Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Sherlock Holmes: A Study in Scarlet
Workplace Solutions Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 12DoD - Beauty Gifts for Him hgg16 Get up to $100 back on House Cleaning services LostinOz LostinOz LostinOz  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Baby Gift Guide

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 40 reviews(verified purchases). Show all reviews
on January 7, 2008
A true MUST for Anna May WONG fans. Although she has few lines, and a very limited screen time as her usual dragon lady, this PRE-CODE movie offers many good details that makes this movie 5 STARS for Wong fans....SEE! Wong smoke a cigarello while viewed from inside a fireplace. SEE! Wong dressed in a nightgown while making a pass at another woman. SEE! Wong completely wasted in this movie with a cast of two dozen.
This movie is a BIG MISTAKE for any Sherlock HOLMES fans. SEE! perhaps the worst Holmes characterization in film history! The awful insipid actor playing Holmes here is no match for Wong, who has second billing yet with only minimal material to work with. Of course WONG takes over the screen whenever she appears, and here she appears in the great bonus of terrific costumes..various depression era western rich woman's couture, and is simply stunning. The film itself has a startling high quality opening scene of which Hitchcock himself would be most proud, and a few good angel shots scattered through out the movie to help raise this short poverty row "14 day shoot" film to a keeper for Wong fans. However, as I am a Holmes fan as well, for me, repeat viewings willall include many fast forwards, as I would estimate that Wong sadly appears in only about 5% of the movie, which means that the opening scene, and Wong's appearances is all that is worth repeat viewings..but they add up to this DVD being very very well worth inclusion with your Wong section of your DVD library. THE QUALITY of the non-restored film was much higher than expected, and it is a very viewable DVD. Because of it's tiny market share, do not expect to ever find a better copy. I remain, still hoping for a restored full version of Shanghai Express.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2016
Good story line - but how could it be anything less with Sherlock Holmes. The issue I had was with the quality of the video. Sound more than anything. but it is an old old old version. I would turn it up but then the voices would be distorted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2016
Plot is good. Acting OK. Would have rated it higher if the film video and sound were any better, but after 83 years, what can you expect. However, it is still worth watching, especially for Sherlock Holmes fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2016
Can't stand this version After watching Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce for a long while now!!!! Not the same quality Homes!!!! Rathbone will Always be the Original Sherlock Holmes!!!! Really Not the same....I gave it a shot but can't take it any longer than a section of it. Sorry....I tried.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2016
What is it with people giving this a low rating and complaining about s***ty acting, or it's boring or the noise quality sucks...HELLO!? The movie is 80+ years old.

But I am wondering if I am the only one noticing the poem and how similar it is to Agatha Christie's "And Then There Were None."

I'm enjoying it. I love everything Sherlock.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2011
Seeing this dvd has made my wife and I appreciate more the high quality video transfers done by UCLA (for the Basil Rathbone movies) and the BBC (for the Jeremy Brett series). Although Basil Rathbone appears on the cover of the packaging, he is not in the movie. Sherlock Holmes is portrayed by another actor, Reginald Owen. Moreover, the audio and video are of very low quality.

Although this dvd was cheap at $4.50, I'd regard it as over-priced. Better to wait for the move to appear on TCM or get a re-mastered version of the dvd and than spend your money on such a poor product as this. Too bad because the storyline does have some interesting twists and turns.

My wife and I have enjoyed most of the other Sherlock Holmes productions, particularly those with Jeremy Brett in the title role. But this dvd is not worth one's time or money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2015
My husband is a great fan of quality Baker St. movies. This qualifies as such!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
More Hollywood than Holmes, 1 Dec 2007

1932's A Study in Scarlet is a creaky Sherlock Holmes movie shot in California with a predominantly American cast and only a passing relation to the novel. Reginald Owen just about gets by as Holmes, but he's an insufferable know-all in the script who makes pronouncements of guilt without ever once being required to explain the deductions that led to them: people just blindly accept his word because, well, he's Sherlock Holmes. Anna May Wong at her worst makes for a poor femme fatale, Warburton Gamble makes an anonymous Watson and even Alan Mowbray, playing sober for a change, isn't able to liven up Lestrade. Eminently missable, especially in this ropey public domain DVD transfer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2016
I am an avid SH fan. Wrote several graduate papers on the detective and the author. We watched the whole thing - loyalty I guess.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 10, 2016
The sound was so terrible I could not finish watching it. The movie was OK, but the sound was aweful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse