BCA Month Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Wonderstruck PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on February 17, 2015
Dr. Maura Isles returns home from a conference in France to find the police at her house and a dead body in a car parked in front. Not only that, the dead person looks exactly like her! Thus begins not only a case to find the murderer, but also one where we find out more about Dr. Isles' past.

In this book, we tend to learn more about Dr. Isles than Detective Rizolli--who is 8 months pregnant. Well-written and suspenseful with a great twist or two.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2015
I have always enjoyed these two main characters and letting their personal lives intrude made this a deeper story than usual. Gerritson always writes a great clinical murder mystery, but this time each of the main characters hearts are on display. We have always known there was more to Dr. Isles than being the Queen of the Dead, but this story shows a bit of why she is the way she is. Rizzoli finally must come to grips with her insecurities not only as a woman cop, but as a woman. The mystery part was pretty good too although it really played second hat to the character stories. I look forward to the next book in the series knowing that I will get a fast paced thriller and a good dose of smart aleck Rizzoli and logical Isles.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2017
Trigger warning for pregnant women.

Compelling. Stand-alone that is easy to follow but difficult to read due to emotional impacts. No drag-you-down drama. Some scenes are graphic.

Storyline has several twists to keep the reader guessing. There are two separate scenes at the end of the story, one is sad and the other humorous.

Believable characters with distinct personalities. Thought-provoking dialogue.

'Hopeless causes might be seductive, but they seldom brought you happiness.'

I may re-read this story and always look forward to works by this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2017
Maura Isles returns to Boston from a conference in Paris to find her home surrounded by police. She approaches Jane Rozzili and is unnerved by the shocked stares of everyone. Why are they looking at her like that? In a car parked in front of her house is a dead woman and as Dr. Isles looks at her she finds herself staring at her own corpse. The victim turns out to be a twin sister the adopted Maura never knew she had. Her search for her real identity leads her to a bleak house in Maine filled with a dark and horrifying secret. This book was a suspenseful and creepy page turner leading to an ending I never saw coming. Don't miss this one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2013
First there was Detective Jane Rizzoli, then you were introduced to Maura Isles, now you get to know her as Tess Gerritsen tells you a part of the story through her point of view. You get to see where she lives and how she works beyond the operating table in the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner. Two nuns were attacked in a Convent, one a young runaway from a family of skeptics and the other a old-aged humanitarian. Each had a deep dark secret, but whose was the reason for the attack? In Maura's personal life, she is reunited with her ex who just happens to be home for the holiday. A philanthropist doctor. Jane, the investigating Detective on the case on the other hand has been feeling sick for the last few days. The reason for her morning sickness is something she rather not have her colleges know about and especially not Agent Gabriel Dean, the FBI Agent who helped aided her in The Apprentice. This one keeps the material especially the contents of the crime dark while at the same time shedding some light into the background of the principle characters of the series. There seems to be more focus on Dr. Isles, but you'll barely notice it so it'll seem like they're equally spread out. Lepers, a corporate scam, religion, love and family are some of the topics that come up in this excellent page-turner that surpasses The Apprentice. With Maura have a more prominent role in this book as opposed to The Apprentice, I think it is safe to say that this was the first Rizzoli & Isles novel.
Also I'd like to add, that unlike the TNT drama series, Rizzoli & Isles relationship in this book isn't as girlfriends, but rather close working friends. Jane is bound to meet Maura from time-to-time, but not as often as seen in the show. In here their relationship is more like Lennie Briscoe and Claire Kincaid.
If you felt uncertain after reading The Apprentice, buy this book and you will wish you had read the books first.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2017
I didn't guess exactly whodunit, but I was in the ballpark. The denouement/climax was done pretty well. No cliffhanger, no funny stuff, for which I am always very grateful. For some reason I couldn't really care much about the main characters. The plot is complicated enough and there are some red herrings that were well done, although parts seem contrived to me. But I'm not so sure I will continue reading the series. This was #4, I think.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2017
This is a good, solid mystery with one surprising twist that raises the bar for mystery series books. Readers unfamiliar with the BOOKS as opposed to the TV show will be confused by the major differences between the TV incarnations and the Tess Gerritsen novels. This time Dr. Isles is in jeopardy as the secrets of her birth family come to light.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2017
This was the first book I read by this author and it was interesting , but the TV portrayals of Rizzoli and Isles were far better. Who can imagine Jane Rizzoli married and 8 months pregnant and Maura Isles with dark hair from a heritage that doesn't even come close to her TV mom.

Maybe if I never saw the TV Series (and I was a devoted fan) I would have a different opinion, but this is one book where the TV programs were much better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2017
Gerritsen can write, and can build suspense. But she is careless, too much that should have been part of police routine isn't done. And she reduces too much to cliche and pithy sounding but ridiculous soundbites. She's created some great characters but fails them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2013
So the fourth installment of the Rizzoli and Isles novel series (I enjoyed the first three books so much I have gotten the whole series!). Body Double is fairly… …mellow… - not a heart-thumping-edge of-your-seat thriller but fairly paced one that kept me interested and turning the page. Maura Isles is mostly central for this story plot in which she discovers she has a twin sister (who unfortunately is found dead in the beginning of the story) which sets her off on a personal journey to discover her roots, her romantic storyline develops a bit more from the third book as well but it is Rizzoli who is the key bringing everything together for a thrilling conclusion.
Maura’s discovery of having a twin is the trigger for her to find out who her birth mother was and potentially if she has any biological family. Rizzoli is investigating the murder of Maura’s twin and through some twists and turns, she realizes that there may be a link between Maura’s personal investigation, her own and the fact that there is a moving line of disappearing pregnant women.
Again another good read from Tess Gerritsen and totally recommended!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse