Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Echo $129.99 All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis B06ZY5XM7W Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,640 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 2,831 reviews
on May 3, 2016
I'll watch any movie that Roger Ebert rates 4 stars, so naturally I gave this a shot. My first impression was that it was going to be another Perks of Being a Wallflower, but I was thoroughly wrong. The Spectacular Now is indeed a coming of age story, but it's real. It is such a human interest story that any one, even without the same hardship of having a deadbeat Dad, can relate to. Sutter, the films protagonist, is an 18 year old male with a slight drinking problem. He's not the heavy drinker at a party on the weekend guy, instead Sutter totes around a flask in his pocket and takes swigs from it throughout the day. Of course there's a girl, but she's just a vehicle for Sutter's character, and she plays the part. There's moments where you really think he's going to do something bad, it has that haunting aspect to it that you expect from such a vulnerable age group, but what happens is truly spectacular, and the climax is more real than a good book or even a true experience because it doesn't fall completely apart or rise to some perfect happy ending. See for yourself, it is definitely worth the watch.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2015
The acting in the movie was great. I personally love the relationship between the main characters and the kind of brokenness to the male character. Males can be broken and bad at love just the way a female can and it was good to see that explored. There is a bit of heaviness to the plot, lots of sadness and so on, but I loved the parts when it was happy and showed the main characters together. There are a thousand things that people can point out to be wrong with anything but the important part is the good that there was and there was a whole lot of good in this film. It sent a message about love, relationships that might not always be the best for you, alcoholism and family dynamics. People usually watch movies to escape but this movie has so much reality in it it makes it hard to do so. However, it is worth swallowing the harshness of reality to see this beautiful story.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2016
High School Senior Sutter is the likeable school clown and moderate lush. He has become so good at shutting out his pain he also shuts out everything that is good for him, he just doesn't care anymore. He loses a girl he wants and finds one by happenstance that is right for him but he is an expert at destroying everything that is good for him, so he sabotages the relationship with awesome girl who loves him. He finally gets serious about life, but is it too late?

Well acted and heartfelt, this is a good movie and lesson.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2016
The thing that stands out about this movie is the overwhelming sense of realism. This is not some fantastical movie-world, with a perfectly done set and coiffed dialogue. This is real life. This is flaws, shoddy scenery, nervous laughter, and unpolished conversation. As a teen, this is probably one of the most realistic depictions I have ever seen. Not about the alcoholism, or about the various crises, but about the heart that both Sutter and Amy share. The charisma. The general scheme of love and uncomfort, and how sometimes all you need is someone in your corner to make you laugh.
This is real life.
And that deserves all the stars in the world.
(I also love Sutter as a character, and thought his character development was off the charts. Just, FWI)
xxx
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2017
I had this saved as my after hard week at work light movie treat. Not light but also VERY BORING. Half way through I lost interest. I usually see movies till the end but this literally felt like wasting time. 45 minutes of wasted time was enough. I actually like both of these actors in other movies, so it must be the script.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2015
I will have to preface this review by saying that both Shailene Woodley and Miles Teller are favorites of mine. Having said that this is on of those "I don't deserve you" kind of movies. Miles is a live life now guy with a lovely girlfriend who is fed up with him not wanting to be someone. He Gets Shailene to tutor him and she starts to have feelings for him and he still has eyes for the ex....well you get the gist. it is a typical story but the charming and eloquent actors playing those parts bring this just a cut above.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2015
I came into this movie not sure what to expect - i'm a guy watching a chick-flick after all. While this movie has it's flaws, it still is executed brilliantly. Myles Teller and Shailene Woodley both shine in this book-to-movie adaptation that all to well depicts high school life. The ending is the perfect mixture of frustrating, alluring, and relieving (if that makes any sense). I had to take to the internet for an explanation and I found out that...people are divided about it and say it is open to interpretation. You'll have to watch it to see what I mean.

This movie was free with my Amazon Prime and I don't know how to feel about it being the first show I watch with it - on one hand, it was very well done, on the other - it set the bar pretty high. You won't regret watching this movie - I am beginning to love Shailene more and more every movie I see her in.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2015
Fantastic coming of age movie and the difficulties of today. I really related to the main character and his personal life, specifically in the struggles he was facing. Woodley did a great job presenting this damaged yet focused beacon of hope. Her simplicity in face really captures what she is trying to do, and I don't think some sexy actress would be able to portray the same vision without it contradicting her face. The ending can be a bit hard to swallow, but I thoroughly enjoyed the film... and I'm not film critic. I just wanna recommend this film to anyone looking for a different type of romance drama.

The settings were super believable, it felt like high school, and the relationships and dialogue felt like young adolescence. I even got this weird swirling feeling in the pit of my stomach at certain points, when the drama got intense, because I felt like I was there and it reminded me of how I felt in high school. All the anxiety and drama of trying to be good enough, the giddiness, the reckless abandon.

The roughest and hardest moment to believe is more than halfway through the movie, no spoilers, but the movie doesn't sell the scene very well, and the rest of the movie continues as if nothing has just happened, and I know in real life there would be huge repercussions for such activity.

All in all still say, WATCH THIS MOVIE!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2015
However much the storyline might seem a bit of a Good Will Hunting ripoff, there's not a performance one that isn't the real thing. And where it would have been easy to take cheap shots -- like demonizing the blonde ex-girlfriend or glorifying her new boyfriend beyond reason -- it doesn't. I'm not in favor of glorifying alcoholic high schoolers either, but they come in many varieties, just like all people do. This one is particularly likeable in the gentle and generous hands of Miles Teller, and he's met more than halfway by the incredible Shailene Woodley. Their characters are both wounded birds who are lucky enough to meet and offer the possibility of redemption. Whatever, it's impossible not to love them. With a solid cast behind them, good direction and editing, and a script that probably offers each viewer a realistic glimpse of some corner of their own coming of age to some degree, you can't lose with this film. It's become a real favorite of mine, and Teller and Woodley have shot to the top of my list of actors I will go to see, no matter how their films are reviewed. They are truly at the head of a new generation worthy of the legitimacy that Paul Newman and Joanne Woodward brought to an older generation. It's too late for me to see the legacy I expect them to build, but if there's a heaven, I'm hoping for theatres in the spectacular hereafter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2015
Expected a film about redemption and kept hoping for main character to find some insight or grow into a decent human being. We waited...watched...and, no, he was still an irresponsible, destructive, egotistical loser all the way to the end. Worse than that, the described "good girl" compromisses and abandons all her own promising values to become his co-dependent sidekick. Truly sad. Good acting, but I wonder about the mental and emotional fitness of the writer and the filmmakers who think this was a good story.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse