Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 274 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 494 reviews
on January 29, 2015
If you want some technical tips on how to be the next Warren Buffet, go grab a copy of Ben Graham's Security Analysis from 1934. But if you want a look at the man Warren Buffett, you have come to the right place. Want to know what kind of family man Buffet is? Want to know how a billionaire treats his children? Or how a young millionaire budgets money to his homemaker wife? Fascinating stuff.

You can also learn about his early career and how he got started, as well as his father the politician and the impact that had.

To many of us Warren Buffet is a billionaire investor who knows the ins and outs of Wall Street way better than most of us. Being a financial celebrity, you would expect to find his whole life online. That though isn’t the case with Warren. Little was known about his personal life until Alice Schroeder wrote this book- The Snowball: Warren Buffet and the Business of Life. Reading through the book you will realize that you don’t have to be successful after everyone else has failed. Warren, commonly known as the “Oracle of Omaha” is a financial investor who also doubles up as a mentor. For only $13.84, you will get to meet Warren in this 832 pages book. He will endow you with timeless financial wisdom and proper business ethics that aren’t taught in school.

His practical approach to life will motivate you to kick start your own. The pity party story that one may tend to propagate as reason as to why they aren’t succeeding will diffuse after reading this book. Warren worked to be where he is currently and was never born with a silver spoon. He is a practical inspiration. As you read along, you will learn that no man is an island and that having a strong support system will go a long way in ensuring you succeed. For example, his associate Charles Munger has been his associate since 1959. It doesn’t have to be the perfect system but rather a unit you can count on.

The book is full of insights and it is by reading it that one will be able to grasp and even apply some of the insights in his/her life. Unlike some autobiographies that are boring to tears, this one is different. There are hilarious snippets after every other chapter and with no time you will complete reading the autobiography and even probably re-read it. It will feel just like the first time you opened the book to read. Alice has also included notes to help you understand the book better.

The title of the book is a metaphor that depicts the ever growing wealth of Warren. The book is lengthy and has a lot of details some of which one may not find necessary but the conversational writing that Alice has employed in penning this book will keep you glued to the book. This is a must read book that walks you through the life of a legend.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2015
Although i did not understand the business deals and the financial ideas like a business pro would. but this book kept me turning pages because how it is written, personal matters of warren intertwined with business let you go inside the head of a giant man and learn something about success.
I recommend this book to anyone who is looking for inspiration.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2014
I read this book on a beach in the Caribbean so my review may be tainted by the warm sands, cool ocean breeze and sun tanned bodies...but I really liked this book.

It's fascinating to hear the life stories of people who started so small and made it so big. And there's no one who's made it bigger than Warren Buffett.

If you like studying the principals of success like I do, pay close attention to the pivotal moments of Buffett's life. Most of them involved an adventure, a connection made with someone influential, and a lot of risk. And this biography does a great job of capturing and sharing those moments, blemishes and all.

Not all of his risks paid off, especially early in his life, but he kept trying different things until a pattern of success emerged. That's a lesson we can all learn, and there are many more just like it waiting for you in this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2017
I love this book however the condensed version is missing the freshness and honesty of the first publication. Reads almost the same if you want the big picture, but the parts removed revealed the personality, fragility and humanness of Mr. Buffett and his family. Like many others' sentiments, this is a man I would like to meet.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2014
I bought and read this book shortly after it came out, and then purchased another copy recently for my brother-in-law. As I read it, I was pleasantly surprised at how it held my interest. First, it is long. Second, it is about a subject for which I am ill informed (economics). Third, it is a biography and I don't typically enjoy biographies. But as the pages rolled on, I came to understand that Warren Buffett is an extraordinary man, whether one buys into his politics, vision of the world, or his methods. And extraordinary persons hold a fascination for all of us. Despite many newer and older biographies, I think this one will stand the test of time.

This man has truly made his own way in the world in all spheres. He has his personal habits and quirks and follows his personal guidance in most aspects of the world. I admire him for his success and his ability to do this on his own. He is surely one of America's most notable icons. And not all of that is good. He has foibles, shortcomings, and lapses of judgement just like the rest of us. That glimpse of the clay feet goes to why this book held my interest. Straight praise and deification make a poor story, and this is anything but a poor story. If I could give it a 4.8 or 4.9, I would simply because it is so long, but barring that, it is 5 star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2015
Bought the book as a gift so don't know how it was liked by the recipient! I have a copy myself and found it very interesting in regard to Mr. Buffett's early years as a young boy and how he started making money by selling bottles of pop at a profit! I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in Warren Buffett's life.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2017
An incredible book, perfectly written, a must read for anyone who likes WB!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2017
Fabulous and very detailed portrait of Buffett. Amazed that author was allowed to describe aspects of Buffett that are not kind. Treated his wife badly.mShe was like a mother to him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2016
Warren Buffet the man behind the fortune, a must read for those who want to know how this man grew up to accumulate his wealth. Hopefully another will exist in this lifetime. Truly a great read for any age.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2014
This book covers Warren Buffett's life, including many personal details about his childhood and early career. This book would be ideal for someone who wants to understand how Warren made his billions. The author is a former insurance stock analyst, so is very able to explain many of his financial decisions and principles. It examines not only his many talents and accomplishments, but also his weaknesses and failures.

Overall, the book is excellent for showing the "whole" Warren, from both business and personal perspectives, and analyzes the interplay between the two sides of his life. For me, reading this book was a fascinating insight into the life of a contemporary business leader.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse