BCA Month Salon Beauty Fall Reading Women's Coat Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now FFII_gno



on October 29, 2012
Of all of Harry Harrison's works, the Stainless Steel Rat series is for my money the most enjoyable. A sly mixture of SF and humor employing equal quantities of satire and parody, with a memorable character at the heart of the stories.

James Bolivar 'Slippery Jim' diGriz is a gleefully anarchic hero with a strong moral center. 'The Stainless Steel Rat' is the story of how this highly individualistic career criminal of the future is recruited into the Special Corps to track down other, more malevolent law-breakers.

This book was one of the shining gems of my teen reading years. The sequels were even better.

It is a "lock-'em-in-the-hole-and-torture-'em-with-'The-Sound-Of-Music'-24/7" crime that the Stainless Steel Rat has not yet reached the big screen.

As for this Kindle edition. 4 out of 5 stars, thanks to a few niggling transcription errors that should have been picked up by the proof-readers.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2017
Harrison and the rat at their best hijinks. Not to forget his deadly darling and their lethal offspring. Too bad there isn’t a McSwiney’s in my neighborhood!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2015
I have long been a Harry Harrison fan. I started reading the Stainless Steel Rat books back in high school (early 1980's) and enjoy them immensely. Great escape fiction, fun, light reading, and entertaining. I have bought copies many times, including used copies, so it is about time to have these electronically.

If you have a teenaged boy who doesn't like reading, a good starting point is the Stainless Steel Rat series. Buy a used copy, or a kindle version, these tales are page turners.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2017
Excellent scifi and funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2016
I read this book when I was a kid and reading it again I enjoyed it more. What I enjoy most is the clever unfolding of the story, the confidence of the character and how he dealt with or struggled with his weaknesses. It is interesting to see what the author envisioned as a future technology.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2016
Just a good old fashioned romp through the galaxy with our old friend Slippery Jim. If you want a serious look at the political process in science fiction read another book. If you want to just let go and enjoy some lighthearted space opera Harrison is usually a good choice. This book is no exception.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2015
Classic Sci Fi. Great stuff. Would gladly 'stimulate the economy' to read again. ;-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2016
Harry Harrison writes so well, and has such wonderful plot twists. Always a pleasure. This story pulls you in, and every time you think you know where it's going, it takes a new direction, all in a delightful way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2016
Great sci-fi. Great use of gadgets to "save the day." Sort of a social commentary on that. I have the entire Stainless Steel Rat series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2016
It's an old book, but still a fun read and stands the test of time. The technology doesn't feel outdated and it reads easily.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here