Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry SpringEvent_Lawn_and_Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon westworldS2 westworldS2 westworldS2  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SWMTVT18_gno

The Skeleton Key [HD DVD]
Format: HD DVD|Change
Price:$14.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on November 13, 2014
This is a wonderful supernatural thriller.
Gena Rowlands and John Hurt are consummate veteran actors; true masters of their craft.
They always embrace the audience in a captivating aura of their extraordinary acting skills that are proven time and again in their long and distinguished careers. They are versatile, multi-dimensional actors who are the true backbone of this film.

Kate Hudson is good, perhaps very good, but it is not she who truly shines in this film. Although she is supposed to be the focal point of the story, it is Gena Rowlands who proves to be the riveting center of attention.

Overall, the story is well written and superbly directed. It is satisfyingly entertaining and engaging with a wonderful ending.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 18, 2017
This is an awesome horror movie no one ever seems to remember. I thought it was very exciting and it drew me in. Not a perfect movie, not like academy award material, but I highly recommend it. You'll want to watch it twice because once details emerge at the end it's like watching a different movie. It's especially great for those who don't like excess gore/sex, good for families with older kids who want a good horror movie, other than a minor flash of side boob and nude back there is no sex/nudity and not a lot of gratuitous gore. Mostly just good storytelling.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 25, 2016
This wasnt the first time i had seen the skeleton key. But with my new found love of new orleans i had to watch it again. I could remember back to the first time i watched this movie and i remember being scared and shocked at how the movie ended. Watching it again at an older age i was able to appreciate the film as a film more and was able to understand and take in a lot of the information about voodoo. Great movie, one of my favorites.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 6, 2006
Caroline Ellis (played expertly by Kate Hudson) is a hospice nurse, who, sick of the "assembly-line" treatment of the gravely ill in the nursing homes, accepts a job to care for an elderly stroke victim in a private manor house out in the fecund bayou of New Orleans. Hired by a lawyer named Luke (Peter Sarsgaard, 'Shattered Glass' and 'The Cell'), Caroline meets with Violet and Ben Devereaux (Stunning performances from Gena Rowlands and John Hurt). Ben is completely incapacitated from having a stroke in the attic of the old house, and Violet is a no-nonsense woman who acknowledges the need of someone to help her out but prefers her isolation.

Caroline takes the job and moves in, taking instructions from Violet on her "remedies" for Ben. Caroline finds it odd that there are no mirrors in the house, but Violet passes it off as old people not needing any reminders of age. Even as Caroline attempts to settle into the decrepit and yet intriguing old house, strange events begin to happen. Ben attempts an escape, somehow managing to get through his window and fall to the ground below.

Violet begins to slowly reveal some of the area, and the house's, secrets to Caroline as she warms up to her, telling her tales of HooDoo, a black-heritage form of magic similar to VooDoo. Violet assures Caroline that HooDoo only works if the victim `believes' in it, but Caroline notices signs of HooDoo protection spells all over the Devereaux's property.

Caroline becomes involved deeper and deeper into the sinister and disturbing setting of the old plantation house, and with her skeleton key that will open every door, eventually discovers the part of the attic where Ben had his stroke, and the frightening oddities inside. Caroline knows that there is something wrong inside the house, and something wrong with Violet's explanation of Ben's illness. Caroline, having failed to help her father when he was ill, vows to do everything she can to help Ben.

'Skeleton Key' is a beautifully creepy movie, set deep in the mysterious bayou lands, using the backdrop of swamps and an outstandingly dark and unique plantation house to set the atmospherically sinister environment for this tale of understated terror. There is no gore, but what the film lacks in blood it makes up for in spookiness.

If you are looking for an intense psychological thriller with a large dose of black magic and a wonderfully twisted ending, then make sure you pick up a copy of 'Skeleton Key'. Definitely worth a purchase rather than rental.

Don't forget to watch the special features on HooDoo vs VooDoo, and the real life story behind the plantation house where 'Skeleton Key' was filmed. Enjoy!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 23, 2016
I live in the south so I like seeing films set down here. The hoodoo thing, it's a cool premise that you must believe in it for it to work.
I missed that the first time I saw it.
Sinister voices and spirits at work in a mansion in Louisiana. A need-to-help college girl ventures out of her realm and into Theirs,
and guess what happens..!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Top Contributor: Cookingon December 21, 2016
I have watched this again and again over a few years. I guess its the New Orleans Southern thing going on. I like the music and folklore. I guess you have to have a connection to understand...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 1, 2018
I first watched this movie on cable almost 10 years ago. I thought it was so good that I never forgot about it and wanted to order it on Amazon. Watched it again, and it was just as good/creepy/menacing as I remembered. Great acting with an excellent plot that constantly keeps you guessing. (Note: Too scary for kids.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 19, 2017
Good movie and I didn't see the end coming until near the end. It's more of a psychological/suspense than horror, which I like. It's nice to see Kate Hudson in something more dramatic than her usual romantic comedy fluff and she did a good job. Definitely worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 16, 2016
Good supernatural horror movies are rare, but this one makes the grade. Set in New Orleans, where voodoo just might slip its fingers into reality. Kate Hudson is believable as a nurse that gives a damn about her patients. The ending has a spectacular evil twist that brings everything together. If you like movies that end like "Sixth Sense", check this out.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 16, 2017
Decent horror film. Wish it was a bit longer, and didn't rush the obvious. Few twists were nice, especially the ending. Because of this film, I researched the lyrics to "Iko Iko" and love the new music. Peter Skarsgaard gives yet another good performance, and Kate is very relatable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here