. Both follow the USS Towers but yet can be read as separate stories. I like the added bits of history (the cold war, the nuclear weapons) and have learned much. I'm not a military person but have really enjoyed reading Mr. Edwards books and learning about the navy and its ships.

If you like a good thriller and one you just can't put down, this is the book for you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2017
I read this techno-thriller yesterday. I liked it a lot and moves along rapidly.

There are a couple of major background events that the author could have expanded on to magnify some of the "color" of the story line but overall I would say if you like Tom Clancy techno thrillers this one will fit the bill. It is worth a read - I have not tried his other books but I am now so tempted,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2015
I picked this book up on sale for $0.99 thinking that I was risking very little- talk about an investment that paid serious dividends! It took me a couple of chapters to get invested and start following Jeff's writing style, but then we were off on a romp that rivaled the Huntfor Red October, Sum of All Fears, and Executive Orders all in one.

I deliberately reference Clancy because this seems to be a new, modern take on some very Clancy like storyline. Unlike other modern techno thrillers Jeff doesn't feel the need to go over the top with swearing or sex, instead he focuses on telling a good tale and allowing that to speak for itself.

The plot has some basic staples that you would expect, but he's willing to also take it in some new and interesting directions. I won't spoil anything here- you'll need to explore it for yourself but I don't think you'll be disappointed once you do. This is the Clancy for the 21st century.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2017
A real page turner. Had to make myself set it aside in exchange for sleep. A great variety of interesting and believable characters. As a former US Navy sailor I appreciated his knowledge of navy lingo. Its been 40 plus years but I still slip every now and then refer to the floor as "the deck."

I'm looking forward to reading more of Jeff's books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here