Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
5 star
83%
4 star
17%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$18.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 12 reviews
on April 13, 2015
There are some heart-warming and heart-breaking stories in this collection. "The Stone Boy" story is particularly moving while "The Lone Pink Fish" was a little challenging because it dealt with the great hardships of the refugees fleeing Vietnam during the conflict in the 1960s. If nothing else, this book may help the reader search for their inner compassion in understanding that there were a great many people who were trying to scratch out a living (or bare bones survival) during a most unfortunate time in Vietnam's history. And while there is still definitely great trauma that servicemen in the US still deal with even today, there is an equal amount of suffering that was experienced and has continued into subsequent generations in Thay's homeland.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2016
So glad to be able to find a copy of these classic stories by Thich Nhat Hanh. They still resonate today. We will carry each other to the other shore in the boat of compassion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2012
Thich Nhat Hanh has again gone well above my expectations. When i first received this literature i was not excited about the idea of reading fiction on this topic, even though it was written by one of my favorite authors. However, these amazing short stories illustrate fundamental Buddhist teachings in a very creative, new, & fun format.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2010
Anything written by this gentleman is useful and instructive for Western readers. This is a series of short stories by a wonderful man who was nominated for the Nobel Prize by Martin Luther King Jr. The stories are wonderful and have short notes in the back that are references to give the reader information on the inspiration for the subjects. What a truly great read by my favorite unassuming Buddhist writer!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2015
Really captures the spirit and compassion of Vietnamese Zen Buddhism wrapped up in traditional Vietnamese parables. A true gem of a book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2015
Beautiful short stories that are easy to read but also have great depth. Truly excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2014
best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2011
This is some of the best short fiction I have read! This book is deeply moving and insightful, and full of Thich Nhat Hanh's wonderful creativity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2013
i have not read this yet. It is a life changing story from the looks of it.
Thank you very much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2010
I ordered this book for a graduate school class and the content was really touching and inspiring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here