Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services powers4premiere powers4premiere powers4premiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 76 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 111 reviews
on October 7, 2009
I've wanted to see this film for the longest time -- ever since I first read about it in the book "Cult Movies" by Danny Peary. I was not disappointed. "The Shooting" is one of the most interesting -- and one of the weirdest -- Westerns ever. Imagine a Spaghetti Western written by Rod Serling, adapted from a Samuel Beckett play. Throw in the following: the great Warren Oates, an evil Jack Nicholson, a bitchy Millie Perkins, some hellish desert locales, and a truly bizarre ending -- a definite must-see.

The film itself deserves 5 stars -- but Madacy's DVD transfer is...well, not bad, but hardly the best. (Well, at least it's letterboxed.)

There was a top-quality DVD put out by VCI a few years back: digitally-restored, with a commentary track by director Hellman and Millie Perkins. (VCI provided the same treatment for their DVD of the companion film, "Ride the Whirlwind", also directed by Hellman and starring Jack Nicholson.)

Both "The Shooting" and "Whirlwind" VCI DVDs are now sadly out-of-print -- here's hoping for a re-issue of those restored transfers!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2016
Excellent quality for a couple of lesser know western classics, 'The Shooting' starring a great performance by Will Hutchins of 'Sugarfoot' fame, showing he had the acting chops to warrant more decent roles, which sadly never came his way, also a young Jack Nicholson beginning his climb to the top, fortunately, unlike Will, he got the breaks! 'Ride The Whirlwind' not quite as good, but still an interesting film! Great that they've been preserved in pristine condition like this!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2001
If director Monte Hellman's THE SHOOTING is not the cult movie by excellence, I'm ready to watch the whole production of Jackie Chan available here at ... . DVD's and VHS. Without fast forwarding.
Shot entirely in the gorgeous Utah desert sceneries, THE SHOOTING relates the story of a hunting. Who is hunted and who is hunting is one of the multiple unanswered questions of this unusual western. The name of the character played by Millie Perkins is never uttered, she is only credited as "The Woman". Is she the mother of the child Warren Oates's brother would have hurted during a ride into town ? Just guess.
Monte Hellman and Jack Nicholson were both part of producer Roger Corman's unbelievable nest of future stars, they teamed up in 1967 for THE SHOOTING and RIDE IN A WHIRLWIND shot simultaneously. All I can say is that THE SHOOTING is a kind of UFO in the american production of this period and deserves to stay in your collection as an example of what can be done with a restricted budget and a lot of good ideas. Simply amazing.
I had a few problems with the menus of the DVD, never knowing where I was because the different available features were not lightened. But fortunately I know how to count until ten and made my way through the menus where I discovered filmographies, a picture gallery, different trailers and a very informative commentary said by Monte Hellman and Millie THE WOMAN Perkins. I eventually learned that Jack Nicholson was helped by a technical trick when he had to draw his gun. Simple but efficient.
A DVD for your library.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
Not impressed with the action, no real discernible story in this movie. I feel like I wasted my time thinking it would develop into more of a western thriller.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2016
Bored to death after 15 minutes viewing both films. Went into the recycle can with relish.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2017
These are two psychological antiwesterns, particularly THE SHOOTING, so there is no so much action and shootings but...Great extras
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2017
Not only the first "acid western" but Monte Hellman's "The Shooting" is one of the greatest existentialist films ever made and probably the greatest American existential film. As well as one of the greatest westerns also. Add to that mix Jack Nicholson and the hugely talented Warren Oates and this is a film that is a must see.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2015
great!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2015
Didn't understand the end- I assumed that they were chasing Coin so that wasn't a surprise. I didn't understand why men came to their mine or camp concerning the accident of the child but didn't follow them It was confusing. I also understood that the main character knew they wanted to kill someone yet he himself stated there would be no killing, Didn't understand -since there many killings -and didn't know how Coin could kill his brother and the girl with one bullet. Coin was wearing a light shirt and the guy walking at the end had a light shirt and vest- was that the bad guy? What happened to Coin?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2016
Good western
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse