Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now HTL17_gno



on December 2, 2014
I LOVE IT. It has been tremendous help, especially for preparing the CV/ERAS app and interviews. It is my interview trail companion. Great quick reference for questions to ask interviewers/house-staff and also to practice answers. I just wish I had known about it sooner, like around beginning of 3rd year, so that I could have done somethings differently. I highly recommend for 3rd and 4th years. It is money well spent!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2010
This is the best book on the subject - don't even think about First Aid for the Match: this is a different league altogether.

The authors did a fantastic job in outlining the fundamental steps to attain the residency you want, with the least amount of pain. I was struggling with the sea of information and the seemingly never-ending amount of misinformation out there when I came across this book. I can't recommend it enough: every chapter is very detailed, with several studies showing exactly what program directors want, numerous myths debunked and endless how-to's. One of the greatest advantages of this book over others is that all the information is based on extensive research. You may read somewhere "the USMLE step 1 score is more important than step 2 if you want to match in Surgery" and you will think to yourself "says who?". Well, page 76 will tell you exactly who.

There are other good books on the market, such as "The Successful IMG", "The International Medical Graduate's Best Hope", but if you are a foreigner trying to navigate the application process, forget the rest: "The Successful Match" is all you need. If you are a medical student, american or foreigner, and want to ultimately match in the US, buy this book before your third year and live by it. You will be shooing away residency interviews!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2012
The best chapters were the residency interview preparation chapters- Pre-interview, interview questions and how to answer them, and what is expected of you after the interview is over. The book provides an extensive list of potential questions and highlights what Program Directors want to hear. I thought this part was critical to my preparation...And seemed to work because I prematched on my 2nd interview. Great read for IMGs!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2012
I saw this book at Barnes and Nobles and read a few chapters on interview questions. I liked it so much that I ordered one the very next day. Although I was done with a few of my interviews when I received this, I still learned a lot of useful information such as what type of questions to ask residents vs interviewers, post interview communication, and other tips in general. I think this is miles ahead of FA for the match. I would suggest getting this book at least 2 months before application process start date because it has a lot of useful information regarding ERAS, how to write a good personal statement, and letters of recommendation. Overall I am very satisfied with this book and grateful to the authors - they did a wonderful job indeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2015
Very practical guidance, even down to the content of emails you should write. I successfully matched to a very competitive radiology program in the northeast.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2009
The information is quite helpful to all whoever appearing for match. The earlier you read this book, the better.
Summary:
1)Discusses about different elements of application process and how to improve. These include - LOR, Personal Statement, Deans Letter. Also talks about Competitive programs and what takes to get selected into those programs.
2)Before/During/Post Interview - How to prepare - Really good
3)What are the points (like USMLE score is on top of the list) residence directors are looking to select candidates for the interview.
4) Ranking process - how does this differ from interview process

Useful Information for me:
1) I learned that most programs about 90% ignore IMG LORs.
2) Applied/Selected IMG numbers based on their status like EAD/H1/GC/Citizenship
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2016
Useful tips. If you read this book prior to your interviews and really read out loud and prepare yourself for answering "off the wall" questions, you'll be prepared. I'm giving it a 4 star because there are some redundancy in the book, but it helps with preparation I presume.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2012
Pros: provides evidence based info with regards to the match with info broken down into tips for each specialty, provides advice on how to put together your CV, and prepare for interviews
Cons: no info on how to prepare for SOAP

I think this book provides solid info on how to prepare for the match, I recommend purchasing it as soon as you start med school so that you can start determine what factors are important for your specialty of choice ie) research is important when applying to Derm but not so important when applying to IM / Step 2 score is more important than Step 1 score for certain specialties.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2012
This book is an amazing resource for all stages of the application process - from writing your personal statement, to interviewing, and even how to act on audition rotations. It is definitely worth the money and I found it tremendously helpful. I purchased the book at the beginning of my 4th year of medical school but wish I had purchased it earlier to learn about the entire process of matching and how to improve my chances. It is very straightforward, to the point and easy to read. You can choose whatever section appeals to you at the moment and is relevant. A must have for medical students!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2011
"The Successful Match," by the Baylor physicians Drs. Katta and Desai, is the perfect guide for completing the residency application. It's the ideal book in its class, covering all the important topics with the optimal level of detail. It's that rare gem the med student longs for that is so clearly written, reader friendly, and well organized that it will set you apart from the competition. I don't think it's possible to be serious about the application process without reading it.

There are two books that this one competes with, "Getting into Residency" and "First Aid for the Match." However, "The Successful Match" gives you more information where you really need it. As a first example, Drs. Katta and Desai incorporate a large amount of research showing what exactly program directors are looking for from applicants by specialty--the differences among them are significant. In general, the other two books place far less emphasis on gathering the available data from the various program surveys that have been done. In its section on the resume and the personal statement, "The Successful Match" supplements its instruction with information from literature searches regarding program directors' preferences and perspectives and, again, how these differ among specialties. Its section on letters of recommendation offers a surprisingly large amount of information about a subject that most students--and the two competing books--assume is mostly in the hands of faculty. True, the faculty member is responsible for writing the letter. However, it is a subtle art, fraught with land mines that can't be avoided unless the student is vigilant about preparing the letter writer. Another major difference is that this book is set up to help students from the ground level up when constructing the resume and personal statement, giving the student questions and a prompting system that will help them amass the information and personal insight necessary to begin. The other books mostly rely on supplying examples--poor ones and strong ones--though, be assured that this book has plenty of excellent examples as well. Additionally, the book has a beautiful way of being concise and providing lists of the essential items that need to be remembered for all the application tasks, but especially for interviews. One could also mention the great deal of information about student research, an arena which can seem difficult to access.... In the end, this is just what you need for the match. It's superb.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse