Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Sheepman
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Water Sports

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$17.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 1, 2009
Glenn Ford plays it straight as a sheepman in cattle country, but with tongue in cheek. I have long waited for this western. If you like Ford or westerns, you will defintiely like this one.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2009
This movie is a gem. It's a comedy/drama which exposes the financial realities of cattle ranching vs. sheep ranching. Naturally it was a hard movie to market.
Set in the land wars of the west the movie starts out light and whimsical as a quixotic sheep rancher stubbornly decides to buck the trend. His fall and fight for principals of right and wrong make for a great movie.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2009
this is my favorite western and i have been after it for so long and i went and bought this dvd which i was disappointed with, it is not the official dvd, the quality is poor and blurry. this film needs to be restored and released by columbia because the film is a top notch western, for me it is better than not having it at all, because it is not often seen on t.v and i love glenn ford, by the way i rate the film 5 out of 5 and just 1 for the quality of the dvd
11 comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This unconventional 1958 western staring a funny Glenn Ford and Shirley MacLain and a serious Leslie Nielson as the villain is filled with humor and satire. Glenn Ford comes to a town in the midst of cattle country and immediately shows how clever he is by taking advantage of everyone and making clever remarks. He starts a fight with the strongest man in town to show that he is stronger and unafraid of everyone and to demonstrate that no one should bother him even though he intends to bring sheep into the cattle country. He soon finds out that the man that is considered the head man of the town, a man determined to get rid of the sheep, is a man he knew back in Texas, a man he almost had a shootout with, Leslie Nielson, a man who changed his name and became quite rich and is now engaged to Shirley MacLain. The film is fun to watch and it is fun to see how he outwits people opposed to him and takes the girl from her fiancé, Nielson.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2008
I thought Glenn Ford was great when I was growing up. I laughed at "Imitation General" and "The Gazebo", but a lot of his work hasn't really stood the test of time. I finally got a copy of one of my favorites - "The Sheepman" - with Ford and Shirley Maclaine, and it did stand the test of time. Some good action and lots of humor.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2011
If you get sentimental about Glenn Ford movies, you'll like this one. It is refreshingly funny - he isn't always, but Shirley MacLaine's comic shtick and overt avoidance of Ford's womanizing Jason Sweet gives the story a rom-com twist. Sheepmen, as history bears out, were anathema to cowboys and cattle owners. Needless to say, once Sweet rides his unflappable self into town, his trouble with locals begins. Leslie Nielson plays Ford's double-dealing nemesis, and affords one with a rare look at his earlier, more serious self. Nobody is serious for too long, however, as the likes of Slim Pickens and other Western character actors do their part to make the film amusing. There is an ironic twist at the end when Sweet is all done with his bovine conflicts.

On the negative side, it has low-budget and obvious background scenes, especially noticeable when Ford and MacLaine are riding together. This wasn't unusual for the time period, but may be particularly disagreeable to younger viewers. The humor doesn't quite rise to the level of Cat Ballou, but you can see where Westerns started to trend in this '58 film.
In short, The Sheepman is better than OK, but not fantastic.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Its hard to go wrong with Glenn Ford, and this is one of many examples of a fairly pedestrian plot elevated by his screen presence. Here Ford shows up in a cattle town with sheep, and immediately sets out to prove that he is not to be messed with. When he discovers an old (sometimes) friend and (sometimes) nemesis (Leslie Neilsen) essentially runs the place as the town's most successful cattle baron, the scene is set for a fairly predictable series of confrontations.

I mentioned in my title that the film is somewhat confused. At times it seems that it wants to try to be a comedy, at other times is seems to want to be a straight cowboy drama. Many of Ford's outrageous series of tactics throughout the film are truly amusing. However, many scenes involving the sheep/cattle tension are deadly serious. This was exacerbated by the presence of Shirley McClain, who was generally at her best in light comedic roles. Here she mainly comes across as confused, as it seems she can't decide between the already present Neilsen, or the flamboyant newcomer Ford.

My criticisms aside, a fan of basic westerns will enjoy this movie. It has all the classic western elements, and it has Glenn Ford!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2014
I really like the story and the characters. I think this is one of Glenn Ford's best westerns. However, this is an HD world. This film badly needs to be remastered and restored to be enjoyed. Have you seen the official Bonanza series on DVD? Beautiful! Believe me, the blurriness is quite a distraction.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2010
This 1958 comedy western stars Glenn Ford and Shirley MacLaine. There are a lot of funny moments in this film. In one scene, Ford tells Edgar Buchanan that he is looking for a man who is completely without honor, a man who is willing to sell out anybody and everybody for as little as fifty cents. Buchanan tries to look offended but when Ford starts to walk away, Buchanan says, "My price for that sort of thing starts at least a dollar."

The story is pretty familiar to western fans but the first 15 minutes are full of surprises. (Do not read the back of the DVD case or you will spoil the surprise.) The chemistry between Ford and MacLaine is delightful. The photography in this film is beautiful and the musical score is both tender and heartwarming. If you like westerns with a bit of romance and a lot of laughs, this movie is for you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2011
Although he never received an academy award -- or even a nomination -- Glenn Ford was was of the most consistently outstanding actors of the Golden Age of movies. Somehow he excelled at everything from action and adventure movies to romance and comedy, and he was one of the very best western stars. His versatility made him just right for this unusual western which combines romance and comedy with action and adventure. This is one of my half dozen favorite westerns -- ahead of many which are far more famous. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$8.25

Need customer service? Click here